Upgraded my 3GS to 3.1.3!

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by EnnEss, Feb 3, 2010.

Feb 3, 2010

Upgraded my 3GS to 3.1.3! by EnnEss at 5:58 PM (1,759 Views / 0 Likes) 20 replies

  1. EnnEss
    OP

    Banned EnnEss Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    191
    Country:
    United States
    The biggest mistake I've ever done!

    Yes, it's written in the title. ^

    I've upgraded!

    I knew the jailbreak would get wiped out, but I thought I can just use blackra1n again.

    It doesn't work! [​IMG]

    Somebody save me from the world of...
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    I NEED to jailbreak!

    Can anyone help?

    Your help would be appreciated [​IMG]

    Thanks in advance.

    Happy temping [​IMG]
     


  2. Thoob

    Member Thoob LOLmonade.

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,126
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY! Don't you know the golden rule of modding any device, NEVER update until the hackers say it's OK? Well... you should.
     
  3. Hardkaare

    Member Hardkaare GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    406
    Location:
    Sàigòn VN _____ Status: Banned
    Country:
    Vietnam
    WTF is 3.1.2 out? [​IMG]

    I just jailbroke mine less than a week ago!

    edit: ment 3.1.3 not 3.1.2
     
  4. EnnEss
    OP

    Banned EnnEss Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    191
    Country:
    United States
    3.1.2 was out like years back and you can easily jailbreak with blackra1n.
    3.1.3 is just a trouble.

    And uhh by the way...

    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  5. luke_c

    Member luke_c Big Boss

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,587
    Location:
    Land of England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You're an idiot, they posted everywhere not to update, you don't deserve a Jailbreak, go and downgrade to 3.1.2 idiot. And you do realise 3.1.3 adds NO NEW FEATURES right?
    There probably won't be any Jailbreaks for 3.1.3 as it's a very minor update, but seriously, it even says on fucking Cydia not to upgrade, there's always one isn't there.
    EDIT: Also, 3.1.2 was not out 'Years' back, a few months, yes.
    EDIT2: I'm probably going to have to explain this to you aswell, to downgrade, put it into DFU (Google it) then connect it to iTunes, download the 3.1.2 IPSW file from wherever, then on the restore button in iTunes click it while holding shift and you can choose what firmware to put on it, direct it to the 3.1.2 firmware then it'll restore it to that.
     
  6. Hardkaare

    Member Hardkaare GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    406
    Location:
    Sàigòn VN _____ Status: Banned
    Country:
    Vietnam
    Hehe typo, ment 3.1.3

    Btw does anyone know whats new in 3.1.3?
     
  7. azoreseuropa

    Member azoreseuropa GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,490
    Location:
    I am deaf and live in the USA for now :D
    Country:
    Portugal
    I dont know about this but check it out:

    Credit goes to Lowell:

    Search google if you want.
     
  8. EnnEss
    OP

    Banned EnnEss Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    191
    Country:
    United States
    Remember that bug where an app randomly closes?

    Looks like 3.1.3 comes with Pif-Paf for that. [​IMG]

    But... ALL my cracked apps won't open now. They stay open for half a second, then they close. FML
     
  9. Hardkaare

    Member Hardkaare GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    406
    Location:
    Sàigòn VN _____ Status: Banned
    Country:
    Vietnam
    I sure do that thing bugged me like forever!

    Until i got PC sync to work recently, which fixed it. [​IMG]
     
  10. luke_c

    Member luke_c Big Boss

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,587
    Location:
    Land of England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No, that 'bug' is due to your memory.
    And @RockmanForte That doesn't work on 3GS, he needs to downgrade.
    EDIT: RockmanForte I said the exact same thing.
     
  11. azoreseuropa

    Member azoreseuropa GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,490
    Location:
    I am deaf and live in the USA for now :D
    Country:
    Portugal
    Oh really ? Maybe you shouldn't updated it at all and keep 3.1.2 for now.
     
  12. luke_c

    Member luke_c Big Boss

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,587
    Location:
    Land of England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's a bit hard been as the whole thread is about how he UPDATED TO 3.1.3
    EDIT: My bad, RockmanForte, it's hard when you keep editing your posts and changing them completely to make me look like an idiot, the first link you posted, which said blackra1n could do it, that is incorrect, PwnageTool does work but that's only for Macs, and i'm guessing he's using windows.
     
  13. azoreseuropa

    Member azoreseuropa GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,490
    Location:
    I am deaf and live in the USA for now :D
    Country:
    Portugal
    Oh sorry about that. I just found out more about it and I had to edit it again, lol. [​IMG]
     
  14. Finishoff

    Member Finishoff GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Country:
    United States
    You should always use custom firmware, rather then updating via itunes. If your firmware is the newest official one then your just going to have to wait till it becomes jailbroken.
     
  15. EnnEss
    OP

    Banned EnnEss Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    191
    Country:
    United States
    Well... You really didn't have to go so harsh on me. That first sentence you wrote kind of displeases me [​IMG]

    About the downgrade... I've tried that method many times well, and you do know it doesn't work on a 3.1.3 3GS right? It tells me something about my device not being legible or something. Thanks for trying to help anyway! [​IMG]
     
  16. The Pink Gato

    Member The Pink Gato GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Candy Mountain with Mitch
    Country:
    United States
    I would recommend staying at 3.1.3, as downgrading might be dangerous on a 3GS, but I'm not sure. Anyway, I think that there will be a jailbreak out soon for you (redsn0w 0.9.4 is already out for 3.1.3 for the iTouch 1G, 2G, iPhone 1G, 2G, and 3G.)

    ~modmystuff~
     
  17. lakaiskateboarding

    Member lakaiskateboarding GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    287
    Country:
    That's what you get for updating. Now you have to wait for a fix, if there will ever be. If I were you I would stop trying to fix it yourself with old tools which are not meant for your firmware, unless you want to screw things up further.
     
  18. Dialexio

    Member Dialexio GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,546
    Country:
    United States
    Hopefully you let Cydia cache the files necessary to downgrade.

    Check saurik's instructions to get those files to work, assuming they're cached. Doesn't hurt to try. (Remember that baseband downgrades are impossible on the 3GS.)
     
  19. luke_c

    Member luke_c Big Boss

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,587
    Location:
    Land of England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ...You're saying you can't downgrade, you did get your device signed right?
     
  20. The Pink Gato

    Member The Pink Gato GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Candy Mountain with Mitch
    Country:
    United States
    AFAIK, You can no longer sign 3.1.2 because I can't either.

    ~i-C-e~
     

Share This Page