Upgrade 3.4E to ??

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by calle1977, Jun 1, 2011.

Jun 1, 2011

Upgrade 3.4E to ?? by calle1977 at 8:22 PM (618 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. calle1977
    OP

    Newcomer calle1977 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hi All

    i softmodded my WII about 2 years ago and it worked fine till the last few months. I found out that not all of the new games are playable. I saw that i have the 3.4E version and i want to upgrade it to 4.1E cause i read 4.2 was not advisable.
    Is this the cause that not all games are playable? And were do i get a proven manual of how to do this cause i found some but alot of complaints from users. If possible an upgrade with the latest neo version (it states that i use cIOS version 7 and i should upgrade to 17??), without going online and without using a original game.

    Thanks alot
     
  2. peire

    Newcomer peire Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    liverpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  3. Tai Le Ree

    Newcomer Tai Le Ree Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    United States
    Use modmii to install all the latest ios needed
    If you do this you can keep your system menu the same.
     
  4. Porobu

    Member Porobu Gbatemps Shiny Latias

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042
    Country:
    Spain
    use modmii and tell that your wii is a virgin
    its in the hacking stickies
     
  5. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    No games depend on the System Menu version. They each run off of an IOS (or cIOS if you are using a backup loader).

    @OP: I still recommend updating to 4.1E with ModMii so you have the latest features and bugfixes. Updating past 4.1 will only have negative affects (cause Nintendo is stupid).
     
  6. peire

    Newcomer peire Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    liverpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thats what i ment lol wasnt ment to put (some) in
     
  7. calle1977
    OP

    Newcomer calle1977 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hi Guys

    i downloaded the tool and the files. But do i need to SD card te be inserted after the installation..i need to borrow the card from teh DS of my son ;-)
     
  8. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    You can run your apps from USB, or install them to the wii as channels.
     
  9. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    You still need to install bootmii and make a NAND backup. With a Wii as old as yours, you might even be able to install bootmii as boot2 (best brick protection there is). An SD card is required for that, since USB doesn't work with bootmii. This is the card I always recommend people buy, since it has full compatibility with homebrew, it's cheap, it's big, and it's widely available (most electronics stores sell them).
     

Share This Page