Updating Wii from 'Softmii 2' config to latest tools/hacks

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Hanks6, May 25, 2010.

1. Hanks6
    OP

Member Hanks6 GBAtemp Regular

United Kingdom
    hi, i didn't want to post this in the newbie question topic cause there might be a number of people that infos could be helpful to and i'm not a complete newbie or anything, just want to get it 100% right when i mess around with the Wii again.

my question was what is the best and/or easiest way to about fully updating my Wii for all new games etc from a 'Softmii 2' config? delayed looking into this as much as possible, but with SMG2 out, that's it. also missing out on the cool USB/SD card loading options. there are a number of new tools and things since then and as I have already have HBC channel, bit confused as to where it would be safe to start using as all-in-one guides etc. I have used the Softmii 2.1.1 pack/guide to install various things onto my system, also:

- Gecko Loader (old version installed as a channel)
    - A few Virtual Channel downloads, some legit and some not legit (listed this because I remember something in the Softmii 3 guide saying you had to clean out certain stuff before installing certain new tools/updates)
    - a cIOS38 rev 13 update - not sure if this did anything but I put it on before playing Wii Sports Resort.

at the moment all games that work work through the disc channel (except for NSTC with no progressive mode) and part of the softmii pack included the ability to play gamecube backups/multi-region titles, a feature that i use a lot. I have a rough idea of what the latest tools and things are, but a bit unsure as to the order I could safely install them, and if any 'cleaning' up would be needed beforehand.

- Bootmii - new thing that seems be used by all the latest guides/hacks. Guesing I would need this, but not any initial exploits as I already have HBC.