Updating Wii from 3.3U to 4.3U

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by LINK289, Jun 27, 2010.

Jun 27, 2010

Updating Wii from 3.3U to 4.3U by LINK289 at 9:01 PM (5,548 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. LINK289
    OP

    Newcomer LINK289 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    Canada
    I haven't updated my Wii since I installed the homebrew channel and I was thinking of updating. I haven't been following the Wii modding scene for about a year and I only used the HBC for hacking animal crossing and playing N64 and GBA games.

    My question is can I update my Wii to 4.3 without loosing the homebrew channel? If not can I somehow manually update my Wii to 4.2 without loosing the channel? I don't have legend of zelda twilight princess (or any other games with save exploits).
     
  2. Riley

    Member Riley GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,123
    Location:
    BC Canada
    Country:
    Canada
  3. burritoboy9984

    Member burritoboy9984 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    845
    Country:
    United States
    Follow the guide at the top of this forum "Modify any wii", to update to 4.2. THEN you can run waninkoko's safe 4.3 updater here.

    -Erik
     
  4. Riley

    Member Riley GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,123
    Location:
    BC Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Why would you want to update to 4.3 ?
     
  5. burritoboy9984

    Member burritoboy9984 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    845
    Country:
    United States
    Who cares, that is the OP's question. He wants to update to 4.3.

    -Erik
     
  6. Lothlorian

    Member Lothlorian GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    Berdoo
    Country:
    United States
    I think it would be much better to have priiloader or starpatch do the system hacks instead of a permanently hacked system menu that says "4.3 Wan" instead of 4.3U/E/K/J

    You have waited this long to update it should not hurt to wait a little bit longer for the Hackmii Installer to update so it works correctly with SM 4.3.

    If you wish to update to anything right now 4.2 is your best bet... take a look at the stickied guide for all Wii's 4.2 and under to get your Wii to 4.2. Then once a proper 4.3 guide is posted in the coming weeks you can use that.
     
  7. LINK289
    OP

    Newcomer LINK289 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    Canada
    I don't know why I feel the need to update, maybe I am just bored today... I will update to 4.2 today and I will watch for any new hacks for 4.3 (aka hackme installer or whatever)

    Forgot to say thanks.
     
  8. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,122
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Just a mention: install bootmii first (if you don't have it already...and as boot2 if possible), and make a NAND backup. That way, you can always revert when things go nasty.


    Oh, and the twilight hack is seriously outdated. Bannerbomb is the current best hacking exploit...but it only works 'til 4.1...or 4.2 (there are 2 versions of it).
    AFAIK, 4.3 is a bit of trial and error at the moment. I'd wait until a new hackmii is released. But on the other hand: Waninkoko's updater also does the trick.
     
  9. LINK289
    OP

    Newcomer LINK289 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    Canada
    Sorry to bring this thread back up again but I used the v4.2 safe installer and I forgot to do a nand backup before starting the update. Now the updater finished everything except for installing the system menu and it was like this for about 30 minutes:

    "Attempting to Install system menu 4.2 v481"
    "Downloading Title 00000001-00000002 v481....."
    "IMD..

    But now it just changed to

    "Attempting to Install system menu 4.2 v481"
    "Downloading Title 00000001-00000002 v481....."
    "IMD..lnet_gethostbyname failed: -10004"

    Can someone tell me whats going on? Should I reset my Wii?
     
  10. Riley

    Member Riley GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,123
    Location:
    BC Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Ya just boot back into the hombrew channel and install again.
     
  11. LINK289
    OP

    Newcomer LINK289 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    Canada
    K thanks, I was hoping it wouldn't brick (its fine now). I will try again.
     
  12. Lothlorian

    Member Lothlorian GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    Berdoo
    Country:
    United States
    Are you sure your internet is connected?
     
  13. LINK289
    OP

    Newcomer LINK289 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah, it was updating everything before I got the failed message. Maybe my internet cut out for a second.
     

Share This Page