Updating Wii firmware via SD Card?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Starfire12, Oct 19, 2008.

Oct 19, 2008
  1. Starfire12
    OP

    Newcomer Starfire12 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    Sweden
    I'd like to update my firmware to be able to play newer WiiWare games. Unfortunatly i have neither a WiFi connection, nor a new game with an update on it. What i DO have though is an SD card and the Homebrew channel.
    So is there a way to downlaod and manually install a firmware update for the Wii?
     
  2. Jax

    Member Jax Pip Pip Cheerioink!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    4,092
    Location:
    L.A.V.
    Country:
    Portugal
    No. You need an Internet connection or a game with a higher firmware than the system to update.

    If you don't have Wi-Fi, you can always buy a LAN adaptor or a USB connector.
     
  3. Lafie

    Member Lafie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I believe it is possible, by getting the right wad files and using the WAD manager to install them. However, the wad files required are basically nintendo code and as such it is illegal to have them, if you don't own a game with them already on it. And since links to illegal files and activities is not allowed on this forum (and because I would have no clue where to get them anyway), I cannot help you further then telling you to look for wad files with updates from nintendo....
     
  4. Hideki-kun

    Member Hideki-kun GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    211
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you can't find a WAD for the system menu version you need, try WWpacker.
     
  5. Starfire12
    OP

    Newcomer Starfire12 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    Sweden
    Thx for your answers anyway.
    Different question then: What's the cheapest way hardware-investment wise to connect the Wii to the internet?
     
  6. Xeronage

    Member Xeronage GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    612
    Country:
    Well, you could use a LAN Cable..but I think buying a cheap wifi router is more practical, costs about 40 euros for a cheap one.
     
  7. Zeek03

    Member Zeek03 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    336
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Get a cheap Router or a Lan Adaptor. Cheapest way!
     
  8. Arm the Homeless

    Member Arm the Homeless Custom Title

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,762
    Location:
    /home/andy/
    Country:
    United States
    You could rip the WAD files from the game, or there are always people who post them on the internet.

    I got my 3.2 update files from bushing's semi-brick fix disk.

    I updated via WADs, it's possible.
     
  9. gundalf

    Member gundalf GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    365
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Spain
    AFAIK you dont get updates on the Game Discs, which enables Wiiware.
     
  10. Tichinde925

    Member Tichinde925 Marth Ditto Money Match?

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,096
    Location:
    Warwick, Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    This will make WiiWare games PLAYABLE on Wii Firmware 3.1 and up (Maybe even ALL firmwares!)

    The following is a direct quote.

    This will stop the resetting back to the Main System Menu when launching WiiWare.

    For NTSC-North America users, on step 3 and step 4:

    3. When asked to patch the .dol file, press 0. After it finishes, press any key.

    Press 1 instead.

    4. For the next option (Video Mode Changer), press A then enter. If converting to PAL, choose option 1, if not, choose 2, then press enter. Press any key to continue.

    Press 2 as you want it to stay NTSC.

    For the most part everything else can be followed word for word.

     
  11. davhuit

    Member davhuit GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    778
    Country:
    France
    By installing the wad with "wadmanager" ?
     
  12. nexusmax

    Newcomer nexusmax Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    I think I used the wad manager to update to 3.3
     
  13. davhuit

    Member davhuit GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    778
    Country:
    France
    I'm bumping on this.

    Someone know how to extract the 3.2 update from bushing's semi-brick fix disk ?

    When I mount the iso on Deamon Tools, it display nothing so I think a particular program is needed.
     
  14. noobwarrior7

    Member noobwarrior7 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,594
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    try trucha signer, if that doesnt work try wiiscrubber, and if you cant figure either of them out, burn it and use WUFE on the wii itself. (might work?)
     
  15. davhuit

    Member davhuit GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    778
    Country:
    France
    I will try the two first you said to extract the contents on the PC, thanks.

    For the last thing, don't know, depend if there is any way to boot the burned disc without a modchip.
     
  16. Luigi728

    Member Luigi728 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    253
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Why don't just use AnyRegionChanger?
    You can downgrade with it, but if it instals 3.2, you should be able to update too.
     
  17. davhuit

    Member davhuit GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    778
    Country:
    France
    Because it use a internet connection no? (probably the original nintendo file online and so it probably have the delay that shutdown the update if you take too long to download it?)
     

Share This Page