Updating to 4.2, how am I doing?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Chevellefan90, Jun 21, 2010.

1. Chevellefan90
    OP

Chevellefan90 Newbie

Newcomer
    Jun 21, 2010
    United States
    Hello everyone, I'm very new to this, I have just received as a Wii from a friend as a very strange gift. He was half way through soft modding it. So it's at version 3.4u. but I think 4.2 is where I want to be to be able to run back ups off the newest NeoGamma.

So I tried to run a back up, but to no avail, my version of NeoGamma was only 0.3 and I got a green screen. So I assumed updating to this newest system Menu and IOS and then the newest NeoGamma will help me out.

So when I came this far, I assumed "Revirginizing" and going from there would be the best way to go, but then when I was reading this guide. I saw that if I was just going to re-hack it, then I should just update it from there. I was just worried that whatever IOS's on the Wii right now would brick it during the update. Should I be worried?

I'm following the simple update guide: So I put DOP-Mii on there and the 4.2 System Menu and the IOS70 with it. But when trying to run DOP-Mii, I couldn't select IOS36 and I got an error, telling me to pick an IOS that I could actually use.

SOOOOOOOOOOOOOO... how am I doing? Could someone tell me what to do next, OR, should I do something completely different.

Thanks for the help guys.

2. xzxero

xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

Jul 18, 2008
    United States
    SB
    you shouldnt revirginize your wii.

just update via nintendo or my guide, then proceed to actually modify it [trucha bug, cIOS, etc.]

anything done before will be overwritten.

3. TRushInfo

TRushInfo Banned

Banned
    Jun 13, 2009
    United States
    I want to kill the person who started ppl virginizing and then hacking right after.

4. Chevellefan90
    OP

Chevellefan90 Newbie

Newcomer
    Jun 21, 2010
    United States