Updating my system

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by spritefreak, Aug 24, 2010.

Aug 24, 2010

Updating my system by spritefreak at 6:52 PM (1,203 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. spritefreak
    OP

    Member spritefreak GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    375
    Country:
    United States
    I apologize for asking basic questions, but I have determined that based on my signature below that I am going to upgrade a few things.

    4.2U, Homebrew 1.0.6
    BootMii boot 2/IOS (NANDs of 3.4U, 4.1U, 4.2U), Priiloader 0.1
    cIOS 222, Hermes cIOS 222/223 rev 4, cIOS 249/250 rev14
    Backup Loader Gamma v.3, NeoGamma r7, USB Loader GX 1.0 r808, WiiFlow 1.1, CFG USB Loader 47
    DVDx v2, Media Player CE
    Verbatim 320 GB HDD

    I have decided to update my HBC to 1.0.8.......can I do that before I install IOS58?

    Also, how do I upgrade my Priiloader? I have downloaded v.4, but my question is if I can just replace the files or do I hvae to actually install the updated priiloader?

    Finally, is Hermes v5.1 same for all games? Are there any known bugs for certain games?

    TIA
     
  2. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    You can update the HBC without having IOS58, but it's best to have it. To update Priiloader you actually have to install it. Hermes cIOS doesn't really have any game-affecting bugs.
     
  3. Arm the Homeless

    Member Arm the Homeless Custom Title

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,762
    Location:
    /home/andy/
    Country:
    United States
    Use Tantric's IOS58 Installer or make a WAD with NUSD and install it.

    Get updated HackMii Installer, install new Homebrew Channel and new BootMii boot2 (it automatically installs BootMii IOS) and remove DVDX (no longer needed/depreciated in favor of IOS58).

    The Priiloader DOL overwrites the files. It uses a modified version of the original Preloader installer, which did this.
     
  4. dn_angel000

    Member dn_angel000 Phantom User

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    592
    Country:
    United States
    If u updated ur HBC 2 v1.0.8 it will install IOS58 automatically!! lol

    Just enable Beta Updates 2 get the newest/latest update that supports the new HBC version!

    Not that I can tell but with this version (5.1) u can play Monster Hunter Tri!! lol
     
  5. spritefreak
    OP

    Member spritefreak GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    375
    Country:
    United States
    When I try to install Priiloader .4, it told me that my IOS58 was not patched with ES_Identity. What am I doing wrong? It asks me if I want to continue after....should I??
     
  6. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,515
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    No, don't continue, please use THIS to correctly install priiloader.
     
  7. spritefreak
    OP

    Member spritefreak GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    375
    Country:
    United States
    I am having trouble getting the hacks.ini file from your post. If I already have a hacks.ini file on the root of my card, do I need the one you talk about? Is it a special hacks.ini file?
     
  8. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,515
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    No, it's not needed. Use the one you have.
     
  9. spritefreak
    OP

    Member spritefreak GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    375
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for your help! I do have one other question...is this beta version safe? I noticed when I downloaded the priiloader file that it was .5 rev 98. I thought the most up to date was priiloader v.4 rev 78. Is the beta ok to use?
     
  10. spritefreak
    OP

    Member spritefreak GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    375
    Country:
    United States
    So I have updated my piiloader, but now it doesn't start at the white screen when I turn on my Wii. Is that normal? Should it still start at the white screen?
     
  11. dn_angel000

    Member dn_angel000 Phantom User

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    592
    Country:
    United States
    U mean the Priiloader (White) screen? Ya that's normal just press + hold the Reset button 2 enter Priiloader!! lol
     

Share This Page