Updating my iPhone 3G firmware

Discussion in 'iPhone, iPod & iPad' started by onibaku, Jan 26, 2011.

Jan 26, 2011
  1. onibaku
    OP

Newcomer onibaku Member

Sweden
    Ok so I am completely new to this stuff, I've had an iPhone quite a while but I got it jailbroken so I never really wanted to tamper around with it but, I've had the 3G since launch so the firmware is pretty outdated. It's jailbroken but how on earth do I update it and keep it jailbroken and unlocked? It's been running really slow lately and hopefully this update will fix it! I don't really care if I lose my data, but just wondering if I'll be able to at least keep my contacts and photos?

I did see the tutorials but they just confused me even more, tons of different ones and just saw many things that were confusing, please any help would be appreciated!

2. metamaster

Member metamaster GBAtemp Advanced Fan

Canada
    You have a 3G iPhone, which means that starting with 4.0, your device will be less and less supported. It will not speed up if you update.
    If you still want to update, you can't do so while preserving the jailbreak itself, you have to rejailbreak on the newer firmware. Good news is, your device is pwned for life, so you can jailbreak on any firmware (with custom boot logos).
    You first need to upgrade, I think that you need to do so with Tiny Umbrella if you want to preserve your baseband in order to unlock later.. (someone correct me if I'm wrong). After that, you just jailbreak it with redsn0w. You can put custom boot logos, and you can turn your device on and off without any concern (it's an untethered jailbreak for you)

3. Jax

Member Jax Pip Pip Cheerioink!

Portugal
    If you keep it synched with iTunes, you won't lose anything.

According to Wikipedia, you can update to the latest firmware available for the iPhone 3G (4.2.1) and jailbreak it with redsn0w 0.9.6rc8.

4. onibaku
    OP

Newcomer onibaku Member

Sweden