Updating my 3DS frimware

Discussion in '3DS - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by Professor_Layton, Dec 9, 2011.

Dec 9, 2011
  1. Professor_Layton
    OP

    Newcomer Professor_Layton Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United States
    Well i bought 6 months ago an american 3DS and i'm not living in the US (yes chose the wrong flag) ive tried to update my 3DS frimware and i can't do that. It's just simply says "Unable to update the system. The 3DS will restart now." and that's it!
    No error number, nothing. Iv'e tried it with 2 wifi connections: Mine and the one of my neighbours (yes it's not blocked!!!)
    So anyone can help me? I really want to play demoes and i can't. Please help me!
     
  2. masterchan777

    Member masterchan777 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    World Wide Web
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Try applying the system update from a recent game cart (e.g. Super Mario 3D Land) then try to use WIFI to get the latest update, the only thing is you'd obviously need to get your hands on an american game cart.
     
  3. Professor_Layton
    OP

    Newcomer Professor_Layton Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United States
    os there any way to do it without buying a new game cart?
     
  4. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    Likely cause: The Nintendo 3DS system update has timed out or has been blocked by a firewall.
    How to fix: Manually assign a DNS to the Nintendo 3DS or disable the firewall if necessary.
    • First - Manually assign your Nintendo 3DS system's DNS settings.
      Assigning a DNS to your Nintendo 3DS will take a few steps to complete, but we are confident you can get there! We'll walk you through each one and you can always call us if you get stuck. Our number is below. Here we go...
      1. From the Nintendo 3DS settings, select "Internet Settings," then "Connection Settings" and choose the connection file you currently use.
      2. Choose "Change Settings."
      3. Click the right arrow and select "DNS," then choose "No" under "Auto-Obtain DNS."
      4. Select "Detailed Setup," then "Primary DNS" and enter: 008.008.008.008
      5. Select "Secondary DNS" and enter: 008.008.004.004
        Please note: These are public DNS's provided by Google and are subject to Google's Terms of Service. If you prefer to not use this service, doing an Internet search for "public DNS" will provide you with several other options you can use.
      6. Save your settings, then select "Test" to begin a connection test.
    • Still not working? Access your router's settings and turn off the router's firewall*.
      Typically you can disable your router's firewall to allow all traffic through. To locate this setting, consult the owner's manual for your router. Below are locations for the most popular routers:
      • D-Link: Found by selecting "Advanced," then "Firewall."
      • Netgear: Found by selecting "WAN Setup," then "SPI Firewall."
      • Linksys: Found in the "Security" settings.
      *While Nintendo provides this information for our consumers' use, it is up to each consumer to determine what security needs they have for their own networks, and to decide how best to configure their network settings to meet those needs.
    • Still not working? Power cycle your modem and router.
      1. Unplug both the modem and the router from the power outlet.
      2. Wait a couple of minutes and plug the modem back in.
      3. Wait a couple of minutes for the modem to initialize, then plug in the router.
      4. Try again to download the update.
     
  5. frogboy

    Member frogboy lacking both style and grace

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    2,249
    Country:
    United States
    Why'd you buy an American 3DS in the first place? :glare:
     
  6. Professor_Layton
    OP

    Newcomer Professor_Layton Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United States
    causw it was cheaper...
     
  7. pmk010

    Member pmk010 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    To your right ->
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I was visting America and I was looking to buy a DSi my dad suggested buying it in america. I didn't because after some reasearch I realised the DSi was region locked. You should always do your reasearch. Anyway back to topic. You could always send it to nintendo and see if they can do anything about it. If you still have your manufacture's insurance it is free.
     
  8. TheZoc

    Member TheZoc GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    215
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro
    Country:
    Brazil
    What's your current firmware version ?
     

Share This Page