updateing to 4.2 via nentendo

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by weirdfate, Oct 10, 2009.

Oct 10, 2009
  1. weirdfate
    OP

    Member weirdfate GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
    as i post now i am running the update on my system. Dont ask me why i just wanted to. I have a guide to re hack this system menu so i (because i have no life) wanted to see if its as easy as it looks. So what has not been able to be rehacked on this update or is every thing back to normal?
     
  2. dai-a

    Member dai-a GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Springville Utah
    Country:
    United States
    You should have not updated to 4.2

    THERE ABSOLUTELY NO point.

    You're upgraded to Boot2v4, removes HAXX ticket along with DVDx (These are able to re install though [​IMG] )
    Removed Preloader suppport since System menu 4.2 runs on IOS70 (Which is the only new IOS)

    Most IOS' are updated.

    IOS60 is a stub now, I'm pretty sure you have to delete the stub IOS's that nintendo put up to block cIOS's, you cannot downgrade anymore, and if by any chance you have boot2v1-3 (Before you updated) then you have a chance of an unrecoverable brick. (Because nintendo made an extremely buggy boot2 code to update)
     
  3. wrettcaughn

    Member wrettcaughn Misunderstood Moral Elitist

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Country:
    United States
    preloader support is not "removed". it still runs fine on 4.2, just needs to be re-installed with the correct hacks.ini file.

    ...but yeah...bad move on the Nintendo update guy.
     
  4. dai-a

    Member dai-a GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Springville Utah
    Country:
    United States
    I meant to say it doesn't patch IOS70. [​IMG]
     
  5. WiiThoko

    Member WiiThoko GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    353
    Country:
    United States
    Expect a possible brick.
     
  6. Weiseguy

    Newcomer Weiseguy Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    will it brick because he had HBC installed still?

    I wanted to update mine because I was having some trouble after uninstalling HBC (so I could reinstall it) and finding I cannot get bannerbomb to load right to reinstall.

    I had some cIOS installed, so will a nintendo update brick it or return it to a "virgin" 4.2 (instead of screwed up 4.1, heh).

    see my topic for some more details i guess
     
  7. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States
    Both of my wiis had boot2v3 on them i did the official update through nintendo and now have boot2v4 on both of them.Both updates went without any hitches.

    Both were fully hacked before the update and both are fully hacked again after the update and work without any problems at all and that includes preloader on 4.2U.
     
  8. weirdfate
    OP

    Member weirdfate GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
    well it still boots with bootmii and the system can still load preloader and the hacks still load but....

    Now that nintendo stubed out 249 i cant load any wads or downgrade!!! o well ill look around im sure theres a way to get 249 back...
     
  9. weirdfate
    OP

    Member weirdfate GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
    well i got 249 back but dop iso still says its a useless stub but it loads and allows me to install apps and such?
     
  10. weirdfate
    OP

    Member weirdfate GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
    ok problem.. I have backups showing in disk chanel but no mater what hacks.ini i grb preloader wont load them? any ideas?
     
  11. iFish

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    i would remove the stubs if i was you
     
  12. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States

    Dop ios is saying that because it checks nintendo for the latest versions of the ios files.The only 249 ios from nintendo is a stub.
    Dop ios will say its a newer version because it is.Thats how it overwrites the original cios249 because its a higher version and when you do an
    official update it will overwrite the one from waninkoko.
     
  13. olliepop2000

    Member olliepop2000 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    457
    Location:
    North West UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I had to re-read the OP i couldn't believe what I saw, what a fool.
     
  14. weirdfate
    OP

    Member weirdfate GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
    yes i am but i wanted to see what would happen


    ifish: how do i remove the stubs?

    I tried to load any title deleter and it shows removed but when i try to install it from a wad i downloaded it still shows as a stub in dop....


    I will overcome this some how!!!!!!!
     
  15. dai-a

    Member dai-a GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Springville Utah
    Country:
    United States
    Read the Modify any wii sticky. It tells you how to remove and resoftmod.
     
  16. mattjd

    Member mattjd GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    233
    Location:
    Malvern
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Quick question I updated to 4.2E on release just to check any new features sadly nothing [​IMG]

    I hacked it my self by using Indiana pwns and using IOS250 as the trucha bug source. Does this mean I cant downgrade to anything below 3.4 anymore? Because I have boot2v4...
     
  17. wrettcaughn

    Member wrettcaughn Misunderstood Moral Elitist

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Country:
    United States
    there's no reason to downgrade at all.
     
  18. mattjd

    Member mattjd GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    233
    Location:
    Malvern
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I know that I just want to know if it will brick me or not [​IMG]
     
  19. dai-a

    Member dai-a GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Springville Utah
    Country:
    United States
    Yes it will brick you if you try to downgrade
     
  20. weirdfate
    OP

    Member weirdfate GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
    ok ill look into it but i printed that entire guid out and did not see it
     

Share This Page