Updated HBC, now Wii won't boot up! x_x

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by blizeH, Aug 19, 2010.

  1. blizeH
    OP

    blizeH GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    465
    0
    Dec 21, 2005
    UK
    Hey guys,

    I updated the homebrew channel, but now my Wii won't boot up with the SD card in.

    If I take the SD card out it loads PriiLoader, but I have absolutely not the faintest idea what to do from there, for fear of breaking it even further.

    Any suggestions would be fantastic, thank you!
     
  2. Krestent

    Krestent What to post?

    Member
    3,953
    33
    Mar 31, 2009
    United States
    Looks like you have Bootmii set to autoboot HBC. The HBC's title ID changed with the update, so Bootmii can't find it. Take the SD card out and tell priiloader to boot the System Menu.
     
  3. blizeH
    OP

    blizeH GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    465
    0
    Dec 21, 2005
    UK
    Thanks Gord, will try that now - how do I get back into HBC then?
     
  4. blizeH
    OP

    blizeH GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    465
    0
    Dec 21, 2005
    UK
    Okay, that worked a treat thanks - but I'm wondering now, how do I get it so it boots up properly again pls? [​IMG]
     
  5. s3phir0th115

    s3phir0th115 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    701
    4
    Dec 31, 2008
    United States
    Well, since bootmii is their own software, I'd try using the hackmii installer to put the latest version of it on, since it isn't autoupdated.

    I'd imagine that'd fix it.
     
  6. blizeH
    OP

    blizeH GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    465
    0
    Dec 21, 2005
    UK
    Thanks dude, would that actually let me boot right into GLoader UX too?
     
  7. Krestent

    Krestent What to post?

    Member
    3,953
    33
    Mar 31, 2009
    United States
    You can set Priiloader to do that.
     
  8. blizeH
    OP

    blizeH GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    465
    0
    Dec 21, 2005
    UK
    Thanks, how would I do that? Sorry to be such a noob, I tried doing some stuff with an ini file last time and bottled it in case I got it wrong!
     
  9. FIX94

    FIX94 Global Moderator

    Global Moderator
    6,817
    8,105
    Dec 3, 2009
    Germany
    ???
    What is GLoader UX? You need to install a forwarder dol to do that.
     
  10. blizeH
    OP

    blizeH GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    465
    0
    Dec 21, 2005
    UK
    Thanks, I'll look into it... apologies for my ignorance but how do I configure PriiLoader please? Kinda annoying keep having to take out my SD card and putting it back in :'(
     
  11. FIX94

    FIX94 Global Moderator

    Global Moderator
    6,817
    8,105
    Dec 3, 2009
    Germany
    ???
    What do you want to configure with priiloader?
     
  12. blizeH
    OP

    blizeH GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    465
    0
    Dec 21, 2005
    UK
    I'm not sure... I'm thinking either:

    1. It goes straight into USB Loader GX
    2. It goes into the main system menu, but then I'd need to find a way to get the USB Loader GX channel on my system menu screen. Hmm!

    Which one do you think is best? APologies again for my ignorance to all of this by the way, not quite sure what I'm doing!
     
  13. FIX94

    FIX94 Global Moderator

    Global Moderator
    6,817
    8,105
    Dec 3, 2009
    Germany
    ???
    Ah, not GLoader UX, you mean USB Loader GX [​IMG] That's easy to make both things, but please use way two. Download the Forwarder from HERE, extract the rar file and install the wad with a wad manager.
     
  14. blizeH
    OP

    blizeH GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    465
    0
    Dec 21, 2005
    UK
    Ah that's great, thanks! I've managed to get USB Loader GX on there now - but I still get the black screen when turning on my Wii if the SD card is in.

    Also, I set PriiLoader to load the system menu, thinking it'd fix the black screen thing, but now all it does it boot straight into the system menu without the SD card, so I can't get into Priiloader now either! [​IMG]
     
  15. FIX94

    FIX94 Global Moderator

    Global Moderator
    6,817
    8,105
    Dec 3, 2009
    Germany
    ???
    Start the latest Hackmii Installer with SD Card insterted and reinstall bootmii boot2!
     
  16. vexing

    vexing Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    65
    0
    Nov 16, 2009
    United States
    hold down reset when you're booting to get into priiloader if you want to change stuff.
     
  17. PPSainity

    PPSainity Blinded by Science

    Member
    646
    2
    Jun 6, 2009
    Canada
    One thing to add, this black screen problem seems like the old timer delay bug that affected BootMii beta5. Check out the bug report for the details. Just install the latest version of BootMii by running the latest HackMii installer as FIX94 mentioned; just running HackMii will automatically update the BootMii files on your SD for you, no need to actually re-install BootMii Boot2 as the Boot2 patch is still the same.

    -[]D
     
  18. muck chucker

    muck chucker GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    161
    0
    Sep 21, 2008
    United States
    Just take the bootmii files off your sd and put them on your computer for safe keeping.

    In priiloader goto settings and set autoboot to installed file not systems menu that will launch USB loadergx on
    Boot if you got the forwarder installed.
     
  19. blizeH
    OP

    blizeH GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    465
    0
    Dec 21, 2005
    UK
    Thanks so much guys! Tried a few of your suggestions (all at once, eek!) and it's working great now - boots right into the system menu, and then I can get into USB Loader GX from a channel in there!

    Tempted to do the PriiLoader thing to get straight into USB Loader GX but to be honest, I'm happy with how it is for now, that it works at least! Great tip on holding reset though thanks.