Hacking Updated emunand this morning, now running Gateway hack results in black screen

hattar

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Mar 28, 2015
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
122
XP
41
Country
United States
I have been using my 3DSXL for a few months now. My understanding was that it was always safe to update emunand as long as I didn't update the sysnand. I've been doing that just fine for a while, but today I got an update message while in emunand and I allowed the system to update. Now whenever I restart the DS and run the gateway loader through the profile option in sysnand settings, I see the dragon, but then the screen goes black and stays that way indefinitely.

My sysnand is 4.2.0-9U still, so I'm fairly sure I haven't done anything there. Anyone else experiencing this? Have I misunderstood something and done something wrong here? Thanks!
 

ground

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2007
Messages
907
Trophies
0
XP
572
Country
Netherlands
I have been using my 3DSXL for a few months now. My understanding was that it was always safe to update emunand as long as I didn't update the sysnand. I've been doing that just fine for a while, but today I got an update message while in emunand and I allowed the system to update. Now whenever I restart the DS and run the gateway loader through the profile option in sysnand settings, I see the dragon, but then the screen goes black and stays that way indefinitely.

My sysnand is 4.2.0-9U still, so I'm fairly sure I haven't done anything there. Anyone else experiencing this? Have I misunderstood something and done something wrong here? Thanks!
you updated your emunand to 9.6, which is not supported yet by gateway. You have te recreate emunand ;)
 

hattar

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Mar 28, 2015
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
122
XP
41
Country
United States
Crap. Well thanks guys! It didn't occur to me that was a thing. So as far as upgrading emunand from now on (assuming I get this fixed eventually), what is the process for upgrade prep? Should I just be searching these forums or is there a good place I should look to check compatibility before upgrading?
 

pokemoner2500

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2013
Messages
881
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
1,474
Country
United States
Crap. Well thanks guys! It didn't occur to me that was a thing. So as far as upgrading emunand from now on (assuming I get this fixed eventually), what is the process for upgrade prep? Should I just be searching these forums or is there a good place I should look to check compatibility before upgrading?
If it ever prompts you for a update check here, usually there's a thread that states it's been released and says what's been affected, this time it being emunand breaking.
 

thorasgar

Checkout my evil Soon-in-ator™
Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Messages
3,783
Trophies
1
XP
2,493
Country
United States
If you made a backup of your old emunand after you created it or anytime since you can use emunand tool to fix it. Other wise you will need to re rate a new emunand.

Do you have backups?

Do you have a backup of sysnand in case you accidently update that as well?
 

hattar

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Mar 28, 2015
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
122
XP
41
Country
United States
If you made a backup of your old emunand after you created it or anytime since you can use emunand tool to fix it. Other wise you will need to re rate a new emunand.

Do you have backups?

Do you have a backup of sysnand in case you accidently update that as well?

Yeah I have the backups kicking around somewhere. I'll get them restored. Thanks :)
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    K3N1 @ K3N1: https://youtube.com/shorts/khIrD8_Em3c?feature=share