Update wii from 3.2U to 4.0U with wiikey 1.9s?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by nitrodude150, May 19, 2009.

  1. nitrodude150
    OP

    Member nitrodude150 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    210
    Country:
    United States
    Hey I was wondering if I could update my wii to 4.0U (so I can pay newer games [​IMG] ) with my wiikey1.9s, the main question I am asking if I can is because i have NO idea if the update would render it inoperable.. and the custom IOSs totally confuse me!

    Anybody think they can help me?
     
  2. afif95

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    I don't think updating to 4.0U will render your modchip useless as the person is talking right now (Me) is a chip-user and updated to 4.0.
     
  3. nitrodude150
    OP

    Member nitrodude150 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    210
    Country:
    United States
    but what modchip do u have?
     
  4. Dialexio

    Member Dialexio GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,546
    Country:
    United States
    Via Nintendo.
    >_> Seriously kids, don't do this!

    Updating to 4.0 in any way, shape, or form will not render your modded Wii useless. You should use Waninkoko's or icefireicefire's updater. Make sure you have enough free space for Waninkoko's updater, or you will get bricked.
     
  5. afif95

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    IDK, it came pre-installed. Nevertheless, it should be safe. Even if it's not, there's always a way to fall back.

    I'm 100% certain it doesn't affect your backups. Just one caution, do not trucha-sign (Scrub, etc) your games [​IMG].
     
  6. nitrodude150
    OP

    Member nitrodude150 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    210
    Country:
    United States
    my Super mario Galaxy and my SSBB are trucha signed, is that ganna be a prob?
     
  7. nitrodude150
    OP

    Member nitrodude150 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    210
    Country:
    United States
    but if I use Waninkoko's, than I can't update with Nintendo's official..............like I have to do waninkoko updates after that........ [​IMG]
     
  8. afif95

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    No, waninkoko updates ain't Custom Firmware. It updates only the necessary parts, not ones that are less important.
     
  9. Dialexio

    Member Dialexio GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,546
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG] I don't know where you got that information. Using Waninkoko's updater doesn't hamper Nintendo's update function (you can still use it). EDIT: As mentioned above, it only touches what should be touched. This includes giving you missing IOSes and updating your channels.
     

Share This Page