1. YBI

    OP YBI Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 16, 2020
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    Canada
    I bought a 3rd party hdd off amazon it works fine for 360 games but I cant launch original xbox games. How can I add the BC partition? can I do it with any 3rd party drive?

    some people say it works only with specifics WD drives others say any drive will work.


    I also have the original xbox 360 20gb HDD that has the BC partition on it can I use that to maybe clone to the new 3rd party drive?

    please help
     
  2. DinohScene

    DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    20,972
    Country:
    Antarctica
    You can dump the emulator partition with one of the Xplorer360's for your HDD size.
    Injecting it can also be done with Xplorer360.
     
  3. YBI

    OP YBI Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 16, 2020
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    Canada
    Just to be clear.

    Can any 3rd party hdd be configured this way or just specific WD brands? I keep getting mixed messaging.

    If I buy any new HDD connect it to 360 to format, then connect it to PC to transfer partition from OEM hdd to new 3rd party hdd? that will work?

    Pleas explain this clearly if you don't mind. Like your talking to a 1st grader.
     
  4. Ryccardo

    Ryccardo watching Thames TV from London
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    7,380
    Country:
    Italy
    All disks can have the compatibility files added, that's a separate issue from whether it is recognized as original (which requires a compatible disk with the security sector written to it)
     
  5. DinohScene

    DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    20,972
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Any HDD, no.
    Any 3rd party HDD that is confirmed working on 360, yes.

    More technical answer, the retail 360 drives have a security sector on the HDD, this is what prevents non-orginal HDDs from being read.
    JTAG/RGH machines have this disabled.
    In order to create a 3rd party drive, a HDDSS.bin file (security sector) is written to the HDD.
    Currently we can do this with WD Scorpio drives.

    If you bought a drive off off Amazon and it lacks the emulator partition, you can dump it from your original drive and inject it in the 3rd party drive with Xplorer360.
    Be sure to open the drive only in the Xplorer360 version appropriate for your drive size.
     
    Ryccardo likes this.
  6. YBI

    OP YBI Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 16, 2020
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    Canada
    If it says MICROSOFT that means it's recognized as original right?

    I bought a new 3rd party off Amazon. It says MICROSOFT. Seems like its accepted just does not have the BC partition.
     
  7. Ryccardo

    Ryccardo watching Thames TV from London
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    7,380
    Country:
    Italy
    Yes!
     
    YBI likes this.
  8. YBI

    OP YBI Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 16, 2020
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    Canada
    So if I bought a new 500GB HD 3rd party off amazon and its recognized as official that means that someone has already pre flashed this hdd? because clearly its not OEM yet its reconized? so it must be a WD scorpio instead being as only WD Scorpios can be flashed this way? just trying to understand.
     
  9. Berserker666

    Berserker666 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Germany
  10. DinohScene

    DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    20,972
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Likely.
    Idk how the Chinese achieve it but if it works, inject the emulator partition to the drive.
    That's all you need to do.
     
    YBI likes this.
  11. YBI

    OP YBI Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 16, 2020
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    Canada
    thank you

    sucks no one has been able to flash any other non WD drives to work, when these specific drives are no longer made looks like we are SOL
     
  12. DinohScene

    DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    20,972
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Real problem starts when 500 GB drives are no longer being made, if they aren't already.

    If anything RGH it just to bypass that lock.

    Edit: RGHing means losing XBlive access but I doubt the 360 will be supported for another generation tbf.
     
  13. YBI

    OP YBI Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 16, 2020
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    Canada
    The Xbox One/Series X has the 360 built in using the same servers/marketplace.

    Being as closing the 360 servers would defeat the purpose of 360 BC on series x the 360 will be be supported indefinitely.

    Those PS3,Vita,PSP servers though, Ouch.

    Anyway thanks for the help. When I RGH ill be back! lol
     
  14. DinohScene

    DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    20,972
    Country:
    Antarctica
    We'll see.
    Game servers are shutting down left and right.
    Only time will tell.

    If you don't care about Live, it's worth it.
     
    Ryccardo likes this.
  15. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    15,560
    Country:
    United States
    is the scorpio line still the only line that works with an official system? I remember having one of those for my original, flashed drive. btw, @DinohScene , Joonie of team rebug asked me a question about that that I wasn't sure about. can any other drive be used to replace an official drive on a legit system? I wasn't sure if the security sector was public for anything other than WD Scorpio.
     
  16. DinohScene

    DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    20,972
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I suppose it ought to work if you'd inject the security sector into any drive but I never gotten it to work.
    I've also tried a Scorpio drive once and had the same results so I didn't really bother with it to much.

    From what I know, Scorpio drives are the only ones that seem to work.
     
    godreborn likes this.
  17. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    15,560
    Country:
    United States
    hmm...I think he was trying to get a seagate to work.
     
  18. Armadillo

    Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    4,093
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Far as I am aware, it's still just WD Scorpio drives. It's not just injecting the security sector and calling it a day, the drive itself is modified by hhdhackr. Security sector has drive model, serial and some other stuff, hhdhackr modifies the firmware of the western digital using wd specific commands to make it match what is in the security sector.

    I suppose someone smart enough could replicate it with other drives, but hddhackr only works with the scorpio series and there is nothing for any other drives (at least not public).
     
    DinohScene likes this.
  19. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    15,560
    Country:
    United States
    I managed to get a compatible hdd from newegg all those years ago. I'm not sure if I still have it. I've replaced my drive a few times, but I have several hdd caddies (current used one is pink in color. :P). I thought there might've been more headway into allowing more drives. what I find kinda funny is that the 360 can use a 2TB drive when it's so heavily restricted normally, while the ps3 has major problems with anything larger than 1.5TBs. I'm assuming it's a software limitation.
     
    contezero likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - internal, Update, Stock