1. will1987

    will1987 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    Brazil
    Man I don't believe it, I've just bought this card, So must have I to buy a new supercard?:cry:
     
  2. will1987

    will1987 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    Brazil
    I was reading the previous posts here, and I confirmed (at the moment) that's impossible to update my R4i 3ds RTS, Anyone knows if R4i Team can solve this problem in a new update? or should I buy a new supercard to play it in my 3ds 6.0.0.11-U?
     
  3. Crypto

    Crypto Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    Can anybody tell me the model of the marked chip?

    R4IDSCN-Chip.jpg
     
  4. tigris

    tigris Sentient Existential Anthropomorphic Sweet Potato
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,689
    Country:
    This is one ugly hack, gotta admit
     
  5. fojacko

    fojacko GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    OP should mention that the models which use the "konami" game, the game with this icon, do NOT require the signal cut.

    It says on the official r4ids.cn website. http://r4ids.cn/news.htm
     
  6. GoldenSun3DS

    OP GoldenSun3DS GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Messages:
    272
    Country:
    United States
    I've added that in.
     
  7. JoostinOnline

    JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,999
    Country:
    United States
    I sent an email asking if they were going to abandon the previous cards because their patch didn't work for most people. They responded with "We're working on a new patch..."
     
  8. PsyBlade

    PsyBlade Snake Charmer
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    You mean like that patch for revs <=8 thats coming really soon ...
     
    Rydian and kineticUk like this.
  9. JoostinOnline

    JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,999
    Country:
    United States
    No, the current patch doesn't actually work for tons of the latest revision (at least latest until a few days ago).
     
  10. kineticUk

    kineticUk GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    488
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I would be interested to know if they are abandoning their original hardware revisions too..
    At least a DSi 1.45 release for my original would be appreciated, been waiting 12 months? now for update which works on original r4igold 5 and when I contacted them (few times only) I was told they were working on it still.
    I hope they don't abandon them but worried now
     
  11. PsyBlade

    PsyBlade Snake Charmer
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    Yes, exactly.
    The last time an update didn't work (revs 6-8) they did promise anther update too.
    Which was the last that was ever heard of the matter.

    Additionally SOME rev C couldn't be upgraded too.
    Nothing was heard of the promised solution either.

    I believe their solution was taking the rest they still had of those defect Cs and upgrading them by another way.
    Then they mixed them with the good Cs and sold them.
    (Adding a dot to the new Cs they produced thereafter to distinguish them)
    I think those Cs are the ones that now still can't be upgraded.
     
    samurayjp likes this.
  12. JoostinOnline

    JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,999
    Country:
    United States
    That's an asshole thing to do. Mine doesn't have a dot, I just checked.
     
  13. PsyBlade

    PsyBlade Snake Charmer
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    BELIEVE being the important part.
    I have no way to prove it (but am called paranoid at times (friends, not professionals)).
     
  14. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,880
    Country:
    United States
    Gotta' agree with psyblade, the r4ids.cn is the best R4-named cart we've seen in terms of updates, but it's not perfect. None of my models (including the one I did the review on) have been able to update for a while now.
     
  15. Technicmaster0

    Technicmaster0 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    4,203
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    Mine looks the same way and I can't upgrade it.
     
  16. GoldenSun3DS

    OP GoldenSun3DS GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Messages:
    272
    Country:
    United States
    I've recently updated the OP.
     
  17. ZildjianKX

    ZildjianKX GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    280
    Country:
    United States
    My main question... is this card updatable after the trace is cut??

    Zhuzhuchina is finally sending me my replacement revision C card since my last one wasn't upgradeable... now the one I get back will probably need to be cut to work, sigh...
     
  18. Squall Leonhart

    Squall Leonhart GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    your main question was answered not once, but 7 times.
     
  19. tjexp

    tjexp Happy New Year!
    Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2012
    Messages:
    760
    Country:
    Decided to update today and managed to get both RTS and non RTS card working after line cut
     
  20. ZildjianKX

    ZildjianKX GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    280
    Country:
    United States
    If you take the time to respond, can you please show the courtesy of at least taking the time to answer the question? I've read through 17 pages of this thread and I didn't see a definitive answer. If anything, I've seen speculation that the answer is "No".
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - [Update], firmware, RELEASED