Update? no...thats not right

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by TheBlueFox, Jan 2, 2010.

Jan 2, 2010
  1. TheBlueFox
    OP

    Newcomer TheBlueFox Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    After following the Complete Softmod Guide located here

    http://sites.google.com/site/completesg/ha.../trucha-bug-4-2

    I have completed up to the Trucha bug fix on a 4.2 wii. However, Now I've noticed a "system update" available whenever I turn the Wii on. I have not gone further than this, because there is no indication that it should be asking me for one at this time. Have I done something wrong?

    I've installed bannerbomb and the HBC, made a bootmii on boot2 on the SD card, then used the DOPIOS mod to enable the trucha bug using online NUS installations exactly as asked.

    I noticed this when I attempted to install Waninkoko's rev15, I renamed it to boot.dol, yet it does not appear in the HBC
     
  2. Hatsu

    Banned Hatsu Someone's been killing, eh?

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,143
    Location:
    __________________ Warn: 50%
    Country:
    Australia
    Did you put it like this: "SD:/apps/waninkoko_rev15/boot.dol"?
     
  3. TroyTheZombie

    Member TroyTheZombie GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    EDIT
    lol, sorry, my bad.
     
  4. TheBlueFox
    OP

    Newcomer TheBlueFox Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm I thought I place it straight in the Apps folder. I guess I have to put a folder in the apps folder of that app huh...

    Anyways, that solves that issue I hope. but still theres the issue of the update. will that be solved when I apply this?

    EDIT: Alright, the rev15 seemed to have installed properly, which is nice. However, the system update still exists. before I do anything further, id just like to know if thats normal
     
  5. Hatsu

    Banned Hatsu Someone's been killing, eh?

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,143
    Location:
    __________________ Warn: 50%
    Country:
    Australia
    Maybe not. Use Priiloader and enable all hacks you think are necessary!
     
  6. DKAngel

    Member DKAngel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    659
    Location:
    Perth,Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    the update is there as not all the ios files are uptodate and or stubbed just enable the skip update in priiloader and ignore the system update
     
  7. TheBlueFox
    OP

    Newcomer TheBlueFox Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    Priiloader, alright Ill go and install that. It wasnt instructed in the guide I followed, but Im sure its easy enough to install, eh?

    EDIT: It would seem that I cannot access the System Menu Hacks. I get a white screen for 3-4 seconds, then it returns to the Priiloader main menu. Is this because Im using an SDHC card?
     
  8. Kempston

    Newcomer Kempston Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, the Priiloader is easy to install and has numerous hacks which can be activated, two of which involve the blocking of firmware updates.
     
  9. TheBlueFox
    OP

    Newcomer TheBlueFox Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    Seems that it is working now. The Hacks.ini file wasnt being recognized as a config, it kept thinking it was a txt for some reason. Anyways, The wii still plays my disk of Metroid Prime 3, Now I have to start working on saving that to a usb hd, so I can run it off that

    I plan on using WiiFlow. Well good luck everyone
     

Share This Page