Update 3.3 to what?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by omedeto, Nov 11, 2010.

Nov 11, 2010

Update 3.3 to what? by omedeto at 9:21 AM (892 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. omedeto
    OP

    Newcomer omedeto Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Greetings everyone.

    I've got this old Wii on 3.3E with some cIOS (Don't remember which) and a few USB loaders installed. What I want to do is update everything on the console (firmware, cIOS, loaders) but I have no idea where to start from - partially afraid of a brick. Is updating to 4.3 (if that's the latest) safe, and, will I be able to install some kind of functioning loader?

    Thank you,
    -Omedeto
     
  2. egurgle

    Member egurgle GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Country:
    Brazil
    Use ModMii, choose Wizard mode, say ur wii is virgin and get SM 4.1. just follow guide step by step and ull be rdy [​IMG]
    FYI: 4.2 and 4.3 just removed hacks,,, thats reason 4.1 is the best option
     
  3. omedeto
    OP

    Newcomer omedeto Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for your answer; I followed the guide and now my Wii is on 4.1E! Just another quick one, though. My disc channel gives me a "Wii System Update" image when I load in a disc (I haven't clicked it). What's this about?
     
  4. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    u obviously didn't follow the virgin modmii guide otherwise u wouldn've enabled the priiloader system menu hack to disable updates... don't skip steps, there are no shortcuts!
     
  5. omedeto
    OP

    Newcomer omedeto Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    I'm pretty sure I followed all the steps correctly, but then again this happened. The game I have in is Super Smash Brothers Brawl, which worked just fine on 3.3, so I doubt it really needs to be updated. Keep in mind that I *DIDN'T* click on the channel, this is just what flashes on it.

    Given all that, what am I supposed to do now?

    Thanks.
     
  6. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
     
  7. omedeto
    OP

    Newcomer omedeto Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, that appears to have fixed the problem! (I ought to be more careful next time)

    Thank you very much for your help!
    Cheers.
     
  8. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    your welcome!

    don't forget to show your support for ModMii by voting in the official thread (or by donating!)
     
  9. egurgle

    Member egurgle GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Country:
    Brazil
    i told u to follow step by step [​IMG]
    happy u got it now...
     

Share This Page