Hacking Unsoftmoddable Wii

dwii

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 7, 2009
Messages
48
Trophies
0
XP
23
Country
United States
i thought you didn't have to downgrade to 3.2 in order to play wii/gb backups ?

don't they run fine on 3.4 ?

i've been told 3.2 only offers some extras over 3.4 and it's not need to play backups.


maybe i'm confused but that's what i've read on a few guides by now.
 

noobwarrior7

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2008
Messages
1,605
Trophies
0
Location
USA
XP
304
Country
United States
well, it is true...my guide with my pack will allow him to use custom wad manager to run backups, but I thought he said custom wad manager blackscreens....if custom wad manager works and you can install any wads, you can use my old pack....which I no longer have a link for....to softmod and play burnt games.

Im the only one who put together a pack like that, TBS4.

yep, I definitely dont have a link:

http://www.mediafire.com/?sharekey=9bf025f...2db6fb9a8902bda

thats not a link.


hope it works. still doesnt fix your downgrade problem.

two more things you can check on:
FIRST: cut power completely from your wii for like 5 minutes...works sometimes.

second: what version HBC do you have? beta9, 1.0 or 1.01?
 

dwii

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 7, 2009
Messages
48
Trophies
0
XP
23
Country
United States
^ok fingers crossed maybe that will work for him.


@strug, so everything blackscreens after u install 249 ?

so the other ios's will install with either wad manager but nothing works no gamma loader gcloader nothing ?


this really sucks if all new wii's are indeed afflicted like this, i hope they're not.


i hope you guys can figure it out an isolate the problem.
 

dwii

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 7, 2009
Messages
48
Trophies
0
XP
23
Country
United States
any update on this ?

did you try what noobwarrior said struggling ? any luck ?


anyone else have this problem with a new wii ?

it seems he's not alone on this as he pointed out in the first page yet another person with a similar problem.

i guess if nothing else i'll also be able to confirm this either this weekend or sometime next week when we get our wii.

whats the manufac date of your wii struggling ?

maybe we can figure out when these problematic wii's started being made so the rest of us can avoid buying one if this can't be fixed, but i hope it can.


anyone with more info on this ? let us know.

thanks.
 

BobSlob

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
4
Trophies
0
XP
2
Country
Canada
It is real. I had the first confirmed "case" of these new Wii's.

Lots has been done, but it's still not working as meant to.
I've been asked not to get into details about the Wii and the work being done, so I will respect that wish.

Traditional methods DO NOT work.

Bobbo
 

NBA Mj

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 15, 2005
Messages
70
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
429
Country
I hope you get it work mate
wink.gif

BTW, did you choose your nickname to be "Struggling" on purpose just for this matter
huh.gif
 

dwii

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 7, 2009
Messages
48
Trophies
0
XP
23
Country
United States
dwii said:
whats the manufac date of your wii struggling ? or anyone else ?

maybe we can figure out when these problematic wii's started being made so the rest of us can avoid buying one if this can't be fixed, but i hope it can.


i see, i thought this would be the case.


@bob when was your wii made ?

or anyone else ?


does it say the date on the box or anything else to look for when buying ?


i really want to try to avoid buying these new unmoddable wii's.


if anyone has some advice, please let me know.


thanks again guys for any help.
 

digitydogs

404 Error: Member Not Found
Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
1,352
Trophies
0
Location
Md,US
Website
Visit site
XP
55
Country
United States
I personally am thinking this isnt something nintendo has done to block homebrew/backups.... I am starting to lean towards a batch of wii's with bad sections on nand.... as i've had three people with this issue, and not one of them has been able to dump their nand without getting error reading nand messages.....
 

dwii

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 7, 2009
Messages
48
Trophies
0
XP
23
Country
United States
i see guys, how about the prefix of the wii's serial number ?

and are the serials visable on the box ?

or anything i could go buy when purchasing ? to possibly avoid getting one...


thanks again guys, i appreciate any info you can give me.
 

Grinto

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 7, 2009
Messages
10
Trophies
0
XP
192
Country
United States
I think I encountered one of these Wiis. Whenever I loaded up the Wad Manager, it would only load and detect IOS16, rather than saying "Custom IOS detected." I was, however, able to run the CIOSCORP program and everything was back to a normal, hackable state afterwards. (You'll have to reinstall CIOS30 somewhere down the line if you're using that method.)
 

cthg

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2009
Messages
197
Trophies
0
XP
229
Country
United States
Hmm, I doubt it's new unsoftmoddable Wii's because I personally have softmodded a friends Wii a week ago that he bought about two weeks ago. I didn't downgrade to 3.2 though because I do it all with 3.4 because I don't care about playing my backups on the disk channel.
 

BobSlob

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
4
Trophies
0
XP
2
Country
Canada
Both wii's I tried were bought this week.

Most programs on the HBC just black screen and a hard reset is needed.
All traditional methods of running backups do not work on this new Wii.

Many are refusing to accept that Nintendo has done something to the Wii, blaming SD Cards, User Error, etc.
But it's quite clear to me.
 

noobwarrior7

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2008
Messages
1,605
Trophies
0
Location
USA
XP
304
Country
United States
digitydogs said:
...as i've had three people with this issue, and not one of them has been able to dump their nand without getting error reading nand messages.....

NAND dumping was blocked in 3.4


in addition:
PLEASE ignore the stupid weirdly pieced together wiinewz frontpage.
there may very well be a 3.4.1 or whatever out,

BUT the hackmii post that mentioned the new boot1's and boot2's that showed up,
those users were clearly able to use their hbc apps with no problems

now people can't.

SO it may be RELATED, but it isn't just "btw theres a new boot1"
mainly because boot1 isn't running when youre in the hbc
 

dwii

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 7, 2009
Messages
48
Trophies
0
XP
23
Country
United States
i think if i can possibly find a LU5xxx wii i should be safe right guys ?

hopefully i can find one.

i originally thought to just steer clear of LU6xxx wii's, i'm sure not all of them are like this but definitely some are.

does anyone on here have a LU61xxx wii or something ? maybe this problem didn't arise until LU64xxx ect. numbers.

just trying to single this out possibly.


does any know strugglings serial prefix ? or any others that have this problem, that would also help here.


thanks again bobslob and everyone else in here.
 

noobwarrior7

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2008
Messages
1,605
Trophies
0
Location
USA
XP
304
Country
United States
nintendo's history of taking the easy way out makes me think this might be a tricky cop-out fix again.

it seems to be something with blocking FS access, because "apps" arent fakesigned, so there is no reason they shouldnt run really.

maybe the did something with IOS over 200, or maybe something specifically with the HBC
(so has anyone tried IOS downgrader through HBC?)

I'd think, it would be possible to insert either a placeholder title for "HAXX" (that of the HBC)
or a hidden "stub" (much like DVDX) that limits the ability of the HBC to function once it is, in fact, installed. I dunno....thoughts.
 

WiiBlaster

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2008
Messages
1,189
Trophies
0
XP
29
Country
United States
dwii said:
i think if i can possibly find a LU5xxx wii i should be safe right guys ?

hopefully i can find one.

i originally thought to just steer clear of LU6xxx wii's, i'm sure not all of them are like this but definitely some are.

does anyone on here have a LU61xxx wii or something ? maybe this problem didn't arise until LU64xxx ect. numbers.

just trying to single this out possibly.


does any know strugglings serial prefix ? or any others that have this problem, that would also help here.


thanks again bobslob and everyone else in here.

I have a LU62xxxx wii no problem here, when i bought it, It had 3.3 on it, downgraded no problem, and everything runs fine its about a Month old
 

dwii

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 7, 2009
Messages
48
Trophies
0
XP
23
Country
United States
thanks wiiblaster.

i didn't think all LU6 wii's were afflicted, but only the very newest ones it would seem ?

hopefully the mod guys out there can find out a fix sooner or later, i'm sure they will.


i'll be sure to report back when we get our wii, probably sometime next week.


all the help/info so far is appreciated gbatemp.
 

badbwai

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 2, 2008
Messages
47
Trophies
0
XP
72
Country
Canada
Try installing Wad Manager 1.3 (Or whichever is the latest, but I believe 1.3 is.)
Install the Wads with that, it was happening to me also but that fixed it (Error ret -1035 or w.e)

But it's different for some people, but I suggest giving it a try!
Goodluck~
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: https://youtu.be/Xl3nWAnk9RU