Unsafe to update firmware from original DVD's?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Humble, Feb 1, 2010.

Feb 1, 2010
  1. Humble
    OP

    Newcomer Humble Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Sweden
    Started to softmod my Wii to be able to use USB-loaders.

    had some friends over eho had bought New Super mario Bro's, and we where going to try it. Although it required that some updates where applied to the system from the DVD. Is it unsafe to update from DVD's when having an softmodded system?

    Right now my Wii firmware is 4.2e, so I thought that it didn't require any more updates.
     
  2. nitrostemp

    Member nitrostemp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,264
    Country:
    Australia
    its ios updates
     
  3. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    Run the game through GeckoOs
    or block updates with Priiloader/StartPatch
     
  4. Humble
    OP

    Newcomer Humble Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Sweden
    So, if I run the update it will most likely screw up my sofmod installation? Is there also a risk that it will brick my system?
     
  5. Humble
    OP

    Newcomer Humble Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Sweden
    Aah, big thanx for all replies. Just trying to get the hang out of how the process around this is really working.

    * heading off to hunt down priiloader ...
     
  6. Daco

    Banned Daco Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    473
    Location:
    earth
    Country:
    Belgium
    holy shit, you just told some1 to use priiloader

    thought you hated it so much? [​IMG]
     
  7. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    here's a link to my priiloader bundle if your interested (or u can go to the official google code site for priiloader)
     
  8. Daco

    Banned Daco Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    473
    Location:
    earth
    Country:
    Belgium
    hehe
    you had your reasons. 0.1 had that serious issue of destroying system menu and 0.2 was a complete disaster D:

    also, power/reset can be controlled but i fail to see why as they would interfere with how priiloader works :/
     
  9. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    wow, we're really getting off-topic... but who cares, it seems like the OP's problem has been fixed (or at least he has a plan now).

    i don't think that would interfere with how priiloader works, we just need a delay in there... noone is going to keep reset held down 5 seconds after the priiloader menu comes up.

    I remember u once suggested auto-booting the system menu if there was no wiimote connected after X amount of time. That is another reasonable solution... as it would allow anyone with wiimotes that wont sync to access the wii system menu... only problem is if some1's wiimotes are screwed AND their system menu (or system menu IOS) is screwed... then they would need a GC controller to navigate priiloader and fix the problem (GC controllers work with priiloader right?)
     
  10. Humble
    OP

    Newcomer Humble Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Sweden
    Well, problem solved, somwhow ... [​IMG]

    Didn't have to install prilloader, well, to be honest I really didnt get HOW to install it. And while fiddling around with all IOS it suddenly just worked with Super Mario.

    Thnx, for all help ... heads off to continue to explore the world of Wii softmodding!

    And, please, go ahead, the thread is all yours [​IMG]
     

Share This Page