Unraring files?

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by Little, Jun 30, 2007.

Jun 30, 2007

Unraring files? by Little at 8:47 PM (708 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. Little
    OP

    Member Little I r Little

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,227
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Okay, I'm trying to un-rar an Iso file. The split rar files are on my F drive. My f drive has 16 gigs of space available. My C drive has 3.4 gigs available. The iso i'm trying to extract is 4.7 gigs.
    I'm trying to extract it to my F drive. Every time I do it gets to like 50% and then lets me know that it can't continue because of lack of space and I get the stupid windows pop up saying my C drive is full. I'm not sure why my computer is trying to extract to the C drive, I'm guessing it might be a temp holding thing? I don't know! Is there a way I can make it extract using only my F drive (which aint full).

    Edit: scrap that I found a setting for the temp file location. I think that will solve my problem! I'm a num nuts eh eh.
     
  2. [M]artin

    Member [M]artin .

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3,658
    Country:
    United States
    I'm pretty sure you're right about the temporary file thing. Everytime I try to extract, WinRar always creates a temp folder name for me (usually with a weird name like rar$xyz). I've been stuck in this situation many times but never have found a way around the temp folder creation. (Sorry, I'm not good with multiple drive stuff) [​IMG]
     
  3. jimmy j

    Member jimmy j Awesome for hire.

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    the congo
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    1. Create a Temp folder on your F Drive
    2. Open Winrar >options>settings>paths>folder for temporary files
    3. Browse to the F drive's temp folder


    [​IMG]
     
  4. Little
    OP

    Member Little I r Little

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,227
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Cheers guys =)
     
  5. nycwii

    Newcomer nycwii Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    81
    Country:
    United States
    did it work cause if it didnt pm me and ill find u a tutorial
     
  6. wabo

    Member wabo GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,082
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    umm Could be your F: drive is in Fat32. 2 gig file size limit...
     
  7. Little
    OP

    Member Little I r Little

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,227
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It worked thank you =) My computer is just verifying my first ever wii iso :-o of course, i can't test it lol!
     
  8. nycwii

    Newcomer nycwii Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    81
    Country:
    United States
    lol ok well if it acts up again pm me and i will find a solution [​IMG]
     
  9. digital_sin

    Member digital_sin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    Egypt
    that happens if you try to extract the files from winrar by highlighting and dragging them. to avoid this issue use "Extract to" instead.

    for some reason winrar copies the files to the temp folder first then moves them to wherever you dragged them if you highlight and drag the files.
     

Share This Page