1. blackkat101

    blackkat101 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    You can see the .cpk files by using the DSLazy program to unpack the rom. You can then take out, mod, or replace files and then repack it.
     
  2. Smartpal

    Smartpal The Guitar Guy
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,037
    Country:
    India
    I'll try this out although event voices as well would have been cool.
     
  3. blackkat101

    blackkat101 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States

    Nah, swapping the scenario_privatefile doesn't work. Replaces the text of the scenario with the japanese text and still does not trigger the voices even with the sound_eventvoice_files (which the english rom is completely lacking).


    Then again, I know little to none. All of what I've been doing is experimenting with replacing files here or there to see if it'll work. I'm sure someone could help much better than I.
     
  4. IchigoK2031

    IchigoK2031 Wannabe Shirow Miwa...
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    691
    Country:
    United States
    did any1 besides me notice that the mage guys voice isn't jap if you do the undub?
     
  5. xiuide

    xiuide Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    his voice might be stored in the blame_j.sdat file, try switching that out as well. i browsed the contents of that with crystaltile2 and it was all sound files and whatnots. his voice may also be in the file the the (U) release is missing (im not at comp with unpacked files atm, and cant remember what its called) which is all the more reason to try and get the pointers/.cpk files figured out.

    /sigh/
    does anyone else remember when a undub was as simple as replacing a few files [​IMG]
     
  6. Jugiatsu

    Jugiatsu Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    United States
    Usually it still is. I blame Tri-Ace, their development code if you've ever looked into it (especially VP2) is very nasty. I think they have their own code that only their programmers understand in an attempt to piss people like us off [​IMG]
     
  7. sinbatsu

    sinbatsu Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Indonesia
    Here's xdelta patch for the (J) version, it translate the scenario to (U) version
    but, be warned! There's some problems occurs:

    [Glitch 01]
    There maybe several events that missaligned, the name of character speaking is wrong, the voice not right, and silences when there are text on the box.
    So far only the flashback after Wyl get hit when saving ancel have this glitch. Maybe there's more.
    It maybe crash too.

    [Glitch 02]
    System menu stil in japan, option,load menu.
    Some battle texts are also missaligned.


    Use at your own risk!
    Only appliable to the (J) version, since the (U) version will not load the voices, maybe need an arm9 hack.

    http://www.mediafire.com/?9eg3wjxsucm

    I only tested this until Ceripha and her father joins.
     
  8. mienai

    mienai Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    Haven't tried what's in the above post yet, but maybe this thread will be of some help? I honestly don't know, but just trying to contribute somehow.
     
  9. GrayFox2510

    GrayFox2510 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    75
    Country:
    Mexico
    If you use spells outside of battle (like Heal, Guard Reinforce, etc), his voice will be in English. That even happens with Wyl when he uses the plume to sacrifice someone, his voice will be in English. But when you go inside battle (like actual battle, with the whole smashing things dead), all voices will be Japanese.

    Which leads me to believe (obviously) that out-of-battle voices are stored somewhere else.
     
  10. sinbatsu

    sinbatsu Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Indonesia
    the field voices when using item, plume, skills are packed inside field cpk along with battle texts
     
  11. Jugiatsu

    Jugiatsu Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    United States
    So then essentially if you replace those from the JP version into the US version and then pack it back up it should work in theory correct?
     
  12. sinbatsu

    sinbatsu Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Indonesia
    you need to repack them, if using the (J) one in (U) will produce japanese texts on battle texts like items you get, sins, etc
     
  13. Kerian

    Kerian GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    Canada
    This will only restore Jap battle voices, but not the full jap audio, i take it?
     
  14. sinbatsu

    sinbatsu Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Indonesia
    Yes. But the (J) version has more battle voices than the (U), so there may be wrong voices.
     
  15. zincsterio

    zincsterio Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United States
    Wow, this looks like a pretty difficult undub to do.

    Is there a way to extract the the text from the US/EUR version and replace it into the JPN rom? Or is this also really difficult to do?
     
  16. mrfatso

    mrfatso That guy!!
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    4,932
    Country:
    Senegal
    so anyway guys, sorry if this is such a noob question, so say i want to just translate the jp rom to english, and i don mind having no voices, just Scenario_PrivateFiles.cpk will do? or do i need some other stuff?

    and good luck with this [​IMG]

    edit: btw i was feeling lame so i copy everything from the us rom and replaced them and guess what? in the menu screen, i see people instead of buttons [​IMG]

    edit2: wow, the game id is the same as the jp version [​IMG] now to do a little testing and see if the code will work [​IMG]
     
  17. arciel

    arciel Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Indonesia
    hello guys,
    first sorry for my bad english language. >.<

    to the point,
    when i look the file inside scenario_privatefile.cpk (jp), i found the some japan text in ID00307.(the file inside the cpk (jp) use unicode.)
    so, i try to change the japan text with english text, but the problem is the english text not show up.

    this what it looks like

    so, can anyone tell me how to insert the english text ?
     
  18. Makenboshi

    Makenboshi Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Indonesia
    so anyone has succeeded to undub this?
     
  19. koroshiya97

    koroshiya97 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    I used the patch and the patch worked! However, the rom is too big and won't boot on my Acekard 2. Is there anything I can do about this?
     
  20. mrfatso

    mrfatso That guy!!
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    4,932
    Country:
    Senegal
    err, try removing any unwanted games in your sd card or get a bigger sd card?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Undubbing, Valkyrie, Covenant