Unbricking help

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Crimson Fog, Jun 11, 2009.

Jun 11, 2009

Unbricking help by Crimson Fog at 2:18 AM (798 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. Crimson Fog
    OP

    Newcomer Crimson Fog Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United States
    I have a USA Wii bricked with 3.1E.

    I took apart my NGC controller and did the 4-button thing and got the 3.1U screen.

    What do I do now?

    I tried to install Starfall via HBC, but it says 3.2u is need.

    Please help! Thanks in advance.
     
  2. TroyTheZombie

    Member TroyTheZombie GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    ok, few questions.



    Do you have bootmii installed?

    if no, do you have a copy of zelda twilight princess?

    if no, do you have mario kart wii?

    if yes, do you have the twilight hack on your system?

    Need some more info to help you.
     
  3. oxMUDxo

    Member oxMUDxo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    494
    Location:
    Missouri - USA
    Country:
    United States
    Do you have any brick protection?
     
  4. damysteryman

    Member damysteryman I am too busy IRL these days...

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,182
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Did you put in a PAL wii disc and do an update from it? If so...

    You're able to access the systemmenu right? and the Homebrew channel? If so, you'll have to hunt down the 3.1U systemmenu wad (or maybe even 3.2U, if you want, although I wouldn't recommend that, as I'm not sure if you have the required IOS files for 3.2U) (use google) and install this wad using wad manager. Or you could try to get a hold of a disc with the systemmenu 3.2U update on it, not sure which game, try Mario Kart Wii or SSBB, and just put that in the wii while holding down the 4 gc dpad buttons). But as this involves reinstalling the systemmenu its a little risky. Are you able to use the hackmii installer to install bootmii as boot2? If so, best do that first and make a nand backup.

    Alternatively... you could just use AnyReigonChanger to change you wii region code to match the systemmeny region you installed (this might turn your wii into a PAL Wii, though).

    hope this helps.
     
  5. Crimson Fog
    OP

    Newcomer Crimson Fog Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United States

    Unfortunately, I do not have any brick protection.
     
  6. Crimson Fog
    OP

    Newcomer Crimson Fog Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United States
    I cannot access the system menu, it goes to an Opera Channel web page. I have the HBC installed, I will look for the 3.1u system menu mod.

    I tried using AnyRegionChanger to go to 3.2U, but the internet connection is not setup.
     
  7. TroyTheZombie

    Member TroyTheZombie GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    ok, here is what you want to do.

    I am assuming from your post holding the 4 gc buttons allowed you to boot from a disc.

    put the ios downgrader boot.dol in the main part of your sd card.

    Do the twilight hack. it will automatically run ios downgrader.

    pick 3.2u (i'm assuming you are using a USA wii).

    there you go, working system menu again.


    If it was simply a banner brick, then all you have to do is instead of using ios downgrader, use wad manager and uninstall the wad that caused the problem.


    what exactly bricked your wii?

    EDIT: whoops, sorry, didn't see you have no internet connection set up. looks like you may have to find a system menu wad. or borrow mario kart off of someone and do the on disc system update.
     
  8. Crimson Fog
    OP

    Newcomer Crimson Fog Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United States
    Correct, I do not have the internet setup. I need to find a game that has the 3.2 system menu update on it. Does Mario Kart for sure have the update that I need? I will go rent it if it does.
     
  9. Dialexio

    Member Dialexio GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,546
    Country:
    United States
    There is no game that has or will have System Menu 3.2.

    Mario Kart contains a variant of the 3.1 update. In this case, Mario Kart probably won't help (don't quote me on that). Wii Music and Animal Crossing have 3.3v1, so you could try using those games.
     
  10. Crimson Fog
    OP

    Newcomer Crimson Fog Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United States
    I am having troubles finding the System 3.2u WAD.

    I just bought used USB-to-Ethernet adapter for the Wii from Gamestop. Does anyone know if the dongle is Plug and Play or do I have to actually setup the wired connection?

    If its PnP, then I should be able to upgrade my system menu.

    Does anyone know?
     
  11. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    First of all, what did you do to cause the brick? If it's a banner brick then use Wad Manager to uninstall the wad that screwed you up.

    If it's a system menu corruption not caused by a bad banner then type 0000000100000002 v289 into NUS Downloader to get a System Menu 3.2u wad and install that after running IOS Downgrader as suggested in the topic.
     

Share This Page