1. thehatergator

    OP thehatergator GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2016
    Messages:
    262
    Country:
    United States
    it was working yesterday now all of a sudden its gives a unable to start software I tried to uninstall and reinstall it ut nothing works
     
  2. thehatergator

    OP thehatergator GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2016
    Messages:
    262
    Country:
    United States
    wow this is getting frustrating pls help
     
  3. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    13,837
    Country:
    United States
    Are you using Atmosphere and fusee-primary? Do you have the proper signature patches installed?
     
  4. thehatergator

    OP thehatergator GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2016
    Messages:
    262
    Country:
    United States
    I'm using atmosphere and I think that I have the patches
     
  5. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    19,961
    Country:
    Norway
    Have you or someone else updated the Switch since yesterday?
     
  6. thehatergator

    OP thehatergator GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2016
    Messages:
    262
    Country:
    United States
    nope I have the update blocked with the dns
     
  7. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    19,961
    Country:
    Norway
    Might be an SD card issue. Is your SD card exFAT or FAT32? FAT32 is recommended as exFAT is prone to corruption.
     
  8. thehatergator

    OP thehatergator GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2016
    Messages:
    262
    Country:
    United States
    can one of y'all link me to
    ok I'll format it again
     
  9. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    13,837
    Country:
    United States
    If you haven't been able to get it to work, I recommend the following troubleshooting steps:
    1. Make sure the SD card is FAT32.
    2. Remove all CFW files/folders from your SD card (that would be folders like /sept/ and /atmosphere/)
    3. Download the latest Atmosphere
    4. Download the latest fusee-primary (next to Atmosphere)
    5. Download these signature patches (for Atmosphere v0.14.1)
    6. Put Atmosphere and the signature patches onto your SD card
    7. Put the SD into your Switch
    8. Launch Atmosphere using fusee-primary
    If you're using an emuMMC, the steps might be slightly different.
     
  10. kidkat210

    kidkat210 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2016
    Messages:
    147
    Country:
    United States
    I've heard for some people that they needed to change the switches time. I can't remember anything else besides that but for a some of them it worked. Like there clocks were off
     
  11. mike3041990

    mike3041990 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2020
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Delete tinfoil from home screen then relaunch it in the album
     
    pietempgba likes this.
  12. Xyphoseos

    Xyphoseos Hack or no games
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,747
    Country:
    France
    I just updated my switch, I dl all and this sig patch too, I can't start tinfoil, hbmenu and goldleaf (I can't start nothing that is not an official game I think) What can I do ?
     
  13. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    13,837
    Country:
    United States
    Make sure your signature patches comport with your system version and your Atmosphere version. For example, Atmosphere 0.14.4 with 0.14.3 patches isn't going to work.
     
    Xyphoseos likes this.
  14. KingKazmaOfficial

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Hey guys,

    I am having a similar issue with specifically Tinfoil not being able to start. I recently updated to AMS 0.14.4 from 0.14.1, my OFW is at 10.1.0. When I try to launch Tinfoil, I get the "Unable to start software" error. I've tried deleting it and re-installing it from HBMenu (not applet mode) to no avail. All of my other applications/games launch no problem, so I'm fairly certain (correct me if I'm wrong) my sigpatches are up to spec.

    I didn't install the newest sigpatches since my OFW is still 10.1.0 as apposed to 10.2.0. It's my understanding that sigpatches should be updated as the OFW is updated, am I correct?

    What did I miss here?
     
  15. nero99

    nero99 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,992
    Country:
    United States
    download the jits.cc AIO atmosphere package and install it. HBG is dead.
     
  16. KingKazmaOfficial

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    What makes you say that? I quite like Tinfoil, but then again I'm not the most involved in this community, thus the nooby questions/problems.
     
  17. kidkat210

    kidkat210 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2016
    Messages:
    147
    Country:
    United States
    All that aio pack is atmosphere, sig patches, and tinfoil configured with jits
     
  18. KingKazmaOfficial

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm, i see. I just did some light digging and learned that HBG Shop is in fact shutting down on 10/1, a pity. I never really did understand what the difference betweeen the HBG Shop and Tinfoil was, although I understand they are closely related to each other. Anyhow, I found a post on reddit detailing the JITS AIO, so I guess if I have any questions about it I'll ask those there. I still am not sure what the problem is with me not being able to open Tinfoil on my system, can't help but wonder if it's related to the HBG shutdown?
     
  19. AnalogMan

    AnalogMan ultraSuMoFramework Dev
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,913
    Country:
    United States
    Sig patches need to be updated with both OFW and Atmosphere updates since OFW 10.0 came out.
     
  20. KingKazmaOfficial

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, now we're getting somewhere. Thanks! Even though the current sigpatches are for OFW 10.2.0 will it be ok for me to use them, or will I have to update to OFW 10.2.0 for everything to work. I don't have any real reason to not update the OFW, just being lazy I guess lol. That and I don't have access to a PC atm, only a Macbook, and I'd rather not try to use macOS to send files to my switch. I've known it to cause some issues in the past.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - software, tinfoil, unable