Unable to load kernel on my r4i-gold rev C

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by kniteowl, Jan 8, 2013.

Jan 8, 2013
  1. kniteowl
    OP

    Newcomer kniteowl Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Hi

    I recently purchased a r4i-Gold from http://www.nds-card.com,


    and appearantly from this link http://www.r4ids.cn/news.htm it's a revision C model.

    I have a 3DS XL Ver 4.4.0-10E, a DSi ver 1.4U and another DSi Ver 1.3U

    It doesn't work on any of them.

    Whenever I load my R4i-gold kart. I get a black screen followed by a white screen for a couple of seconds then a indefinite black screen.

    When the cart is inserted into my 3DS, I get the Konami Digital Entertainment Icon (and some japanese text). Not the deep labyrinth icon.

    I've tried 3 different SD cards with the Wood Firmware copied on them in the root. The rpg folder and the DS_MENU. DAT file are copied into the root of all SD cards.

    I get the feeling that maybe it's a hardware problem like the kart could not read the SD card.

    Can any body please help me.

    Regards
    kniteowl

    Update: I can exit back to the main menu after I load the kart into the black screen by pushing the HOME button.
     
  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    What happens when you try to run the cart?
     
  3. Jayro

    Member Jayro MediCat DVD Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    3,364
    Location:
    Octovalley
    Country:
    United States
    Time to get a DSTwo, and cut your losses. That's what I'm doing.
     
  4. kniteowl
    OP

    Newcomer kniteowl Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    New Zealand
    When I said load, i actually meant run, so when I actually try to run the cart, that's what I get.

    Update: I can exit back to the main menu after I load the kart into the black screen by pushing the HOME button.
     
  5. Vanth88

    Member Vanth88 Private

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    Are you 100% sure you have a legit R4i Gold from http://www.r4ids.cn/ ? Make sure it says it on the cart itself.

    As for your problem you answered it yourself your icon is Konami and from what I gathered that's a much older firmware that won't work on the newest 3DS. In fact when I searched for Konami r4i I found only 2 carts that used that icon or at least used it at one time, R4i-sdhc.com and r4i Gold Plus (http://www.r4ids.com). Both use the icon "Konami Digital Entertainment [​IMG]". The thing is it only works for 3DS firmware V2.2.0-4 and DSi V1.4.3.

    Either way you look at it though there's no mention of a Konami icon on the official r4i gold website. It's safe to say you need to update though.
     
  6. kniteowl
    OP

    Newcomer kniteowl Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    New Zealand
    ^ it does say www.r4ids.cn on both the cart and packaging.

    and the icon doesn't look like anything like the konami digital entetainment icon you posted above. There's a picture of a person (most likely a girl) on the bottom, on the top left of the icon there's an upside down "Q" in red and of the top right there's some yellow japanese text in katakana which I can't read.

    Even if my cart is out of date, it should still work on my DSi's as they both have firmware versions older then 1.4.3. But the problem is they still don't work on the DSi's if they did work I could easily update the Kart and i wouldn't currently be in this predicament.

    EDIT: HOLY CRAP, I found the icon picture

    http://r4ids.cn/r4ids-e.htm

    It's the top one in japanese and Support 3DS V4.5.0-10 and NDSi V1.4.5

    [​IMG]

    The only thing I can think of is either the Hardware isn't working or the Kart is region locked to only work on Japanese 3DS's... I Dunno *sigh*

    Any ideas?
     
  7. Vanth88

    Member Vanth88 Private

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    I'd check the site but it's suspended again lol. *QUICK UPDATE!* I checked out google's cache page and yeah you have the newest one it supports Support 3DS V4.5.0-10 and NDSi V1.4.5. I don't know what else to tell you though. I'd talk to them about returning it and getting a new card.
     
  8. EyeZ

    Member EyeZ GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,336
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I would format my microSD and re-download the correct Kernel, then place the contents of the firmware on my microSD.

    If this still fails then i would try a different microSD and if that failed then it could possibly be a duff cart if i was sure i'd done everything correctly.
     
  9. kniteowl
    OP

    Newcomer kniteowl Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    New Zealand
    After 3 more SD cards, I finally got it working on my ancient 1gb kingston micro SD. Are Karts suppose to be this bias between micro Sd cards?

    This is a pain... I can fit like 2-3 games on it lol

    I'm worried if I go out and buy another SD card it won't work on it :-( and just waste more money.

    Is it possible that it might be a bug in the latest firmware patch?

    Is there a way I can downgrade to check?
     
  10. EyeZ

    Member EyeZ GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,336
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Get yourself a Transcend Class 6, problem free gaming :)
     
  11. kniteowl
    OP

    Newcomer kniteowl Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    New Zealand
    ^ there aren't many of those in my part of the world. Would a Transcend Class 10 do?

    I think I might get a class 10 Kingston SDHC. THey're a reliable brand right?

    It was the 1gb Kingston that works on my R4i, worth a shot lol.
     
  12. tranfeer

    Member tranfeer GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    772
    Country:
    Austria
    It has nothing to do with the system version of your DS.
    Please goto www.r4ids.cn and download wood r4 v1.56 for r4i gold 3ds(r4ids.cn).
    Just unzip it to the root directory of your tf card and you should get __rpg folder and the _DS_MENU. DAT .
    Otherwise, you just get the phenomenon as above.
    Just check the files of the kernel.
     
  13. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    As tranfeer said, this isn't related to firmware stuff, it sounds like it's a big in the download of Wood you got (you need to get the r4ids.cn built), or maybe your MicroSD. Cheap ones you get from ebay or chinese import stores can easily be fake.
     
  14. GamerzHell9137

    Member GamerzHell9137 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3,709
    Country:
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    I can confirm that Transcend Class 10 8 GB works on the R4i Gold 3DS
     
  15. kniteowl
    OP

    Newcomer kniteowl Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Is the Wood on r4ids website any different to the Wood I get from this website?

    I downloaded and installed the firmware on my A-data 8gb SDHC card but it didn't work. :(


    Nah I got mine from a Retailer, it's definitely legit. But it was a lesser known brand.

    Good to hear, I'm definitely gonna buy that one.
     
  16. tranfeer

    Member tranfeer GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    772
    Country:
    Austria
  17. kniteowl
    OP

    Newcomer kniteowl Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Sorry if I was not clear

    Yes I have downloaded wood r4 v1.56 from www.r4ids.cn

    and No, it does not work on myu r4i-gold.

    Yes I did install the files properly. I unzripped the file and copyed over the files into the root of my SDHC.

    I don't think it's the problem with the Wood r4 firmware
     
  18. Vanth88

    Member Vanth88 Private

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    So far you only got 1 SD card to work right? alright well take one of the cards you want and run a chkdsk on them. I know it sounds silly but for years I could never get Wii's priiloader to work well as it would crash sometimes however it worked just fine for running all of my homebrew stuff. Turns out the developer suggested I run chkdsk and that fixed everything. Just right click the SD card, go to props, tools, click check now and click both boxes. I'm not saying that'll fix it but its worth a shot.

    Also I would highly recommend you get Wood 1.54 instead of 1.56 as its really buggy atm.
    http://filetrip.net/nds-downloads/f...ad-wood-r4-for-r4i-gold-r4ids-154-f31064.html

    The one from here and the official website are both exactly the same.
     
  19. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    There's multiple builds of Wood for various R4 carts, the one for the original R4 tends to be the first posted here.
     
  20. kniteowl
    OP

    Newcomer kniteowl Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Thanks for the help guys, I appreciate it. I just got my transcend class 10 8gb SDHC and it works perfectly.

    I might do a disk scan on my A-data SDHC and install wood 1.54 just for the heck of it, I do have a spare DSi without a cart, could get another cheap r4i gold for it, if it does work out
     

Share This Page