Unable to install core file on M3iZero

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by JaapDraad, Feb 27, 2010.

Feb 27, 2010
  1. JaapDraad
    OP

    Newcomer JaapDraad Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hi

    I've just bought an M3iZero card. I have been trying all night to install the core file.

    At the first try, the led didn't show up at all. Finally it started blinking, but the blinking wouldn't stop.
    After about 20 minutes I took out the M3 USB power cable.
    I thought the problem might be that I used a (4GB) SDHC card. So I tried again with a 1G plain SD card but with the same result.
    I've been trying different versions of the core software but the result is always the same. he led just keeps on blinking.

    At some point I watched a video of the update process and I noticed that my card was blinking a lot faster than on the video. Mine blink 3-4 times a second.

    I've searched my ass of on this form (and will do for another couple of hours probably) but I haven't found a solution yet.

    can anybody help me out?
     
  2. nitrostemp

    Member nitrostemp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,264
    Country:
    Australia
    so im guessing you dont have a ds lite to update it with?
     
  3. JaapDraad
    OP

    Newcomer JaapDraad Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I do have a DS-lite.

    Can I update it with a DS lite?
    I understand that I can use power from the DS lite instead of from the M3 USB power cable.
    I have tried that with two kinds of result:
    1. Same story; fast blinking led
    2. No blinking led and both screens white on DS lite

    From what I 've read so far the white screens indicate a problem with the cards contacts.
     
  4. gameguy95

    Banned gameguy95 Needs More Furries!

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,119
    Location:
    Furrytown
    Country:
    United States
    i had the same problem and when i tried to use my DSL to flash it, it blew the fuses in my DSL so now i can't charge it or turn it on, so dont do what nitrostemp suggested
     
  5. JaapDraad
    OP

    Newcomer JaapDraad Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    @gameguy95
    How did you fix it?
     
  6. dsrules

    Member dsrules GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    3,285
    Country:
    try format your 1gb sd using Windows Default settings and only put the core files in there, plug the usb cable to the pc and hold the M3 in your hand, don't let it hanging
    and make sure that you plug in the cable the correct way into the M3 with the arrow pointing the bottom of the M3
     
  7. JaapDraad
    OP

    Newcomer JaapDraad Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I've tried so many times. In all positions. Formatted the SD card with different tools.
    I suppose I'll have to ask the supplier to exchange the M3i0 for another one.
     
  8. JaapDraad
    OP

    Newcomer JaapDraad Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    The funny thing is that when I put in an empty SD-card the led stays lit.
    But when there is an f_core.dat on the card the led will go fast blinking without ending.
    So it looks like its not completely bricked.
     
  9. DeltaBurnt

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    I think it's supposed to stay lit when the fcore isn't on the SD, that's one of the signaling messages that you don't have it on there.

    It sounds like your card or power cord may have gotten damaged during the shipping process.
     
  10. Jakob95

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    If you have a DSi. Put in your M3 into the DSi with the Fcore in the microSD. Stay in the main menu, and wait 1min the M3 should be updating it self. After that turn off the power and turn it back on and check if the M3 will work.
     
  11. gameguy95

    Banned gameguy95 Needs More Furries!

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,119
    Location:
    Furrytown
    Country:
    United States
    i wish i did. even the support team, after 3 days of trying to help, just told me to give up and send it back to the dealer (i couldn't though because they warranty wore out by then) so my advice: either return it for a new one or buy a scds2 when it comes out
     
  12. JaapDraad
    OP

    Newcomer JaapDraad Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I finally managed to install the F-core.dat.
    This was after I reformated the 1GB sd card with Windows to FAT32 and I used the Fcore-dat from http://www.handheldsources.com/M3DS/Download_M3DSR.html

    However now I now I experience the contact issue. Only 1 out of * times I turn on the DS Lite i actually get the M3 interface, Most of the time I get 2 white screens.
    I've been experimenting with pieces of paper stuck in the card slot and adhevise tape stuck to the M3 card but to no abail.

    Today I ordered an Acekard2i.
    I hope the supplier of the M3 card will take it back.
    I've lost my faith in the M3i zero. It has great specs, but is a real pain getting it to actually work,
     
  13. gameguy95

    Banned gameguy95 Needs More Furries!

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,119
    Location:
    Furrytown
    Country:
    United States
    only if you have a faulty card, which you obviously do
    mine actually flashed straight-away wwhen i first got it, but after a few months, it stopped working
    also, i don't know how you got it to work because i just tried that and it does not work
     
  14. gamecaptor

    Member gamecaptor R.I.P. Densetsu. Legends never die!

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    454
    Location:
    Hyrule most of the time
    Country:
    United States
    Hey JaapDraad,

    I have purchased several of the M3i Zero's over time and just today I'm having my first encounter with programming problems as you have.

    I received two M3i Zero's today. I was able to program one of them with no problem, the other will not, it just displays a solid red light (and after screwing around with it, it’s now doing the really fast red blinking light then stopping). I verified the F_CORE.DAT file was intact (used the same memory card as I did on the first M3i) and even formatted the memory card and placed the file back on the card. I then attempted to program the M3i with a different memory card, with two different programmers and on two different PCs. I had the same result no matter what combination I tried. So I believe the unit is defective.

    I wouldn’t waste your time with that M3i, I would send it back (if you still can) as I am planning too.

    Regards,

    GC
     

Share This Page