'Un hacking' my Wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Livin in a box, Oct 9, 2009.

Oct 9, 2009

'Un hacking' my Wii by Livin in a box at 10:33 PM (859 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. Livin in a box
    OP

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well, there are so many threads out there asking for people to help them un-hack, but most, if not all, are 1) old and 2) have Preloader installed. So, I've decided o make my own topic.

    Basically, I have a Wiikey v1, I'm on 4.0E and I'd *like* to get back to 3.2E. I don't have BootMii or anything snazzy like that. I think I have cIOS installed, but I'm not even sure about that. I've not used it for quite a while, and I can't remember half of the stuff that I have put on there in the past. I have the HBC 1.0.5. There we are.

    So, how would I go about 'un-hacking' it? I have a UK launch unit...and it's been formatted before because I got sent a very large message and was thus causing the Wii to crash in normal mode, so I had to go into service mode and reset it. ¬¬ I've got so much rubbish on my Wii and I just want to get rid of it.

    ^^
     
  2. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    Get bootmii as a boot2 replacement for sure before you do anything. You don't need preloader, you need this.

    You also have to have an older boot2 than boot2v4, so you can't have done an official 4.2U update.
     
  3. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Why do you want to go back to 3.2e anyway? There's no benefit to downgrading.
     
  4. Livin in a box
    OP

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ...TBH I don't know. WAD Manager no longer works since I updated from 3.2E, so...
    Maybe I'll just install BootMii. I'll have a look around and see what it actually does. ^^
     
  5. nicksasa

    Member nicksasa GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,410
    Country:
    Belgium
    if you want a TOTAl format, install bootmii as boot2 and use comex his nand formatter (read the readme !)
     
  6. Livin in a box
    OP

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Right, I've got BootMii installer as Boot 2 and it's all working.

    Now, comex's NAND formatter...What's different about that formatting the console?
     

Share This Page