Homebrew Homebrew app Ultrahand Overlay - The fully craft-able overlay executor

ppkantorski

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 1, 2023
Messages
82
Trophies
0
XP
629
Country
United States
Updated to v1.6.5.

Also created a new Ultrahand Package that can install, manage and convert pchtxt mods into IPS files and cheats (as well as mange content mods). Used to be an example package called `Mod Master`, but I've improved it a bit using some of the new features in the latest Ultrahand.

https://github.com/ppkantorski/Mod-Alchemist

It can function as a replacement for `IPSWitch` if users choose to use it. I might make a GBATemp page just for it sometime.
 

ppkantorski

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 1, 2023
Messages
82
Trophies
0
XP
629
Country
United States
can’t get cheats to work
i'll double check the output of the algo when i get the chance. but do keep in mind not everything will convert properly as cheats. it should produce a similar output to this script, so if it is putting out a different output i may have to modify the function a bit. but if the output is the same and you are still having problems, then its likely an incompatible mod to cheat conversion.
 

the_otsutsuki

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2017
Messages
155
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
605
Country
United States
if i already have tesla menu and want to use this, will i have to re download all my cheats etc or will this still work with all the current tesla menu items i have ?
 

Grimwynn

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Aug 10, 2024
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
19
Country
Brazil
Hello ppkantorski!
Thanks for your great work!
I have some questions, first, how can I rename my overlays in Ultrahand? And how can i translate them?

Thanks!
 
  • Like
Reactions: ppkantorski

ppkantorski

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 1, 2023
Messages
82
Trophies
0
XP
629
Country
United States
if i already have tesla menu and want to use this, will i have to re download all my cheats etc or will this still work with all the current tesla menu items i have ?

no this will functionally behave similarly to Tesla menu for overlays. it interfaces with nx-ovlloader to spawn them the same exact way Tesla does, except with some more custom options (like user specified launch arguments).

Hello ppkantorski!
Thanks for your great work!
I have some questions, first, how can I rename my overlays in Ultrahand? And how can i translate them?

Thanks!

Translating Tesla overlays requires translating words in their source code and recompiling (or somehow hexing in all the replacements you need). Translating Ultrahand packages however is very easy since it just requires renaming the INI sections in the .ini files and words wherever else they may be mentioned (like in json files, etc). I could add in an option to rename overlays from within the `overlays.ini` file, then create a toggle for it, however the way it is constructed reads and displays the overlay name directly from the `.ovl` file.

If you want to attempt hexing your translations into the compiled overlay files, you can do it with Ultrahand commands.
INI:
[Replace Overlay Text]
hex-by-string <overlay_file_path> <text_to_replace_1> <text_replacement_1>
hex-by-string <overlay_file_path> <text_to_replace_2> <text_replacement_2>
hex-by-string <overlay_file_path> <text_to_replace_3> <text_replacement_3>
hex-by-string <overlay_file_path> <text_to_replace_4> <text_replacement_4>
hex-by-string <overlay_file_path> <text_to_replace_5> <text_replacement_5>
...

But keep in mind that hexing does not change the size, so you might have issues if you try replacing shorter text with longer text.
 
Last edited by ppkantorski,

the_otsutsuki

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2017
Messages
155
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
605
Country
United States
no this will functionally behave similarly to Tesla menu for overlays. it interfaces with nx-ovlloader to spawn them the same exact way Tesla does, except with some more custom options (like user specified launch arguments).



Translating Tesla overlays requires translating words in their source code and recompiling (or somehow hexing in all the replacements you need). Translating Ultrahand packages however is very easy since it just requires renaming the INI sections in the .ini files and words wherever else they may be mentioned (like in json files, etc). I could add in an option to rename overlays from within the `overlays.ini` file, then create a toggle for it, however the way it is constructed reads and displays the overlay name directly from the `.ovl` file.

If you want to attempt hexing your translations into the compiled overlay files, you can do it with Ultrahand commands.
INI:
[Replace Overlay Text]
hex-by-string <overlay_file_path> <text_to_replace_1> <text_replacement_1>
hex-by-string <overlay_file_path> <text_to_replace_2> <text_replacement_2>
hex-by-string <overlay_file_path> <text_to_replace_3> <text_replacement_3>
hex-by-string <overlay_file_path> <text_to_replace_4> <text_replacement_4>
hex-by-string <overlay_file_path> <text_to_replace_5> <text_replacement_5>
...

But keep in mind that hexing does not change the size, so you might have issues if you try replacing shorter text with longer text.
got ya so i can simply just swap over to ultra hand from tesla with relative ease and i wont be missing anything i currently have instaled ?
 

OldGnashburg

Cobra Chicken Summoner
Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2017
Messages
524
Trophies
0
Location
Alberta, Canada
XP
3,055
Country
Canada
I'm trying to figure out how to setup commands to reboot into Lakka, Ubuntu & Android on an OLED.
The name of the .ini file in my bootloader/ini folder is accurate and case sensive but I just reboot to Hekate which autoboots to Atmosphere EmuNAND
This is what I got, based off the information I can find.

[Reboot to Android]
reboot ini android.ini

How do I get this to work?
 

ppkantorski

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 1, 2023
Messages
82
Trophies
0
XP
629
Country
United States
got ya so i can simply just swap over to ultra hand from tesla with relative ease and i wont be missing anything i currently have instaled ?
pretty much, yeah.

I'm trying to figure out how to setup commands to reboot into Lakka, Ubuntu & Android on an OLED.
The name of the .ini file in my bootloader/ini folder is accurate and case sensive but I just reboot to Hekate which autoboots to Atmosphere EmuNAND
This is what I got, based off the information I can find.

[Reboot to Android]
reboot ini android.ini

How do I get this to work?
It goes by the name of the entry in the .ini, so whatever you have your entry named as within android.ini.

Code:
reboot ini <NAME_OF_ENTRY>

or for duplicate entries

Code:
reboot ini <NAME_OF_ENTRY> <DUPLICATE_INDEX>

You can also add the entry directly into hekate_ipl.ini, then use the pre-loaded Reboot To command. (if missing, delete `/switch/.packages/package.ini`.)
 
Last edited by ppkantorski,

NotUsingAnAltAccount

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 7, 2023
Messages
86
Trophies
0
Age
54
XP
274
Country
Iceland
I could add in an option to rename overlays from within the `overlays.ini` file, then create a toggle for it, however the way it is constructed reads and displays the overlay name directly from the `.ovl` file.
This is the only thing that I'm missing. I really would like to rename all of them easily if it's possible. Pedants have such a difficult life, you have no idea :cry:
 

ppkantorski

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 1, 2023
Messages
82
Trophies
0
XP
629
Country
United States
This is the only thing that I'm missing. I really would like to rename all of them easily if it's possible. Pedants have such a difficult life, you have no idea :cry:
in 1.6.9 ive added `custom_name=` and `custom_version=` for renaming overlay / package entries within `/config/ultrahand/overlays.ini` and `/config/ultrahand/packages.ini`. This won't change the hard coded name on overlays, but users can use custom names for their displayed overlays / packages on the menu. It will however change the displayed name across the board for packages though. still working on a couple things before i release
 
Last edited by ppkantorski,

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Been just doing PS2 on PC and it looks pretty good
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Might even get some ps3 to work
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Ken I'm not sure the Pi5 can do justice to the PS2, Pi6 probably?
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Yea ps2 plays well on rp5, can confirm
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    No retroid pocket 5
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I haven't tried it yet
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Ahhhh lol
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Oh, this whole time thought you meant raspberry pi 5
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Me too lol
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Adreno 650 is like galaxy s6 specs?
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    But PS2 works on a Pi5? I use Batocera so that's also a factor. Wouldn't mind adding a hundred or PS2 games
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Early 2020 was 650 feels older
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    1050 equivalent
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Yea I've played lots of ps2 games on my pi5 8gb, they play well. I've never tried texture packs on it yet tho, may try for shits n giggles to see.
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    what you talking about now
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I have mine OCed to 2.6Ghz so that could help me
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I have my pi in an arcade cabinet, and the stick w buttons is kinda tough to play modern games, so mostly play arcade classics on it. Was thinking of buying another, but w dev mode on xbox, prob won't now.
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    imag0243-jpg.289459
    My cabinet I made, still need to paint/ finish it.
    +2
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Is it fireproof
    +2
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    On the third floor of a mall that I sometimes go to, there is an arcade room
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @BigOnYa, Wow, looks so cool. How long did it take you to build it, and what hardware did you use?
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    ok im too stupid to understand what you are talking about
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    It took a few days building, I use a pi5 w RetroPie frontend. Ipac2 for the stick/buttons controller board. Mousetrack ball is just a usb. 32" monitor. Fans, rgb, etc.
    +2
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I keep chewing on an idea.... Like patched ROMs for difficult to emulate systems, like part of the emulation has already been done. Almost a half step between decompiling and native.
    +1
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: I keep chewing on an idea.... Like patched ROMs for difficult to emulate systems, like part of... +1