Hacking Ultimately a bad hack?

MagnetMouse

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I'm sure this issue has been brought up on multiple occasions, but I can't seem to find a working solution.

To softmod my Wii (4.3U), I used Lego's Indiana Jones. Does this actually make a difference to any degree that I didn't use seemingly more common games such as Super Smash Bros. Brawl in the softmodding process?

Working backups that I've used include:

• New Super Mario Bros Wii.
  • Wii Play
Failed backups include:
  • Let's Tap
  • Donkey Kong Country Returns
  • Wii Party
  • WarioWare: Smooth Moves

I've even tried the custom "Mario Kart Black" mod to see if was just me and my discs.

Not sure if the problem lies within a possibility of bad dumps? I don't think so, for I have tried to rip said games at least three to four times each. IOSes, I've tried numerous. Now, I'm no pro when it comes to these things, so I could be going on about reconfiguring IOSes around incorrectly. Currently loaded on my Wii by default is IOS249 rev 20.

What could possibly be the source of these reoccurring issues? Would a complete restart of my Wii with an alternate resource result in a viable procedure?

MagnetMouse

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Also, I forgot to bring up that I have a Mac, but I do have Windows on it through the use of Parallels. Additionally, I use Wii Backup Manager (on the virtual machine) to transfer games between my computer and my 1TB Western Digital external hard drive. Recently I started to think that I need Windows Windows to properly do things - including running certain software that failed to run on the virtual machine - but who knows, really. Hopefully this works...

Thanks; will update this thread as soon as I can.

XFlak

Wiitired but still kicking
Trophies
Website
modmii.github.io
XP
Country
Cyprus
It makes no difference what game u use to install the HBC as long as in the end you get the HBC installed.