Uh....Rate my Wii? I have few questions...

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by kaizer3000, May 3, 2009.

May 3, 2009
  1. kaizer3000
    OP

    Member kaizer3000 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    156
    Country:
    Malaysia
    I recently got myself a Wii...dont know if it is modded or not...but it can run back up games via Homebrew Channel and SoftChipR83m Loader...so heres few questions I can think off....

    1. how do i check my Wii Firmware? If I update its firmware, will it affect the channel? (like the PSP where homebrews cant be used if i should try n update it?)

    2. can I play wifi games even though I'm using a back up game? Will my Wii get locked or something?

    3. is it safe for me to use the channels such as forecast channel/news channel etc? I'm afraid it'll affect my Wii (same as no.2)

    4. what sd card does it use?

    5. are there any cheats which i can use with Wii (something like gameshark or action replay?) if yes, how do i install it?

    thats all questions I can think of at the moment....
    forgive me for my bad english...
    and thanks in advance for your time. [​IMG]
     
  2. afif95

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Dude, you're in Malaysia?

    Anyway, sorry to say but, you should search first because most of your questions have been asked here.

    1. Go into the Settings and take a look on the top-right corner.

    2. Yep, you can

    3. Yes, it is safe to use. Even Wiiconnect24 is good to use.

    4. On firmware 4.0, it supports SDHC, but on firmware 3.X, it only supports normal SD Card. But homebrew channel, with the latest version, it supports SDHC.

    5. Yep, google Ocarina.
     
  3. kaizer3000
    OP

    Member kaizer3000 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    156
    Country:
    Malaysia
    6. Oh ya, I got myself 2 samples of back up copy to try my homebrew channels out...one is Dragon Quest:Sword and the other is DragonBallZ Tenkaichi3 and I noticed whenever a movie clip is played, it lags...issit becoz of the homebrew? or the disk? but other wise the game is fine...

    again, thanks for your time... [​IMG]
     
  4. afif95

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    6. Game lags? Do you have a modchip or not (Malaysian-sold Wiis tend to have modchips)?

    Yes = Oh my, I think your Wii is broken, send it back to the reseller. Because with modchip, backups read at 6x, the normal speed.

    No = That's a normal problem. Backups read at 3x.
     
  5. kaizer3000
    OP

    Member kaizer3000 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    156
    Country:
    Malaysia
    wow... a malaysian buddy!!
    hey, do u mind if i ask for your msn or contact or something so we can discuss it more easier?

    no idea if my wii have a modchip or not...the seller...i usually dont trust them anyways...they'll say whatever needed so u need to return there and buy accessories...

    anyway, I only tried these 2 back ups and they lagged but only during playing movies...the game has no lags whatsoever...

    oh ya, also tried mario vs sonic beijing olympics...when movie is played, no lags...the game is perfect.
     
  6. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    I'm sure there's no modchip in there. It's much cheaper just to softmod a Wii than to install a modchip.

    If you want cheats, get Gamma.
     
  7. olliepop2000

    Member olliepop2000 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    457
    Location:
    North West UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Modchips enable full speed 6x reading on dvd-r whereas softchip modding is only 3x read (which is most noticable in movies). You would be better getting a modchip or research the USB Loader option and do that instead.
     

Share This Page