?
  1. Just finish it already!

    41.7%
  2. Keep redshift and rtcom only, rest goes to DS side

    8.3%
  3. Just make the exe patcher work on the 3DS, the rest is fine DS-side

    50.0%
  1. Sono

    OP Sono Modern slave
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    1,934
    Country:
    Hungary
    That's Luma's fault for only loading files from the boot source, and not from SD. Maybe an option to "allow loading from SD" in CTRNAND mode would be useful, but checking the code, I don't think it would be easily done without a rework on how the filesystem code works. Perhaps double-checking if it doesn't exist on CTRNAND then try on SD, but that sounds like hassle.
     
    Robz8 likes this.
  2. Raylight

    Raylight Paranoid Temper
    Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,083
    Country:
    United States
    couldnt you just move the cxi and luma folder into the same place as lumas config in CTR?
     
  3. deisuke1234

    deisuke1234 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    @Sono hi I have a question how do I create my custom filter. The one that I want to make is a mix between your sharpen test 1 with a color boost.
     
  4. Sono

    OP Sono Modern slave
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    1,934
    Country:
    Hungary
    No, sorry.

    It was planned for the original patcher, but due to how slow I am, I didn't have enough time to do it yet. It'll be most likely included in the next version of the patcher, along with some other goodies.
     
    Nutez and Robz8 like this.
  5. Slasher115

    Slasher115 Shizuo Heiwajima
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    964
    Country:
    So the patcher patches the internal TWL file or does it output a cxi to a folder?
     
  6. Robz8

    Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    11,847
    Country:
    United States
    It outputs the cxi to "sdmc:/luma/sysmodules".
     
    Slasher115 likes this.
  7. Oak

    Oak GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    Messages:
    169
    Country:
    United States
    tried the original patch with soul silver. dont like it. these are all welcome additions for those who need them. they might play better with other titles.
     
    Robz8 likes this.
  8. Nimrod-002

    Nimrod-002 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    316
    Country:
    Morocco
    is there a way to use this along with the higher sound frequency mode and higher cpu clock eluded to by a previous reply
     
  9. Robz8

    Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    11,847
    Country:
    United States
    You already can, with TWiLight Menu++.
    You can enable those settings in TWLMenu++ settings.
     
  10. Nimrod-002

    Nimrod-002 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    316
    Country:
    Morocco
    but i use an R4 flashcart to launch games
     
  11. Robz8

    Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    11,847
    Country:
    United States
    You can launch your R4 flashcard from TWiLight Menu++, so the higher sound frequency will be used.
     
    Nimrod-002 likes this.
  12. Nimrod-002

    Nimrod-002 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    316
    Country:
    Morocco
    the process seems daunting, i will try it later, in the mean time is there a luma patch just for the audio freq
     
  13. Robz8

    Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    11,847
    Country:
    United States
    Nope, there isn't. An app running in DS/DSi mode (TWLMenu++, for example) has to enable the higher sound frequency.
     
  14. Dartz150

    Dartz150 Hat Gurl Official Fan™
    Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,841
    Country:
    Mexico
    Is quite easy actually, one only needs to read the instructions carefully and follow them along.
     
  15. Sono

    OP Sono Modern slave
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    1,934
    Country:
    Hungary
    Well uh... I have good and bad news.

    The good news is that the 384x240 mode works... kinda.
    That's the bad news. I have to patch the OpenGL driver, AND the matrix unit driver, otherwise the 384x240 will be scaled back to 320x240 by the PICA GPU (which btw looks REALLY nice because it's not blurry, other than Mario being a bit squished thin), OR the screen glitches out and flickers like crazy, without actually being stretched to 384px.

    I'm trying my best to make the patch as cleanly as possible, but the more I look, the more it seems like I have to make compromises by either slowing the FPS down to 30FPS (the game is unaffected), or the game will slow down due to the RAM bandwidth being strained.

    I want to hear opinions, because I'm curious what y'all think about these compromises.

    Edit: accidently discovered a screen swap patch
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2019
    KyleHyde, Nutez, Robz8 and 4 others like this.
  16. ElderC

    ElderC Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Chile
    If you say it looks really nice then I would leave it at that rather than taking compromises. This would be one of those things that runs worse on the o3ds right?
     
  17. Sono

    OP Sono Modern slave
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    1,934
    Country:
    Hungary
    Nope, it runs at 30FPS due to hardware timings, and not because of CPU strain. The ARM11 is just there to synchronize the hardware together, the rest of the work is done by the DS hardware embedded into the SoC.
     
    Dartz150 and ElderC like this.
  18. emcintosh

    emcintosh Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have never had a problem with games running at 30 FPS. It seems an acceptable compromise for using almost the entire screen. I would be interested in using, or at least trying, such a patch, if you have the time/energy to make it.

    Thank you for all your work on this.

     
    Sono likes this.
  19. Vague Rant

    Vague Rant Deceptively cute
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,240
    Country:
    Sorry to be a downer, but personally I'd very much prefer to just play games in 4:3 than compromise their performance for a tiny bit of extra width. I don't think either compromise would be enjoyable on my end.
     
    Vulpes-Vulpeos, Sono and Raylight like this.
  20. Sono

    OP Sono Modern slave
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    1,934
    Country:
    Hungary
    The game slowdown is only noticable on heavy games; stuff like Mario64DS is unaffected.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - TWPatcher, filters, patches