TWLoader - CTR-mode NDS app

Discussion in '3DS - Homebrew Development and Emulators' started by Robz8, Nov 11, 2016.

  1. kvnxp

    kvnxp Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Mar 2, 2018
    Colombia
    I have found the problem TWL_firm is damaged. I can not execute the DS download mode. also DS wifi connection.. when i run this app, the 3DS restart to home screen


    sorry for my english ..
     
  2. Nomelas

    Nomelas GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    307
    95
    May 6, 2015
    Canada
    kvnxp likes this.
  3. kvnxp

    kvnxp Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Mar 2, 2018
    Colombia
  4. spanner

    spanner Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    66
    1
    Jan 25, 2008
    Has anyone got a pack for the Acekard 2i,cause this did work with it before SRLoader came along,I ask cause SRLoader don't work on my Acekard 2i,It is original,I used it to install CFW on my 3DS and 2DS,I use my Acekard 2i in my DSiXL Super Mario Bros 25th Anniversary Edition...?
     
  5. Robz8
    OP

    Robz8 Coolest of TWL

    Member
    7,686
    3,310
    Oct 1, 2010
    United States
    It no longer works with Acekard 2i, because the Add Games menu on ak2i shows the directory contents on the SD card instead of the flashcard.
     
  6. Steel-Winged_Pegasus

    Steel-Winged_Pegasus Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    1
    Mar 2, 2018
    United States
    I've been looking around the past few days, but haven't found an answer, so I'll ask here. For some reason, whenever I try to do the L+R+Down+B button combo to soft reset into the game selection screen, it doesn't go back to the game selection screen. It actually doesn't even boot me out back into the 3DS home screen. Instead, it crashes the New 3DS system and I'd have to reboot it again.

    Used the old DS button combo (L+R+Start+Select), made the NES emulator wig out and I have to close the application, but no crash happened. Using a CIA build on a New 3DS system, using Luma3DS CFW. Everything else works perfectly, though a ROM of Fire Emblem: New Mystery of the Emblem didn't work (could be because I had an English fan translation patch on it, due to never being released in the USA), so I'll try a clean ROM and patch that tomorrow, if I can remember.

    If OP needs it, i can replicate the crash and send in the crash report tomorrow.
     
  7. Robz8
    OP

    Robz8 Coolest of TWL

    Member
    7,686
    3,310
    Oct 1, 2010
    United States
    The English ROM actually works. If other DS ROMs work, make sure your ROM isn't corrupted.
     
  8. Nomelas

    Nomelas GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    307
    95
    May 6, 2015
    Canada

    Actually, L+R+Down+B used to crash me, now it does nothing :(

    L+R+Start+Select goes to white screen when loading games from SD, while loading from flashcart, it makes the rom reset.

    Fire Emblem is SDK5, so that's likely why (it has AP) - I think you need a donor cart

    EDIT: Fire Emblem actually loads just fine for me. Though I haven't tried past the main menu
     
    Last edited by Nomelas, Mar 7, 2018
  9. anotherperson

    anotherperson Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    2
    Nov 23, 2017
    Guatemala
    it was fault of yakara :0
     
  10. Steel-Winged_Pegasus

    Steel-Winged_Pegasus Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    1
    Mar 2, 2018
    United States
    Yeah, I have Mario Kart DS set as a donor cart, so I didn't think that was part of the problem. Can confirm that Fire Emblem: Shadow Dragon worked fine for me, just that the Japan exclusive New Mystery of the Emblem went to a white screen, but since it worked for the OP, it could be that my particular NMotE ROM was just corrupted.

    So the real question: is there no way to make the soft reset work? :( Ultimately, it's not a dealbreaker for me, I'll still use TWLoader since it's a nice way for me to have all my NDS games on the SD without having to bring extra carts with me on road trips, and it runs really well, so the soft reset isn't even that big a deal to me, since it takes like 2 seconds to close and reopen the app.
     
  11. Robz8
    OP

    Robz8 Coolest of TWL

    Member
    7,686
    3,310
    Oct 1, 2010
    United States
    There's a difference between donor CART and donor ROM.
    A donor cart is where you put a DS game with the same save chip as the ROM you're playing, in the card slot.
    A donor ROM is where the ROM you're running has it's arm7 binary replaced with the donor's, so it can save to the SD card, though it causes problems with some SDK4 games, such as the game being locked in sleep mode.
    Can't fix something that isn't broken for me. :P
     
    Last edited by Robz8, Mar 8, 2018
  12. Bonestorm

    Bonestorm Banned

    Banned
    541
    206
    Jan 15, 2017
    Canada
    Midgar, Sector 5
    can you launch heart gold yet?
     
  13. Steel-Winged_Pegasus

    Steel-Winged_Pegasus Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    1
    Mar 2, 2018
    United States
    Ah, got it, I misread what they said, then. Not sure how I missed that right in the OP that says I need a donor cart. :P

    After reading up on it, the save type of the donor cart needs to be the same as the one I wanna play, right? How does one (like me) know if the donor cart has the same save type? I do have a DSi-enhanced game cart or two lying around that I could borrow from my niece from time to time, but I doubt it's a guarantee of having the same save type... Sorry for the noob questions, I didn't think it'd get as deep as this to get one game working for me, but I am that determined to get it up and running.
     
  14. cephalonsipps

    cephalonsipps Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Feb 26, 2018
    United States
    HeartGold works but it lags sometimes
     
  15. Robz8
    OP

    Robz8 Coolest of TWL

    Member
    7,686
    3,310
    Oct 1, 2010
    United States
    Check for what save chip one of your games has, at http://www.advanscene.com/.
     
  16. aGen4er

    aGen4er Member

    Newcomer
    15
    0
    Oct 18, 2017
    Greece
    Hello is there any way to load my pokemon pearl save file in twloader i have downloaded pokemon pearl rom but the game always starts from scratch my catridge is almost destroyed that why i want to save my save file from being completely lost
     
  17. Robz8
    OP

    Robz8 Coolest of TWL

    Member
    7,686
    3,310
    Oct 1, 2010
    United States
    Place the save file in the same location as the ROMs, and name it the same filename as the .nds file, but with ".sav" instead of ".nds".
     
  18. YTElias

    YTElias Ashley

    Member
    968
    295
    Aug 23, 2017
    Germany
    Germany
    Wanted to play ghost trick
    All i get is a white screen and after a minute its just black
    To be clear i installed twloader with fbi and the rom that i have is working on the PC
     
  19. TiagoS10

    TiagoS10 Member

    Newcomer
    46
    1
    Jul 14, 2017
    Portugal
    How do I make chrono trigger work at startup, does an error appear?
     
  20. cephalonsipps

    cephalonsipps Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Feb 26, 2018
    United States
    I was reading on a different page on the red screen with dots. This mostly happens when I play pkmn hg after doing 3 actions. Should I use an older version of nds-bootstrap and wait for a newer version comes out or just deal with it lol.
     
Loading...