Homebrew Twilight Menu white and black screen

monokin1114

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 21, 2019
Messages
46
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
524
Country
Canada
Hello! I was hoping someone would be able to help me with a problem I am having.
Ive looked all over but can not find a solution to my problem.

I am using the newest twilight menu and the newest HiyaCFW, and when I launch a ds rom I just get a black top screen and a white bottom screen.
I have checked that the roms I am trying to run are compatible.

Thanks for your help!
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
14,473
Trophies
3
Age
51
Location
Austria
XP
2,240
Country
Austria
Hello! I was hoping someone would be able to help me with a problem I am having.
Ive looked all over but can not find a solution to my problem.

I am using the newest twilight menu and the newest HiyaCFW, and when I launch a ds rom I just get a black top screen and a white bottom screen.
I have checked that the roms I am trying to run are compatible.

Thanks for your help!

Hello.:)

I am sorry to hear about your Issues.
Can you please tell us which Games you have tried ?
Please can you also confirm your TWilight Menu Version is v14.2.0 and the nds-bootstrap Version v0.34.0.

Thank you.:)
 
Last edited by Alexander1970,

monokin1114

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 21, 2019
Messages
46
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
524
Country
Canada
I am using those versions. And I've tried every Pokemon game, harvest moon game, Digimon game, and animal crossing and they are all doing the same thing sadly. I've also tried different SD cards aswell as reformating then
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

monokin1114

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 21, 2019
Messages
46
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
524
Country
Canada
Run the games in DS mode, instead of DSi mode.
I thought of that. So I set it to that and only some of them seem to be working. A few Pokemon titles and Mario ones. But others aren't. And I did check the compatibility list and they seem to all be working. Also thanks for your help :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: banjo2

RocketRobz

Stylish TWiLight Hero
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
15,207
Trophies
2
Age
23
XP
17,857
Country
United States
I thought of that. So I set it to that and only some of them seem to be working. A few Pokemon titles and Mario ones. But others aren't. And I did check the compatibility list and they seem to all be working. Also thanks for your help :)
Which ones are aren't working?
 
  • Like
Reactions: banjo2

CougarAlone

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 29, 2021
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
15
Country
Malaysia
Sounds to me like the ROMs are corrupted. Those work fine for other users.
Try replacing the ROMs.
I've tried all the Harvest Moon DS and Cute roms I could find but all of them did not work. The World Ends With You and 2 of the DS Fire Emblem Games work but not Harvest Moons. Harvest Moon shows white screens for both screens
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Next gen will probably be all portable
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Some things (like Super Famicom games) just feel right when you play them using the original hardware and a CRT
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    The PS tablet
    Gift
  • mthrnite tempBOT: @ mthrnite
    switches the box from tv to game
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Not so sure about that - the tendency for "graphics uber alles" tends to lead to very high power consumption
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    If you look at what's now portability graphics are catching up to console quality
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Nintendy is a huge example of not everyone caring about powerful specs most that do will be hardcore PC players anyway
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    The thing is that the IATA rules impose a pretty hard limit of 100Wh on battery sizes for lithium batteries - and it doesn't look like Li is going away soon
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    So if you want (say) 4 hours of runtime you need a maximum system-level power consumption of 25W
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Yeah but we already have AAA titles looking fine on tablet form 1080p displays
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Human eye can only tell so much of a difference
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    For reference, the PS5 is rated at 350W and the Xbox series X at 275W - and that's console only, without any display
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    But the future always holds performance never know what the aliens will donate from their left over tech
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Maybe :) - but batteries have turned out to be a pretty hard problem
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Like I said most that will truly care will already be hard core gaming pcers
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    And DF subscribers :)
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    I bet you could find a neighbor with a ps5 and they'd have no idea what the word spec means
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Yeah probably - people on forums seem to care a lot, but they are heavily self-selected
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Most on forums try to get a good learning of actual tech
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    Papaya, so good
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Only 13 more titles to go on ps3 yay
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    I still have a remnant of the taste of the papaya
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    @KenniesNewName June will come sooner than the end of that process
    Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    PS3 had horrible speeds off the drive
    Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I always wondered why, but I am pretty sure it was trying to reduce costs
    Gift
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: I always wondered why, but I am pretty sure it was trying to reduce costs