TV over Monitor?

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware, Devices and Accessories' started by LegendAssassinF, Jul 18, 2013.

1. LegendAssassinF
    OP

LegendAssassinF GBAtemp Advanced Fan

Dec 12, 2012
    United States
    Princeton, New Jersey
    I wanted to know if there was a big difference? I'm a college student and most cheap monitors don't have TV Tuners so i wanted to know if it would be a huge problem to have a TV with DVI and just use that for my dorm room?

2. trumpet-205

trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

Jan 14, 2009
    United States
    Wouldn't it be better if you to just get a TV tuner (USB for laptop and PCIe for desktop)?

3. LegendAssassinF
    OP

Dec 12, 2012
    United States
    Princeton, New Jersey
    Yeah but that is extra money I rather not spend. I just want to know the difference if it is really a big deal. I could easily buy a 21 inch TV for the same price as a 21 inch Monitor but with the monitor I would need to drop another 50-100$ for the TV Tuner.

4. Sop

Sop groovy dude lmao

Banned
    Nov 14, 2010
    qld
    Yes, but are you going to get a 1080P TV for that price?

5. trumpet-205

Jan 14, 2009
    United States
    Do you know the highest resolution supported by TV? 720p or 1080p?

For TV, since you are stuck with these two resolutions, it can get "blocky" when viewed in close distance (web browsing, productivity, etc).

6. LegendAssassinF
    OP

Dec 12, 2012
    United States
    Princeton, New Jersey

The TV i was looking at was THIS ... Yes I've played SC2 on my home tv before and didn't notice any problems with it. If you look at Newegg any 24 inch Monitor they are around the same price as the TV depending on brand.

7. Duo8

Duo8 I don't like video games

Jul 16, 2013
    You can get a full hd tv and use it as monitor. If you use hdmi it also save you speakers. However picture might be a bit blurry (don't know why, this happened to me even when I set res to 1080p).

8. LegendAssassinF
    OP

Dec 12, 2012