TV output on psp slim

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by n3rd, Jun 5, 2008.

Jun 5, 2008

TV output on psp slim by n3rd at 3:45 PM (1,317 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. n3rd
    OP

    Newcomer n3rd Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    Belgium
    Can I play on a TV with the video output of the pspslim or is only for watching divx ?

    [​IMG]


    big thx
     
  2. thieves like us

    Member thieves like us chaos personified

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,057
    Location:
    left of the pond
    Country:
    United States
    you will need the component set (5 rca-ended cables [red,green,blue,red,white]) in order to view games on your television (and of course a television that supports component input).

    the s-video set will allow you to view umd movies and display photos, but will not transfer the game signal to the television.

    this was a poor decision in my opinion and what that is not clearly spelled out on the packaging for the cables.
     
  3. SchuchWun

    Member SchuchWun GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    The Burbs
    Country:
    Canada
    That is completely lame... Just another way for Sony to milk you... buy aftermarket so you won't help Fony make more money on useless crap...
     
  4. SavageWaffle

    Member SavageWaffle GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,123
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    It wont be full screen though!
     
  5. IBNobody

    Member IBNobody I try to keep myself amused.

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,127
    Location:
    Texas, Hang 'Em High
    Country:
    United States
    As was stated, you need the component cable. If you own a slim with CFW, you can use a homebrew called FuSa (google it) to play games over the composite / s-video cables.

    Honestly, though, the whole thing is a pain in the ass. The cable is too short. If you own a large screen TV, you have to stand in front of the TV in order for the stock component cable to reach.

    A better solution is to play your PSP using RemoteJoy. A good build of that plug in is included in the Custom Firmware Extender v2.2 (CFE, google it). This lets you beam your PSP screen to your PC using a USB connection. It also lets you hook up a joystick to your PC and use it to control the PSP.
     
  6. altorn

    Member altorn GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    although remotejoy isnt working on the CFE2.2...
    It took me a while installing that pain... Liking it though, playing it on widescreen laptop!
     
  7. IBNobody

    Member IBNobody I try to keep myself amused.

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,127
    Location:
    Texas, Hang 'Em High
    Country:
    United States
    I had it working. What game was it failing on?
     
  8. n3rd
    OP

    Newcomer n3rd Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    Belgium
    k big thx @all [​IMG]

    thieves like us Can you put me a link on the coponement set cable ?

    result is fine or not ? I read the review of PSP2TV on maxconsole and if the result seem like that I will continue playing on the little screen [​IMG]
     
  9. Opium

    Former Staff Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,185
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    I'd never used remotejoy before. I just got it working on my slim with M33 3.90-3 using this guide. Very cool app.
     
  10. IBNobody

    Member IBNobody I try to keep myself amused.

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,127
    Location:
    Texas, Hang 'Em High
    Country:
    United States
    I don't recommend the stand-alone versions of RemoteJoy (RJ). It has a bug that causes the PSP to freeze up if the PSP tries to access save data while video is enabled in RJ.

    The versions of RJ included in CFE 2.2 and IRShell do not have this limitation.

    CFE 2.2 RJ does not work with Valkyrie Pofile: Lenneth, but I have had it work with other games like flOw, Disgaea, and Ace Combat.
     

Share This Page