Tutorial [Tutorial] Using "smashhax" with Linux

Phanox

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2009
Messages
427
Trophies
0
Age
37
Location
Bogotá
Website
twitch.tv
XP
293
Country
Colombia
The aircrack seems to work fine on my dad's laptop, but I get this error everytime and I tried a lot with the infinite demo. I give up then, I shouldn't have updated and I won't buy a game just to get a hax working. Thanks everyone for your help. :(
 

Attachments

  • DSC_0044.JPG
    DSC_0044.JPG
    1.7 MB · Views: 600

Cydget

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2015
Messages
493
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
240
Country
United States
The aircrack seems to work fine on my dad's laptop, but I get this error everytime and I tried a lot with the infinite demo. I give up then, I shouldn't have updated and I won't buy a game just to get a hax working. Thanks everyone for your help. :(
The smash demo does not have access to the SD card, so It wont load the smashpayload.bin The work around yellows8 made was to have it so you compile the pcap yourself and have it point to the payload online.
 

Phanox

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2009
Messages
427
Trophies
0
Age
37
Location
Bogotá
Website
twitch.tv
XP
293
Country
Colombia
The smash demo does not have access to the SD card, so It wont load the smashpayload.bin The work around yellows8 made was to have it so you compile the pcap yourself and have it point to the payload online.

Sorry for this, I don't have any clue for that. I barely managed to use ubuntu with all that stuff, how can I do that?
 

Cydget

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2015
Messages
493
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
240
Country
United States
Sorry for this, I don't have any clue for that. I barely managed to use ubuntu with all that stuff, how can I do that?
Im still working on it myself. Once I get it down, Ill make a tutorial or another script to make it easier for others.

EDIT: So, it seems that im not the only one having trouble with the compiled demo pcap. We will probably need to wait until yellows8 updated the git or smea updates the payload. Im not sure witch one is causing the problem.
 
Last edited by Cydget,

difool.

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jul 22, 2010
Messages
4
Trophies
0
XP
121
Country
France
I have a "New10.2.0.28EU" 3DS.
Smashhax don't work for me with the original cartridge "version 1.1.0"
After apply the last update, work great every times.
 

Phanox

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2009
Messages
427
Trophies
0
Age
37
Location
Bogotá
Website
twitch.tv
XP
293
Country
Colombia
I got for a day a Smash Bros cart thanks to a friend and it worked flawlessly with v 1.1.2!!! I used:

  • New 3DS XL with fw. 10.2.0-28 U
  • Super Smash Bros cart, with 1.1.2. update.
  • Mac Pro (Early 2008) OSX Yosemite, with VMware Fusion and Ubuntu 15.10 installed on a Virtual Image.
  • This wireless USB Antenna: TP-Link TL-WN722N. After some research looking for modern usb sticks compatible with aircrack-ng, I found that this one has the Atheros AR9271 chipset, one of those that work with that tool and is cheap. You can get it on http://www.amazon.com/TP-LINK-TL-WN722N-Wireless-Adapter-External/dp/B002SZEOLG

When I get home, I'll test it on Windows 10 and install IronHax and OoThax in the process, but I think that I won't have trouble with it. Also, when the demo pcap gets updated, I'll test it gladly.

EDIT 1: Tested on Windows 10, VMware Workstation 12, same usb wifi antenna. It worked without any problems.
 
Last edited by Phanox,

Favna

#PCMasterRace
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
863
Trophies
0
Website
twitter.com
XP
785
Country
Netherlands
About that demo pcap - Cydget and myself (mainly Cydget till now) have been cracking at it and we DID get it to load the ropbin (that screen where on top it says *hax 2.5 blahblah smealum blahblah), however, afterwards it just gives this: (in a spoiler because it's a huge image)

a7ee411f118620a7622243c1b112c434.jpg
 

Qbe Root

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 2, 2015
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
22
Country
France
Is there any way to pull off this hax with another MAC address? Aireplay will only use my interface’s MAC address, and I can’t set it to something invalid…
 

ihaveahax

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2015
Messages
5,986
Trophies
2
XP
6,895
Country
United States
Is there any way to pull off this hax with another MAC address? Aireplay will only use my interface’s MAC address, and I can’t set it to something invalid…
this is why you're supposed to download the aircrack source, apply the .patch, build it, and use the built version. I explain it in the tutorial. if something is not making sense then feel free to ask.
 

Qbe Root

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 2, 2015
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
22
Country
France
That’s exactly what I’ve done, but the patched aireplay won’t let me specify another address…

Capture du 2015-11-05 20:45:09.png
 

ihaveahax

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2015
Messages
5,986
Trophies
2
XP
6,895
Country
United States
That’s exactly what I’ve done, but the patched aireplay won’t let me specify another address…

righto, two things
  • you can't use the prebuilt demo .pcap since the SSB4 demo doesn't have SD card access. if you want to get aireplay-ng working first, that's fine.
  • if you would like, I can give you my compiled version to see what the actual problem may be
 

Qbe Root

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 2, 2015
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
22
Country
France
This is a .pcap I built with PAYLOADURL, so it should work. ;-) I’d like your compiled version, though, thanks!
 

Qbe Root

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 2, 2015
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
22
Country
France
Your compiled version doesn’t work any better than mine, but the prebuilt pcap seems to work. It still shows the same warning, but starts sending packets anyway. I’ll build another pcap for the demo or borrow the actual game, then… Thanks a lot for the help!
 
  • Like
Reactions: ihaveahax

Favna

#PCMasterRace
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
863
Trophies
0
Website
twitter.com
XP
785
Country
Netherlands
For the demo issue follow this issue on yellows8 github started by @Cydget. I'm personally also following it because initially I was trying to figure it out as well.. sorta anyway. As of yesterday I have managed to get oot3dhax installed on my n3ds again with the use of a cartridge of a friend so i'm only following it for the sake of knowing now.

Edit: Derp i forgot the link: https://github.com/yellows8/3ds_smashbroshax/issues/2
 
  • Like
Reactions: Qbe Root

Cydget

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2015
Messages
493
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
240
Country
United States
Your compiled version doesn’t work any better than mine, but the prebuilt pcap seems to work. It still shows the same warning, but starts sending packets anyway. I’ll build another pcap for the demo or borrow the actual game, then… Thanks a lot for the help!
The reason your compiled pcap doesnt work is because the url you used was too long. Try using something that is only around 25 characters long(including http). Also, the demo does not work even after this because when loading the payload through http something with the cache messes up the loading. Check out there issue on git hub for more info.
 

srick7583

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 7, 2015
Messages
29
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
40
Country
United States
I keep getting this stupid message while trying to use the EZ smashhax. Don't know what to do because I'm not too familiar with Linux, but I'm using Ubuntu 14.04. Just trying to get homebrew back on my 10.2 3ds has been a nightmare
 

Attachments

  • image.png
    image.png
    63.6 KB · Views: 413
Last edited by srick7583,

Destroxz

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 7, 2015
Messages
19
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
23
Country
I did every step in the smashaxez video, but when I reach the step where I choose my usb adapter it says sysinjection failed try to run airmon-ng start wlan0, and when I run that command and try again I still get the same problem please help! :(

Edit: what I get after I choose my adapter: Error for wireless request ''Set Mode'' (8B06) :
SET failed on device wlan0 ; Invalid argument.

After that it lets me choose the version, I proceed to choose the version and then the following message appears: ioctl (SIOCSIWMODE) failed: Invalid argument ARP linktypeis set to 1 (Ethernet) - expected ARPHRD_IEEE80211, ARPHRD_IEEE80211_FULL or ARPHRD_IEEE80211_PRISM instead. Make sure RFMON is enabled: run 'airmon-ng start wlan0 <#>' Sysfsinjection support was not found either.

I am using a TP-Link TL-WN725N usb network adapter. I am also using Kali Linux 2.0 64bit on virtualbox.

Edit 2: when I use ifconfig my wlan0 (usb adapter) is detected as ethernet I don't know why.
 
Last edited by Destroxz,

Phanox

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2009
Messages
427
Trophies
0
Age
37
Location
Bogotá
Website
twitch.tv
XP
293
Country
Colombia
I did every step in the smashaxez video, but when I reach the step where I choose my usb adapter it says sysinjection failed try to run airmon-ng start wlan0, and when I run that command and try again I still get the same problem please help! :(

Edit: what I get after I choose my adapter: Error for wireless request ''Set Mode'' (8B06) :
SET failed on device wlan0 ; Invalid argument.

After that it lets me choose the version, I proceed to choose the version and then the following message appears: ioctl (SIOCSIWMODE) failed: Invalid argument ARP linktypeis set to 1 (Ethernet) - expected ARPHRD_IEEE80211, ARPHRD_IEEE80211_FULL or ARPHRD_IEEE80211_PRISM instead. Make sure RFMON is enabled: run 'airmon-ng start wlan0 <#>' Sysfsinjection support was not found either.

I am using a TP-Link TL-WN725N usb network adapter. I am also using Kali Linux 2.0 64bit on virtualbox.

Edit 2: when I use ifconfig my wlan0 (usb adapter) is detected as ethernet I don't know why.

When I was looking for usb wifi adapters, I was planning on buying that one until I found in aircrack forums and reddit, that the adapter doesn't support monitor mode and that's a problem getting the beaconhax on.
https://forum.aircrack-ng.org/index.php?topic=641.0
https://www.reddit.com/r/hacking/comments/2rzo86/aircrack_and_tplink_tlwn725n/

I don't know if that's true or not, but I started having doubts of buying that adapter, so I bought the TP-LINK TL-WN722N (which it worked), shown on this list: http://www.wirelesshack.org/top-wardriving-usb-adapters.html
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    DEMONGreninjaPG @ DEMONGreninjaPG: dammit