Tutorial [Tutorial] Using "smashhax" with Linux

D

Deleted User

Guest
On windows i get stuck on step 4 at the github page. Can someone make a windows tutorial?
 

cultopi

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2015
Messages
278
Trophies
0
XP
248
Country
United States
yeah, which was shown in a video I made (don't think I linked to it in the post).
got this working with linksys WUSB54GC v1 usb adapter (had to dig deep in my storage room). For a full list of wifi adapters that have a better chance with smashhax, visit http://www.aircrack-ng.org/doku.php?id=compatibility_drivers
Confirmed 9.1J working but not my 8.1J (was hoping it would). I really hate this method, avoid this method if you have other choices.
 

ihaveahax

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2015
Messages
5,986
Trophies
2
XP
6,899
Country
United States
got this working with linksys WUSB54GC v1 usb adapter (had to dig deep in my storage room). For a full list of wifi adapters that have a better chance with smashhax, visit http://www.aircrack-ng.org/doku.php?id=compatibility_drivers
Confirmed 9.1J working but not my 8.1J (was hoping it would). I really hate this method, avoid this method if you have other choices.
This is based on Ninjhax 2, which only works on 9.0+ unfortunately. smashhax is more like a proof of concept, but I know curious people wanted to do it, so I made this tutorial.
 

Favna

#PCMasterRace
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
863
Trophies
0
Website
twitter.com
XP
785
Country
Netherlands
well a friend will be lending him his physical ocarina of time on which i can install oot3dhax using ironhax on my o3ds (that is still on 9.9)... after which I can use that to install oot3dhax on my eshop version of ocarina of time on my new3ds so I guess i'm all good and i'll be leaving smashhax for what it is :\
 

difool.

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jul 22, 2010
Messages
4
Trophies
0
XP
121
Country
France
Better work with this command line:
sudo ifconfig wireless_interface down
sudo iwconfig wireless_interface mode monitor
sudo ifconfig wireless_interface up
sudo iwconfig wireless_interface channel 6 #This line
 
Last edited by difool.,

LordDaemon

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 16, 2015
Messages
49
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
58
Country
Cote d'Ivoire
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN mode DEFAULT group default
link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
2: enp0s3: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast state UP mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1000
link/ether 08:00:27:8f:e1:8b brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
:(
 

ihaveahax

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2015
Messages
5,986
Trophies
2
XP
6,899
Country
United States
sudo iwconfig wireless_interface channel 6 #This line
I might add this to the post soon, but what does it do?
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN mode DEFAULT group default
link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
2: enp0s3: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast state UP mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1000
link/ether 08:00:27:8f:e1:8b brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
:(
what is going on?
 

coreycubed

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 28, 2009
Messages
48
Trophies
0
XP
216
Country
United States
With browserhax closing today, figured I'd give this a shot. Ran into the same issue as Favna with the first wireless card I tried, but found success with another. However, I'm still not able to trigger smashbroshax.

Console: N3DS running 10.1.0-27U
Using the Smash Bros. 3DS demo with smashbros_usademo_beaconhax.pcap. I downloaded N3DS_U_21504_usa_9221.bin from the Homebrew Launcher page by inputting 10.1.0-27U and selecting otherapp. It's on the root of my SD card as smashpayload.bin along with the 2.5 hax payload.

When I eventually get the payload to work, it just says "An error has occurred, forcing the software to close. The system will now restart." then reboots to the Home Menu. Doesn't look like it's about to trigger anything else. Any tips would be appreciated. I'll try to update this post with more details if I find out anything else.

Edit: In case someone else stumbles across this post looking for a workaround - browserhax reportedly still works on 10.1 for N3DS ONLY, but you need to change your DNS to 107.211.140.165 and 107.211.140.065 first. Power down your 3DS and then power it back on and IMMEDIATELY go to the browser. Browserhax should trigger and you can install themehax with the 2.5 payload. Then you can forget about browserhax :)
 
Last edited by coreycubed,

ihaveahax

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2015
Messages
5,986
Trophies
2
XP
6,899
Country
United States
When I eventually get the payload to work, it just says "The application has encountered an error and needs to close" then returns to the Home Menu. Doesn't look like it's about to trigger anything else. Any tips would be appreciated. I'll try to update this post with more details if I find out anything else.
This is expected honestly. The hax is not that reliable. I managed to get it working once using the same setup and all. If you get it working, though, it would be nice if you told us. :)
 

coreycubed

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 28, 2009
Messages
48
Trophies
0
XP
216
Country
United States
This is expected honestly. The hax is not that reliable. I managed to get it working once using the same setup and all. If you get it working, though, it would be nice if you told us. :)

Hey, I can try this a couple dozen times if that's what it takes. I did just now set my channel to 6 which helped trigger the payload a lot faster, from what I could tell.

Edit: Been trying this all evening and so far no luck :(
 
Last edited by coreycubed,

Acryt

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2015
Messages
310
Trophies
0
XP
149
Country
United States
I've also got it triggering the payload within seconds, but it just freezes up. Tried like 15 times. Heh. Dunno if it will ever even work. Took a lot of time setting up with Ubuntu to do this..

Crappy thing is all it will take is once is to get themehax on it and never have to do it again, but its not cooperating..

Tried an hour straight. Nothing, never once loaded correctly. Had the payload distorting the screen and such nearly instantly everytime, but nada.
 
Last edited by Acryt,

difool.

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jul 22, 2010
Messages
4
Trophies
0
XP
121
Country
France
This command line force the canal 6 Wi-Fi use. It's the canal Wi-Fi used to generate de pcap file by "yellow8", he speak about that into the Readme Github.

SmashBrosh crashed more fast when I used this command. I have the demo, and the 30 launch limitation wasn't enought for me to start the homebrew Launcher. Only screen BUG.

This work good for this man on Youtube: "New 3DS Smashhax installieren (Tutorial) [Deutsch|HD]"
 
Last edited by difool.,

ihaveahax

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2015
Messages
5,986
Trophies
2
XP
6,899
Country
United States
This command line force the canal 6 Wi-Fi use. It's the canal Wi-Fi used to generate de pcap file by "yellow8", he speak about that into the Readme Github.

SmashBrosh crashed more fast when I used this command. I have the demo, and the 30 launch limitation wasn't enought for me to start the homebrew Launcher. Only screen BUG.
I'll go try this as soon as I can (and hopefully be recording at the same time). I have the full game.
 

coreycubed

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 28, 2009
Messages
48
Trophies
0
XP
216
Country
United States
I'll go try this as soon as I can (and hopefully be recording at the same time). I have the full game.

I have the full game too but didn't want to delete my update data. Latest version of Smash Bros. for 3DS is 1.1.2 which isn't supported by smashbroshax yet, so you'd need to remove the data and go back to 1.0.0 to test it out. I won't be able to try that until later today.

Edit: Not to hijack a smashbroshax thread, but there's a workaround for browserhax (see my post above) on 10.1 N3DS which I'm planning to use instead. Still keen on seeing smashbroshax work semi-reliably, as we always need more payload vectors, but I'd recommend anyone looking to reapply hax use that first and then come back to tinker with smashbroshax :)
 
Last edited by coreycubed,
  • Like
Reactions: ihaveahax

LoneFlo

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2015
Messages
180
Trophies
0
XP
745
Country
France
Could this work with le last payload ? Just crashes again and again for now.

EDIT: Doesn't work. I used 2.1 payload.
 
Last edited by LoneFlo,
General chit-chat
Help Users
    DEMONGreninjaPG @ DEMONGreninjaPG: @Veho hey veho u wanna see stupidity https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q8uIW-JLzj4