1. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    8,902
    Country:
    United States
    u might try the madridi site: https://madridi7.github.io/WiiU/index540-551.html

    it can delete incomplete updates, so it might help u here.
     
    Jhnsn and Lacius like this.
  2. rikumax25!

    rikumax25! Keyblade Wielder
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    1,428
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    what its even this, never heard of it. And it doesnt look like it can help
     
  3. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    8,902
    Country:
    United States
    don't know. it's run by @Madridi I believe. I've never had to use it.
     
  4. rikumax25!

    rikumax25! Keyblade Wielder
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    1,428
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    dont suggest stuff that you have no proof or havent tested.
     
  5. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    12,119
    Country:
    United States
    If a Wii U software update has already been downloaded, it's not in the update folder. Removing the pre-downloaded update via the link provided is the best course of action. Removing the update folder is only good for blocking updates before they've been downloaded to the system.
     
  6. rikumax25!

    rikumax25! Keyblade Wielder
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    1,428
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    im suggesting it since thats what they wanted, since they followed it. So by following what i said, they'll have updates blocked and will be able to download stuff freely
     
  7. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    8,902
    Country:
    United States
    but the update is no longer in the update folder. he says he even deleted the folder, but the update is still there. there must be a trace of it still on the system since it completed on the user.
     
  8. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    12,119
    Country:
    United States
    First, your advice will update the system to 5.5.2. Second, your advice doesn't end with blocking updates. Third, one should just visit the above URL to remove the predownloaded update in order to resolve the issue.
     
    godreborn likes this.
  9. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    8,902
    Country:
    United States
    yeah, even though I've not personally tested it, a lot of users on temp have.
     
  10. rikumax25!

    rikumax25! Keyblade Wielder
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    1,428
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    when did i say to update .-.
     
  11. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    12,119
    Country:
    United States
    You didn't suggest anything that would clear the pre-downloaded update. Not clearing the update with something like the above URL will eventually cause it to auto-install, with or without the update folder.

    Edit: I can't resist...
     
    Last edited by Lacius, Sep 7, 2017
    godreborn likes this.
  12. Madridi

    Madridi Card Collector
    Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,509
    Country:
    Qatar
    Hey hey.. no need for hostility.

    It's an old homebrew from back in the day that I just stuck on the website. Several people confirmed that it works (I haven't confirmed it myself, cause I never was in that position to test thankfully)

    Anyway, I guess the others clarified it to you by now
     
  13. Warwick

    Warwick Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    South Africa
    Hey everyone,

    Im on 5.5.2 CBHC -
    I am on a mac, so I used Parallels Desktop to go into the cmd and launched the script. I get a error message followed by the program crashing, however on the WiiU the last two lines read
    "Wrote reply: 550 Success"
    "Client disconnected"

    I presume it didnt work because when I take off the DNS and try update the console, it loads and says that the console is up to date.
    I presume it didnt work and I should probobaly try the manual method?

    Any advice and help would be most appreciated!
    Thank you!
     

    Attached Files:

  14. rikumax25!

    rikumax25! Keyblade Wielder
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    1,428
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    it couldnt find the file, so my theory is that you didnt enable cfw correctly
     
    Warwick likes this.
  15. Warwick

    Warwick Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    South Africa
    Hi rikumax25!,

    Thanks for your reply.
    Yes, I never installed mocha cfw as I thought it was not necessary due the fact that I have CBCH.
     
  16. rikumax25!

    rikumax25! Keyblade Wielder
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    1,428
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    yeah, Matt forces you to use mocha because there where some instances where the haxchi version wouldnt work
     
    Warwick likes this.
  17. BigPanda

    BigPanda GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    172
    Country:
    Belgium
    Anyone know if there is an .elf version of the temporary update remover ? I am not able to launch the one from madridi7 site on my WiiU. Sadly since I have an incomplete download of 5.52 it keep recreating the update folder after it is deleted.
     
  18. Madridi

    Madridi Card Collector
    Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,509
    Country:
    Qatar
    Why not?
    And is this what you went to:
    https://madridi7.github.io/WiiU/
     
  19. BigPanda

    BigPanda GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    172
    Country:
    Belgium
    Yeah, no idea why, but the removal one refused to load here. Video loading screen freeze. I grabbed the AIO Self Hosting package and managed to get it work.
    Not saying the issue is on your side, I know that the web browser thing sometimes doesn't like to work.

    Thanks
     
  20. Madridi

    Madridi Card Collector
    Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,509
    Country:
    Qatar
    Yeah I get that. GitHub also uses https which makes the connection take a while compared to regular http. Self hosting would be even faster.

    Anyway, if you got it to work then great :)
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - [Tutorial], removing, Prevent