1. Ninelpienel

    Ninelpienel Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]
     
    Last edited by Ninelpienel, Sep 22, 2016
  2. mogge

    mogge Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    What exactly would I be looking for with a multimeter?
     
  3. cravas

    cravas GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2016
    Messages:
    867
    Country:
    Portugal
    Your wires are to stripped (too much wire with no sleeve), specially the CLK one. It looks it's touching those condensers on the board.
    Try to put a bit of electrical tape between the wire and the board to make sure your not short-circuiting it.
    If you feel confident, you can de-solder it and go for the alt CLK. But it's very dangerous since it's so small pad and if you brake it, you might lose your console.

    P_20160916_220428_1_p.jpg
    Green wire is alt CLK. (you can see it in OP for N3DS XL)



    Just check for continuity between the CLK you know and that one I showed. In my multimeter, there's a function for it that buzzes when there's a straight connection (0 Ohm impedance)
     
  4. TheZoroark007

    TheZoroark007 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Messages:
    611
    Country:
    Germany
    So, I'm using a Eur N3DS XL with Toshiba nand and I'm unsure which of the Adapters from the frontpage in the N3DS XL part I should buy, since some users said some of them aren't working with it. I tried varoius readers at home and only one (A Hama USB2)at least show a letter in Win32DiskManager, but when I press read there, it gives out error 483 critical hardware error and then it closes.
    So any recommendations which of the readers I should buy ?
     
    Last edited by TheZoroark007, Sep 22, 2016
  5. vb_encryption_vb

    vb_encryption_vb That hardmod guy....
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,985
    Country:
    United States

    Wires are way to long. No more than 5"

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Go with what's been recommend, anyone that says something is not working, it's probably operator error.
     
  6. cravas

    cravas GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2016
    Messages:
    867
    Country:
    Portugal
    Don't know about that but I didn't managed to make neither the Anker nor the Transcend to work (N3DSXL) (tried everything I could remember).
    The one which worked for me was a Startech.com USB 3.0 #FCREADMICRO3 (Realtek RTS5307).

    Might have to take a better run on them but since I have one working, didn't care much for the others, :)
     
  7. Ninelpienel

    Ninelpienel Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    5 what? Centimeter?
     
  8. cravas

    cravas GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2016
    Messages:
    867
    Country:
    Portugal
    I'm sure He's talking in inches, ;) (Around 12,5 cm)
     
    vb_encryption_vb likes this.
  9. vb_encryption_vb

    vb_encryption_vb That hardmod guy....
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,985
    Country:
    United States
    I have trancend, works fine. There is a bad batch of ankers selling though.
     
  10. cravas

    cravas GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2016
    Messages:
    867
    Country:
    Portugal
    Yeah, the Anker might be one of those (although I bought it from amazon Uk).
     
  11. vb_encryption_vb

    vb_encryption_vb That hardmod guy....
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,985
    Country:
    United States

    It's from the manufacture, there is reports over here in the U.S.A I've had from customers saying it don't work as well. ( Fails with regular sd cards as well )
     
  12. cravas

    cravas GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2016
    Messages:
    867
    Country:
    Portugal
    I've tried with the microSD (from the N3DSXL) and it reads/writes OK.
    Now that you said that, will have to try with a SD to see what happens.

    Thanks for the tip, ;)
     
    vb_encryption_vb likes this.
  13. Adikirak

    Adikirak Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Brazil
    Hi guys, i have a problem....

    Whenever I try to patch the nand, I get this error when injecting it into 3ds, but can back up the nand unpatched and links without errors. Any idea? I used Plailect guide, Reboot.ms. I have tested several ways, including formatting the system, spend twice the autofirm but have no results. The funny thing is that it is only in that 3ds, another worked normal.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Ninelpienel

    Ninelpienel Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    12.5 centimeter is very short. Why is a longer wire not recommended?
     
  15. porko

    porko GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    120
    Country:
    I plan to do this soon to a couple (or more) 2DS consoles for the sole purpose of downgrading, what is the best way to 'clean up' afterwards? De-soldering is probably not worth the hassle/potential damage, so maybe just leave a length of wire taped down inside to the PCB?
     
  16. Ninelpienel

    Ninelpienel Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    I have now 12 centimeter and short stripped wires but I can still not write any NANDs on my 3DS.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Edit: The SD card adapter would have a lock, but the latch is lost. Can it be that the sd card adapter is locked?
     
    Last edited by Ninelpienel, Sep 23, 2016
  17. Nawor3565

    Nawor3565 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, so I finally finished putting my o3DS back together, and when I push the power button the light turns blue for a second and then turns back off with a popping sound. What I found on Google said it was an issue with one of the ribbon cables, but I checked and they all look secure. How would I go about troubleshooting this? Thank you
     
  18. cravas

    cravas GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2016
    Messages:
    867
    Country:
    Portugal
    Maybe try another franken SD with it or a different SD reader.

    Yeah, you can just keep the wires inside the console.
    If you decide to sell/give it away, just inform the new owner what you done so (S)He won't do anything bad with those wires.
    Pull the sleeve on the tips of the wires to isolate them.

    The lack of the lock piece on SD only makes it Read Only. That will allow you to read and dump the NAND but not write.
    You can bypass this by putting some tape around the frankenSD.

    But the error your getting isn't the proper one. It should be like this:
    [​IMG]

    The main line is the bottom one. 00000200 00000000
    If it's anything different, on my experience, it will not work (maybe I'm wrong).
    You should try with a different SD reader.

    And, as I told you before, that CLK connection isn't the best one. You can connect it on the ALT CLK(other side of the board, slightly to the left of the micro SD slot):
    [​IMG]

    Mainly saying this because the CLK your connecting to, is the bottom right one of those 4 little squares, and it looks that you tried to solder on the top right one first, and now is soldered on the bottom left one.

    One user told about launching the console on recovery mode (L+R+UP+A on boot) and then connecting the reader to the PC.
    He claims He had 100% read/write performance. I haven't tested this so, if you go that way, it's on you the risk.

    https://gbatemp.net/threads/tutoria...s-xl-n3ds-n3ds-xl.414498/page-67#post-6682615
     
    porko likes this.
  19. Nawor3565

    Nawor3565 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    United States
    Looks like two other people also had this problem and its been the cable for both of them. Before I take my whole DS apart again, is there anything else it could be?
     
  20. mogge

    mogge Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - [TUTORIAL], Friendly], Dumping