[TUTORIAL] How to play online with ANY Header on Sky3DS!!! No worries about Manufacturer ID!

Discussion in '3DS - Tutorials' started by vijankush, Jul 24, 2015.

?

Did this tutorial work for you?

  1. Yes

    14 vote(s)
    73.7%
  2. No

    5 vote(s)
    26.3%
  1. vijankush
    OP

    Newcomer vijankush Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    United States
    Hi GBATemp. After getting my Sky3ds some days ago, I used header from Super Mario 3D Land and patched it using NoBanNoSky. But it didn't work on any of my games. I used Sky Army Knife and others but they didn't work too.

    So I finally found a way 3 days ago, and was testing many different games- like Mario Kart 7, Super Smash Bros and many others before releasing the way how I did it. IF NoBanNoSky DOESN'T WORK FOR YOU, OR YOU ARE GETTING ERROR 002-0123, THIS IS A TUTORIAL YOU SHOULD FOLLOW. So, lets get started:


    1. Download the two files listed above in the downloads section.
    2. Make sure you have the private header in a .bin file and a ROM which you are going to add in Sky3ds. If you don't know how to extract a private header, here is the tutorial: https://gbatemp.net/threads/guide-everything-under-the-sky3ds.386045/
    3. Put both of the files in one same folder.
    4. Open Gateway Rom Patcher as an administrator.
    5. Click on Load ROM and browse where your ROM is.
    6. Click on Import header to file and browse to your private header .bin file
    7. You will see 2 warnings, just click Yes to both of them.
    8. You should finally have something like this:

    [​IMG]

    Don't close Gateway Rom Patcher yet!!

    9. Now make sure you have the latest template from Sky3DS website. Rename the new template to "template.txt" and make sure it is also in the same folder.
    10. Now you should have "SkyTempIDEdit.exe" and "template.txt"in the same folder.
    11. Press SHIFT + Right click on SKyTempIDEdit.exe and click "Copy as path"
    12. Open up notepad provided in the downloads section and paste it over [Paste the path here without quotations]
    13. Copy your "Cart ID"- which is your private header from Gateway Rom Patcher and paste it over [Private header]
    14. Copy your "Chip ID" from Gateway Rom Patcher, NOT the FFFFFFFF one on the top but on the bottom like the one I have in the picture C27FFF90
    15. Now you should have something like this:
    16. On Gateway, click on "Clear header" (Say YES to the Warning) and close Gateway Rom Patcher
    17. Click Start and Type/Open "Run" which looks like this
    18. Copy everything from notepad and paste it in the run "Open" section.

    [​IMG]

    19. Press OK
    20. It will open up Command Prompt, and it will take 2-3 minutes for its process. DON'T CLOSE IT, IT WILL CLOSE AUTOMATICALLY.
    21. Once Command Prompt closes itself, you should see a file in the same folder called "new-template.txt". This is a new template file that you will use in the Diskwriter for your game.
    22. Open up DiskWriter, click on Options -> Change Template and choose new-template.txt
    23. Write your ROM on the DiskWriter and Play ONLINE!!!

    **Remember, this template only works for that one ROM that you chose in the first place. To play online with another ROM, you have to follow all the steps again and make a new template.

    If it works for you, don't forget to like my post ;)
     
    Kayleea, m_babble, impulseADH and 9 others like this.


  2. vijankush
    OP

    Newcomer vijankush Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry moderator could you move this thread to Tutorials and Faq's? Thank you
     
    NoNAND likes this.
  3. vozer

    Newcomer vozer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    Omg it works
     
  4. vijankush
    OP

    Newcomer vijankush Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks. Please write your answer in the poll above too ;)
     
  5. reeZZer

    Newcomer reeZZer Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Austria
    Hello,

    is this Tutorial for Games which use different Manufacterers than your Header is ?

    There is a simplier method which worked for me.

    I've got a C2 Manufacterer Header by looking up my Rom (Game) at Sky Army Knife using the public Sky3DS Template.

    Pokemon X is "AE" Manufacterer as example and the only thing i did is looking up the SHA1 Code from this ROM in Sky3DS Template using Sky Army Knife and change the Manufacterer in your Sky3DS Template from "AE" to "C2" and voila, you can connect without the Error Code.

    Just tought i should share my method in this Thread, thanks for sharing your method also :)

    greeTz,
    Markus
     
    cocoPika likes this.
  6. vijankush
    OP

    Newcomer vijankush Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    United States
    Oh wow, thats cool too...I think my method does the same since it makes a new template XD
     
  7. Officer Dk

    Newcomer Officer Dk Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Brazil
    The difference is with this method, you use gateway patcher to suggest the correct manufacturer and rest (with the chip id settings suggestion), so you don't have to run around trying to find which game uses which.
     
  8. vijankush
    OP

    Newcomer vijankush Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    United States
    Exactly my way :) I like it simple, not google lel
     
  9. vijankush
    OP

    Newcomer vijankush Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    United States
    I just used this method to play Animal Crossing: New Leaf and it seems to be working properly
     
  10. Ericjwg

    Member Ericjwg Good

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Messages:
    2,615
    Country:
    Canada
    for 002-0123, you just need to replace the manufacturer ID in the template with the right id.....
     
    cocoPika likes this.
  11. tony_2018

    Member tony_2018 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    3,105
    Country:
    United States
    Nice work on the research.
     
  12. vijankush
    OP

    Newcomer vijankush Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks buddy :D
     
    A_Random_Guy likes this.
  13. wezck

    Newcomer wezck Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Mexico
    It's to easy but I only have a doubt, It's work for people (like me) who extract a Private Header with PowerSaves?, because the header.bin that I have where I put my PH is a empty header.bin provided from the tutorial (and the chip ID doesn't existe, it starts with 43), thanks for all.

    Add Data: I saw that this processes only change PH and Chip ID for all games in the sky3ds template, e.g. if your PH Game has C2F80098 it is put in all the template and I don't know if It is ok because the second hex part is for game size and if the game size is 128mb and you put 2gb (F8) I don't know if It would work.
     
    Last edited by wezck, Jul 31, 2015
  14. Ericjwg

    Member Ericjwg Good

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Messages:
    2,615
    Country:
    Canada
    as long as the header code with the right manufacturer id in the template....the online function should be fine
     
  15. vijankush
    OP

    Newcomer vijankush Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks to all who appreciated my work. You can still PM me if you need any other help :)
     
  16. wezck

    Newcomer wezck Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Mexico
    I can't agree with you because i have a C2 PH extracted from Pokemon Y and Mario 3D Land and I tried to play online Super Smash Bros with both PH and changed the chip ID for C2 and i got the 002-0123 error, I got the Super Smash Bros Rev 01 (It's a C2 version) and it run the online, in sometimes isn't enough change the ID Chip.
     
  17. Ericjwg

    Member Ericjwg Good

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Messages:
    2,615
    Country:
    Canada
    well....I at least for me, all games work online after I change m.id and rewrite rom
     
  18. gkoelho

    Member gkoelho GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Messages:
    542
    Country:
    Brazil
    Can someone help ?

    It worked for me on mario kart 7.
    But i cant make it work with neither sky army knife or gateway patcher on pokemon alpha sapphire.
    My private header has an AE manufacter and the game has a C2.

    How can i make it work?
     
  19. wezck

    Newcomer wezck Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Mexico
    As I have mentioned, you need at least One Private Header for each manufacture chip (one for C2, one for AE and one for 45), I tried everything and nothing worked for me, sorry man but try to buy a chip C2 game and you will have the 90% of all the games.
     
  20. gkoelho

    Member gkoelho GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Messages:
    542
    Country:
    Brazil
    Just to update that i just got able to get online on omêga ruby

    Alpha sapphire dont work with anything i did, but omega ruby worked perfectly, and both show here as C2 manufacter id.

    Really dont know if the AE ph worked on this C2 rom or if in fact this one is also AE chip.

    This thread was really usefull, thanks!
     
    vijankush likes this.

Share This Page