[Tutorial] How to make DSTWO+ Gateway feature work with latest EmuNAND on Old 3DS

Discussion in '3DS - Tutorials' started by Elveman, May 31, 2016.

  1. Elveman
    OP

    Member Elveman A9LH Shitpost Race Smogonite

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Messages:
    402
    Location:
    Moscow city
    Country:
    Russia
    Okay. Many of you know the DSTWO+ flashcart. It is an enhanced flashcart for DS games that has the additional function: it can emulate Gateway to play .3ds roms. Some of you were (un)lucky enough to get this one. There's a problem, however: some of the latest launchers (3.5 and so on) have the detection of counterfeit carts ("brick code", 3.6+ ones don't even allow you to select games) making it seemingly impossible to play games on DSTWO+ with the latest EmuNAND. But there's a way to fix it and to make 3.4.1 launcher work with 11.0 EmuNAND.
    Unfortunately, this method only works with Old 3DS/2DS (no new ones, 3.4.1 doesn't support 9.6+ New 3DS EmuNAND)

    It is advised to back up EmuNAND before making such modifications.

    What do you need:

    An EmuNAND set up on your 3DS/2DS (with Gateway CFW or with any other CFW)
    FBI ver. 2.0+ installed on your 3DS/2DS in EmuNAND
    3.4.1 Launcher.dat (if you own the DSTWO+, you probably know where to find it)
    A hex editor of your choice

    1. Get the Home Menu title: go to "that iso site" and find the topic with the downgrade packs. Download the 9.9.0 one for your region and then find this one title. It should be
    0004003000009802 for EUR,
    0004003000008F02 for USA or
    0004003000008202 for JPN consoles.
    2. Open the hex editor and go to offset 0x2F9C. Change 2 bytes to FF FF (to change version number to 65535). This way you can avoid Home Menu updates. Alternatively, you can change the bytes to 60 00, 64 00 or 6C 00 for EUR, USA and JPN menus respectively to safely update EmuNAND in the future without the fear to screw it up. Save the modifications.
    3. Place the 3.4.1 Launcher.dat in the root of your SD card and modified Home Menu somewhere.
    4. Launch EmuNAND from CFW of your choice. Make sure that you have FBI installed on your EmuNAND. Go to the system settings and update EmuNAND.
    5. Launch FBI and then install the modified Home Menu.
    6. And there you have it! Now your DSTWO+ can launch .3ds roms on 11.0 EmuNAND!


    (tested on European Old 3DS)
    Online play? Works!
    A9LH Payload? Stage2? 3dsx? Everything works with 3.4.1!
     
    Last edited by Elveman, Jun 2, 2016


  2. The Real Jdbye

    Member The Real Jdbye Oh boy! I can't wait to bomb some dodongos!

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    9,954
    Location:
    Somewhere on the island of Koridai
    Country:
    Norway
    Is this supposed to be done on an 11.0 emuNAND? Otherwise it isn't 11.0.
     
  3. Elveman
    OP

    Member Elveman A9LH Shitpost Race Smogonite

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Messages:
    402
    Location:
    Moscow city
    Country:
    Russia
    It can be done on any EmuNAND (With FBI installed) but EmuNAND is updated to 11.0 in the process.
     
  4. The Real Jdbye

    Member The Real Jdbye Oh boy! I can't wait to bomb some dodongos!

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    9,954
    Location:
    Somewhere on the island of Koridai
    Country:
    Norway
    Oh whoops, missed the part that says "go to system settings and update"
    Nevermind me :)
     
    Elveman likes this.
  5. urherenow

    Member urherenow GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,666
    Location:
    Japan
    Country:
    United States
    I guess this is the best one can do without finding and patching out the counterfeit check. Too bad it's o3ds only. Good find though!

    But one has to wonder... what is lost by using the older home menu? System title badges from the badge arcade? Do those still work? Not that (many) people actually use those. I think...
     
  6. Elveman
    OP

    Member Elveman A9LH Shitpost Race Smogonite

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Messages:
    402
    Location:
    Moscow city
    Country:
    Russia
    GYTB works with 9.3+ and has no problems with 9.9 Home Menu so... badges should work fine, I guess? Checked all the updates for Home Menu, and they are minor (or used to fix menuhax). 9.9 menu doesn't even have title checking so it allows launching Ironfall (although I still don't know if it works)
     
  7. urherenow

    Member urherenow GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,666
    Location:
    Japan
    Country:
    United States
    I was specifically referring to the badges that act as icons to launch system apps, like Mii Maker, System settings, download play, and such. For some reason, I was thinking those came after a home menu update (and badge arcade update).
     
  8. BORTZ

    Global Moderator BORTZ Neighborhood Friendly

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,119
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Country:
    United States
    As I own a DSTWO+ its nice to see someone making some sort of tutorials for this thing. The Supercard company almost regards them as abandonware.
     
    I pwned U! and Elveman like this.
  9. Queno138

    Member Queno138 Ravens

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,403
    Location:
    Luigi's Dark Mansion
    Country:
    Singapore
    Didn't using dstwo+ on gateway firmware trigger the brick code, or was it not confirmed?
     
  10. Elveman
    OP

    Member Elveman A9LH Shitpost Race Smogonite

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Messages:
    402
    Location:
    Moscow city
    Country:
    Russia
    3.4.1 doesn't contain it. That's why it's used here
     
    I pwned U! and Queno138 like this.
  11. Nyap

    Banned Nyap HTML Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    973
    Location:
    That Chaos Site
    Country:
    Antarctica
    can you use a dstwo as a dstwo+ or does it require extra hardware
     
  12. Elveman
    OP

    Member Elveman A9LH Shitpost Race Smogonite

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Messages:
    402
    Location:
    Moscow city
    Country:
    Russia
    This is possible (PoC) but only with relatively new DSTWOs (for example, I bought a DSTWO about year ago and managed to do that). Check if your DSTWO has a tiny screw on the back. If it doesn't, your DSTWO is upgradable to DSTWO+ by simply running Gateway emulation plugin
     
  13. Nyap

    Banned Nyap HTML Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    973
    Location:
    That Chaos Site
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I think I see a tiny screw, is it the one that's in the middle and slightly down
    if so, that sucks, but I guess I'm planning on getting a gateway anyway
     
  14. Nyap

    Banned Nyap HTML Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    973
    Location:
    That Chaos Site
    Country:
    Antarctica
    also, what's the difference between the old and new ones?
     
  15. SEAgreen206

    Newcomer SEAgreen206 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    Does this work using the arm9loaderhax.bin Gateway released and a A9LH o3ds using luma3ds chain loader?

    I assume we'd put 3.4.1 launcher.dat on the root of SD card and assign the Gateway bin to a payload button. Wondering if anyone has confirmed this to work on A9LH updated sysnand.
     
    Last edited by SEAgreen206, Jun 2, 2016
  16. Elveman
    OP

    Member Elveman A9LH Shitpost Race Smogonite

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Messages:
    402
    Location:
    Moscow city
    Country:
    Russia
    New ones have slightly faster CPU (396 vs 360 MHz) and
    (official site)

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    It should. I'll check a bit later.

    EDIT: it does
     
    Last edited by Elveman, Jun 2, 2016
  17. SEAgreen206

    Newcomer SEAgreen206 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    If so, I can finally offload my "official" gateway card and dust-off the DS2+ B-)

    What's the possibility of brick code being in the arm9loaderhax.bin?
     
    Last edited by SEAgreen206, Jun 2, 2016
  18. CreAtor135

    Member CreAtor135 GBATemp's #1 Nothing

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Messages:
    727
    Location:
    Ikeb, Ukuro
    Country:
    United States
    It's not like the arm9loaderhax.bin doesn't still require the Launcher.dat.
     
  19. SEAgreen206

    Newcomer SEAgreen206 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    I understand but we supposedly know that the 3.4.1 Launcher.dat is pre brick code.
     
  20. urherenow

    Member urherenow GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,666
    Location:
    Japan
    Country:
    United States
    Correction: pre- DSTwo+ detection. You'd better believe there is still brick code in there.
     
    Last edited by urherenow, Jun 4, 2016

Share This Page