(Tutorial) How to install HomemenuHax on O3DS/N3DS by Yellows8

Discussion in '3DS - Tutorials' started by TLOZmaster, Sep 26, 2015.

  1. TLOZmaster
    OP

    Member TLOZmaster GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    253
    Location:
    Hyrule
    Country:
    United States
    How to install HomemenuHax on O3DS and N3DS

    Notes: This method cannot currently run all homebrew. You need to already have a way of entry into homebrew for this.THIS WILL NOT WORK WITH CUSTOM THEMES.

    I didn't make this app.

    If you want the inverse of this (like auto booting to HBM), look here. (The inverse is by Steveice.)


    This is my first tutorial

    Okay, so to start off, we need to download the boot.3dsx file; this is the file used for the homebrew menu. You may choose to use the default boot file, found here, or a modified boot file like the homebrew launcher with the grid layout. Put this on the root of your SD card. (This should already be there if you have used homebrew before.)

    Next, we want to download this homebrew app. This is what will trigger the exploit upon startup if certain conditions are made. In this case, it is if the L button is pressed at startup. Put that folder after extraction into the 3DS folder.

    Now run the App from the 3DS homebrew exploit of your choice and then follow the on screen instructions from there.


    Now when you boot up your 3DS, press and hold L and the system should run the exploit!
     
    Last edited by TLOZmaster, Oct 1, 2015


  2. Itachi_hoshigaki

    Newcomer Itachi_hoshigaki Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2013
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    Brownsville, Texas
    Country:
    Mexico
    Will the still.3DSx run if it is in the root of the SD card?
    Because i think it doesn't......
     
  3. TLOZmaster
    OP

    Member TLOZmaster GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    253
    Location:
    Hyrule
    Country:
    United States

    The boot. 3dsx file will run in the root.
     
  4. dannyboy941

    Newcomer dannyboy941 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    Messages:
    90
    Country:
    Japan
    This is really use full if you have an brick(banner brick) or something like install from wrong cias what ever.
     
    Last edited by dannyboy941, Sep 26, 2015
  5. SickPuppy

    Member SickPuppy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,715
    Country:
    United States
    what firmware versions does this work with?
     
  6. xdarkmario

    Member xdarkmario Philosopher

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,265
    Location:
    Mushroom Kingdom
    Country:
    United States
    it freezes when i try to launch any kind of homebrew, launched good on holding l but cant launch nothing
     
  7. Selim873

    Member Selim873 Nunnayobeesnes

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,133
    Location:
    Chillin' with Bob Ross
    Country:
    United States
    That's because he posted the original 1.0 version of HomeMenuHax in a dropbox, which isn't recommended. OP needs to have the Github release list since it updates. 1.2 came out and it can launch homebrew now.

    @TLOZmaster Here's the link. https://github.com/yellows8/3ds_homemenuhax/releases
     
    TLOZmaster likes this.
  8. xdarkmario

    Member xdarkmario Philosopher

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,265
    Location:
    Mushroom Kingdom
    Country:
    United States
    i already have that new ver
     
  9. Selim873

    Member Selim873 Nunnayobeesnes

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,133
    Location:
    Chillin' with Bob Ross
    Country:
    United States
    Wait, really? I may have just assumed you were on 1.0 because Smealum said that it didn't launch homebrew apps until yellows updated it to 1.2. What firmware are you on? I've had it and it works just fine for me on 9.9.0-26E
     
  10. xdarkmario

    Member xdarkmario Philosopher

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,265
    Location:
    Mushroom Kingdom
    Country:
    United States
    im on sysnand 9.0
     
  11. Selim873

    Member Selim873 Nunnayobeesnes

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,133
    Location:
    Chillin' with Bob Ross
    Country:
    United States
  12. TLOZmaster
    OP

    Member TLOZmaster GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    253
    Location:
    Hyrule
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you! Updated!

    Sorry for the DropBox link, I couldn't find the original release :P
     
    Last edited by TLOZmaster, Sep 27, 2015
  13. probablygay

    Member probablygay GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    United States
    I followed the instructions to a T. I'm running a New 3DS on 9.9.0-26 E, and I always seem to get this error when I attempt to install HomeMenuHax. Here's a screenshot: http://i.imgur.com/xjHNk6M.jpg
     
  14. Selim873

    Member Selim873 Nunnayobeesnes

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,133
    Location:
    Chillin' with Bob Ross
    Country:
    United States
    Try switching to an actual DLC theme on the home menu, then switching to no theme (Standard) then try again.
     
  15. probablygay

    Member probablygay GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks! Solved my issue completely.
     
    Selim873 likes this.
  16. Selim873

    Member Selim873 Nunnayobeesnes

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,133
    Location:
    Chillin' with Bob Ross
    Country:
    United States
    Just don't forget that changing themes will uninstall the entry point, so you're going to have to deal with not having a theme if you want to use it.
     
  17. probablygay

    Member probablygay GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    United States
    I'm using an EU 3ds to play USA games, I literally just need the region free capabilities. I'll boot to homebrew every time. That being said, is there any way to get it to auto load without having to hold L? Could I inverse it, as in, could I hold L to load the default home menu and have the 3DS auto boot to the homebrew menu?
     
    Last edited by probablygay, Sep 27, 2015
  18. TLOZmaster
    OP

    Member TLOZmaster GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    253
    Location:
    Hyrule
    Country:
    United States

    I doubt there is one currently, but if enough requests are made I am sure Yellows would do something like that.
     
  19. Clydefrosch

    Member Clydefrosch GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,875
    Country:
    Germany
    So have the stability issues of this been fixed? That was all that still kept me from trying this one out
     
  20. TLOZmaster
    OP

    Member TLOZmaster GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    253
    Location:
    Hyrule
    Country:
    United States
    For the most part, yeah.

    Nevermind! There is one by @Steveice10 that can be found here! If any button is pressed, then it will load up regular menu. https://www.dropbox.com/s/76qmy5q1iph6bjq/themehax_installer.zip?dl=1
     
    Last edited by TLOZmaster, Sep 29, 2015

Share This Page