Tutorial [Tutorial] How to flash the HWFLY Clone chips

urherenow

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
4,159
Trophies
1
Age
46
Location
Japan
XP
2,731
Country
United States
Yay! Got my v3 chip in the mail today, along with 99.9% IPA. Now I need the rest of the stuff to arrive… like the 0.1mm enameled wire and thermal paste and solder mask and stuff. So I can’t dig into the installation yet. This sucker is so tiny! Glad I asked the seller to get me the instruction page, because what you see here, is what you get. No instructions, or even a receipt in the box. No links to firmware or software. Confirmed it comes with the USB dongle though...

V3.jpg
 

xdMatthewbx

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 9, 2017
Messages
52
Trophies
0
Age
52
XP
396
Country
Canada
I don't know, this was given to me by a friend.

to be clear here: this has issues. "infinite glitching" still happens
Is overall glitching behaviour improved though? Does it get worse? Trying to decide if it's worth flashing since SD compatibility isn't a huge issue for me.

Also: someone mentioned putting "firmware.bin" and ".force_update" on the SD to update the firmware. Does this work? Is it recommended?
 
Last edited by xdMatthewbx,
  • Like
Reactions: lufeig

lufeig

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2009
Messages
282
Trophies
0
Age
43
Location
São Paulo, Brazil
XP
767
Country
Brazil
Yay! Got my v3 chip in the mail today, along with 99.9% IPA. Now I need the rest of the stuff to arrive… like the 0.1mm enameled wire and thermal paste and solder mask and stuff. So I can’t dig into the installation yet. This sucker is so tiny! Glad I asked the seller to get me the instruction page, because what you see here, is what you get. No instructions, or even a receipt in the box. No links to firmware or software. Confirmed it comes with the USB dongle though...

View attachment 295212
 

urherenow

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
4,159
Trophies
1
Age
46
Location
Japan
XP
2,731
Country
United States
Wait… crap. So I ordered the wrong wire? Should work anyway. I Hope. But I guess I didn’t need solder mask. I need a grinding pen still, so I have to wait for that.
 

lufeig

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2009
Messages
282
Trophies
0
Age
43
Location
São Paulo, Brazil
XP
767
Country
Brazil
Yay! Got my v3 chip in the mail today, along with 99.9% IPA. Now I need the rest of the stuff to arrive… like the 0.1mm enameled wire and thermal paste and solder mask and stuff. So I can’t dig into the installation yet. This sucker is so tiny! Glad I asked the seller to get me the instruction page, because what you see here, is what you get. No instructions, or even a receipt in the box. No links to firmware or software. Confirmed it comes with the USB dongle though...

View attachment 295212
if you think that is tiny, wait until you have to scratch the console motherboard to expose point D and solder a wire on it. or another wire on the resistor right beside it ;)

Wait… crap. So I ordered the wrong wire? Should work anyway. I Hope. But I guess I didn’t need solder mask. I need a grinding pen still, so I have to wait for that
the video shows another wire option. there's no right or wrong, this one has silicon instead of enamel. you can use any of them, as long as you know how to use them.

solder mask is not necessarily needed, but you can use it to fix a wire or protect a soldering point.

and you don't need a grinding pen. I scratched my pcb with a needle. carefully and slowly. it took 1 minute or 2.
 
Last edited by lufeig,

Mena

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2020
Messages
128
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
564
Country
United States
Is overall glitching behaviour improved though? Does it get worse? Trying to decide if it's worth flashing since SD compatibility isn't a huge issue for me.

Also: someone mentioned putting "firmware.bin" and ".force_update" on the SD to update the firmware. Does this work? Is it recommended?
50 glitches in this recording
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0993.MP4
    2.7 MB · Views: 0

lufeig

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2009
Messages
282
Trophies
0
Age
43
Location
São Paulo, Brazil
XP
767
Country
Brazil
50 glitches in this recording
@Mena video appears broken to me, both on my computer and cellphone. is it only me?

Wait… crap. So I ordered the wrong wire? Should work anyway. I Hope. But I guess I didn’t need solder mask. I need a grinding pen still, so I have to wait for that.
@urherenow, out of curiosity, I noticed that you don't have any of the required materials to perform this kind of installation. have you ever did a service like this before? I know I should mind my own business first, but if this is your first time doing such small soldering, I would strongly suggest you to not try learning on the Switch. Trust me, it would probably be the most expensive lesson you ever had.
 

Mena

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2020
Messages
128
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
564
Country
United States
@Mena video appears broken to me, both on my computer and cellphone. is it only me?


@urherenow, out of curiosity, I noticed that you don't have any of the required materials to perform this kind of installation. have you ever did a service like this before? I know I should mind my own business first, but if this is your first time doing such small soldering, I would strongly suggest you to not try learning on the Switch. Trust me, it would probably be the most expensive lesson you ever had.
https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachme....03E61677-7CEB-4CFF-83BC-9723551DB72D.MOV.mov
 
  • Like
Reactions: lufeig

xdMatthewbx

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 9, 2017
Messages
52
Trophies
0
Age
52
XP
396
Country
Canada
50 glitches in this recording
Oh damn then yea I'd say improved.

As for the flashing thing? Will that work? I'm on Linux so flashing even by USB will be difficult (not sure if the flasher works in wine, doubt it due to the whole driver thing)
 

FR0ZN

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2013
Messages
1,228
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
2,629
Country
United States
OP says this only works on QFN style FPGAs.
Are there pictures of modchips that 100% don't work?
How do not compatible FPGAs look?
 

lufeig

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2009
Messages
282
Trophies
0
Age
43
Location
São Paulo, Brazil
XP
767
Country
Brazil
@Mena I have just flashed my OLED modchip through USB using the latest file (0.2.0 China proper edition) you provided here: https://github.com/Pheeeeenom/firmware

I think it flashed successfully (cmd windows closed immediately after flashing, so I couldn't see anything after it finished) and training lasted approx 10 minutes.

Could you please help me by answering the questions below?

Should it show the fw version on the lower-right corner of the NOSD screen?

Should it turn off in 2 seconds by pressing the power button on the NOSD screen?

Or are those features not present in the fw version?

Mine doesn't have them and glitching times don't seem to have improved.
 
Last edited by lufeig,

Mena

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2020
Messages
128
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
564
Country
United States
@Mena I have just flashed my OLED modchip through USB using the latest file (0.2.0 China proper edition) you provided here: https://github.com/Pheeeeenom/firmware

I think it flashed successfully (cmd windows closed immediately after flashing, so I couldn't see anything after it finished) and training lasted approx 10 minutes.

Could you please help me by answering the questions below?

Should it show the fw version on the lower-right corner of the NOSD screen?

Should it turn off in 2 seconds by pressing the power button on the NOSD screen?

Or are those features not present in the fw version?

Mine doesn't have them and glitching times don't seem to have improved.
Those features are currently not present. I’m currently waiting on more reports before I add SD card compatibility. If you want me to send that to you privately, I can. I don’t like having to keep track of who has what but if you want it I can do it
 
  • Like
Reactions: lufeig

lufeig

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2009
Messages
282
Trophies
0
Age
43
Location
São Paulo, Brazil
XP
767
Country
Brazil
Those features are currently not present. I’m currently waiting on more reports before I add SD card compatibility. If you want me to send that to you privately, I can. I don’t like having to keep track of who has what but if you want it I can do it
Thank you very much, I really appreciate your kindness, but it won't be necessary.

I just wanted to make sure, and wanted to give you my feedback about glitching times, since I read on another thread that the non usb modchip version had almost instant glitching times. Mine obviously is the USB version, and it seems to be random, sometimes it blinks 15 times before glitching, sometimes 12, 30, twice, 86... who knows? maybe it's trying to tell me winning lottery numbers. LOL
 
Last edited by lufeig,

MrGrinch

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 31, 2020
Messages
18
Trophies
0
Age
44
XP
59
Country
United States
I just wanted to make sure, and wanted to give you my feedback about glitching times, since I read on another thread that the non usb modchip version had almost instant glitching times. Mine obviously is the USB version, and it seems to be random, sometimes it blinks 15 times before glitching, sometimes 12, 30, twice, 86... who knows? maybe it's trying to tell me winning lottery numbers. LOL

I had the same experience at first. 25-35 pulses before going green. I recently updated to the r021 firmware and made sure I let it complete the training routine and now it only pulses 2-5 times max. Data point of 1, so take it for what it's worth. I only planned to try the r021 firmware to see how it behaved and then move to Mena's FW, but it's worked so well that I don't want to mess with it now.
 

lufeig

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2009
Messages
282
Trophies
0
Age
43
Location
São Paulo, Brazil
XP
767
Country
Brazil
I had the same experience at first. 25-35 pulses before going green. I recently updated to the r021 firmware and made sure I let it complete the training routine and now it only pulses 2-5 times max. Data point of 1, so take it for what it's worth. I only planned to try the r021 firmware to see how it behaved and then move to Mena's FW, but it's worked so well that I don't want to mess with it now.
Thanks for sharing!

I left my switch opened, so I'll try the r021 version right now and report will here.
 

Mena

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2020
Messages
128
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
564
Country
United States
I had the same experience at first. 25-35 pulses before going green. I recently updated to the r021 firmware and made sure I let it complete the training routine and now it only pulses 2-5 times max. Data point of 1, so take it for what it's worth. I only planned to try the r021 firmware to see how it behaved and then move to Mena's FW, but it's worked so well that I don't want to mess with it now.
My firmware replicates their glitch.c. Your results should be identical
 
  • Like
Reactions: Donnie-Burger

lufeig

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2009
Messages
282
Trophies
0
Age
43
Location
São Paulo, Brazil
XP
767
Country
Brazil
so I flashed firmware r021 provided by sthetix on my oled mochip through usb.

I started it 15 times and counted how many pulses it took to glitch successfully: 3, 2, 7, 4, 10, 3, 2, 4, 2, 12, 3, 3, 8, 2, 10. quick math, average is 5.

undoubtedly better timings than 0.2.0 China proper edition. I don't know what difference in coding results in this better performance, but I will keep r021 at least by now, and would agree with you, @MrGrinch.

again, thanks for sharing your experience.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: https://brobible.com/culture/article/morbius-twitch-stream/?fr=operanews