Tutorial [Tutorial] How to export Nintendo Switch's Pokémon models and animate them with 3DS animations

Oh_fk_I

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Mar 9, 2020
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
23
Country
United States
Dear God! I'm about to commit seppuku! I'd appreciate it if somebody can enlighten me or whatever.

I can't get Ohana rebirth nor switch toolbox to work with the files. I followed all the steps to the point where I extracted the 3ds files and used pk3ds in order to unpack the folder a, 0, 9 and dragged the file #4 into it. I don't even know how I managed to do all that, every tutorial I followed is the same, (it leads to dead ends).

But there is nothing else to follow, nothing else I can do. I really need help here. I just need the 3ds models and animations. I need a Sableye for a movie I already shoot, and the model can't be found anywhere, so I want to do it myself. I just fell short.

...Help?
 

Manurocker95

Game Developer & Pokémon Master
OP
Member
Joined
May 29, 2016
Messages
1,476
Trophies
0
Age
26
Location
Madrid
Website
manuelrodriguezmatesanz.com
XP
2,165
Country
Spain
Dear God! I'm about to commit seppuku! I'd appreciate it if somebody can enlighten me or whatever.

I can't get Ohana rebirth nor switch toolbox to work with the files. I followed all the steps to the point where I extracted the 3ds files and used pk3ds in order to unpack the folder a, 0, 9 and dragged the file #4 into it. I don't even know how I managed to do all that, every tutorial I followed is the same, (it leads to dead ends).

But there is nothing else to follow, nothing else I can do. I really need help here. I just need the 3ds models and animations. I need a Sableye for a movie I already shoot, and the model can't be found anywhere, so I want to do it myself. I just fell short.

...Help?

so you have problems with what exactly?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Hi, I have a problem when open Ohana3ds and .bin don't open the pokemon model...

On step 2

An Exception (JIT)

Thanks

If your bin is null ohana will crash, you need to get the workaround version for that
 

Manurocker95

Game Developer & Pokémon Master
OP
Member
Joined
May 29, 2016
Messages
1,476
Trophies
0
Age
26
Location
Madrid
Website
manuelrodriguezmatesanz.com
XP
2,165
Country
Spain
Could you make a youtube tutorial on how to do this please?
What exactly do you need help with? The steps are easy to follow

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Could you make a youtube tutorial on how to do this please?
And anyway, you can get original animations directly from switch
 

DobleSG

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 10, 2019
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
52
XP
32
Country
United States
What exactly do you need help with? The steps are easy to follow

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------


And anyway, you can get original animations directly from switch
nvm i got it working, its just hard to understand with just screenshots for me
 

Trial4life

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Dec 29, 2020
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
17
Country
Italy
Hi everyone.
First of all, thank you for sharing these tutorials and informations.

I'm trying to rendere a basic animation of a Pokémon 3D model inside Blender. I've managed to export all of the models from different games, following this guide step by step. I've extracted the following models:
  • Pokémon Sun;
  • Pokémon Let's GO, Pikachu!;
  • Pokémon Sword.
I was able to export the models in .DAE format, and the animations in the .SMD format, using Ohana3DSGotTextures (OhanaRebirth) for Pokémon Sun, and the Switch Toolbox for the other two.

However, I encounter several problems when I try to import these files inside Blender.

1) Texture issue:
When I import the model inside Blender and try to render it, it seems to load only half of the texture (since the .PNG texture files appear to be symmetric, and "cut in half"), and the other half of the model appears broken (see attached picture "1-Texture.png").
I've tried to mirror the .PNG files using Photoshop, and scaling the UV maps in order to fit the new image texture, but the seams at the center of the models are still there, as you can see in the attached picture "5-Seams.png", so probably this isn't the correct way to fix this issue...

2) Animation issue:
I've followed each step of the tutorial, but I can't get the animations to work... When I import the .DAE, the Armature is loaded perfeclty, and I'm able to manually animate the model without breaking the mesh (see attached picture "2-Skeleton.png").
If I delete the armature as indicated in the tutorial, and then load the .SMD animation, it seems to be loaded correctly (see attached gif "3-Animation.gif"). However, as soon as I parent it with automatic weights, the mesh starts to break when I play the animation (see attached gif "4-Animation_broken.gif"). I've got no idea on what the cause of the problem could be.

Do you know a way to solve these two main issues?

Thanks in advice for the help.
 

Attachments

  • 1-Texture.jpg
    1-Texture.jpg
    251.2 KB · Views: 142
  • 2-Skeleton.png
    2-Skeleton.png
    500.4 KB · Views: 141
  • 3-Animation.gif
    3-Animation.gif
    3.9 MB · Views: 156
  • 4-Animation_broken.gif
    4-Animation_broken.gif
    9.4 MB · Views: 175
  • 5-Seams.png
    5-Seams.png
    472.3 KB · Views: 148
Last edited by Trial4life,

Manurocker95

Game Developer & Pokémon Master
OP
Member
Joined
May 29, 2016
Messages
1,476
Trophies
0
Age
26
Location
Madrid
Website
manuelrodriguezmatesanz.com
XP
2,165
Country
Spain
Hi everyone.
First of all, thank you for sharing these tutorials and informations.

I'm trying to rendere a basic animation of a Pokémon 3D model inside Blender. I've managed to export all of the models from different games, following this guide step by step. I've extracted the following models:
  • Pokémon Sun;
  • Pokémon Let's GO, Pikachu!;
  • Pokémon Sword.
I was able to export the models in .DAE format, and the animations in the .SMD format, using Ohana3DSGotTextures (OhanaRebirth) for Pokémon Sun, and the Switch Toolbox for the other two.

However, I encounter several problems when I try to import these files inside Blender.

1) Texture issue:
When I import the model inside Blender and try to render it, it seems to load only half of the texture (since the .PNG texture files appear to be symmetric, and "cut in half"), and the other half of the model appears broken (see attached picture "1-Texture.png").
I've tried to mirror the .PNG files using Photoshop, and scaling the UV maps in order to fit the new image texture, but the seams at the center of the models are still there, as you can see in the attached picture "5-Seams.png", so probably this isn't the correct way to fix this issue...

2) Animation issue:
I've followed each step of the tutorial, but I can't get the animations to work... When I import the .DAE, the Armature is loaded perfeclty, and I'm able to manually animate the model without breaking the mesh (see attached picture "2-Skeleton.png").
If I delete the armature as indicated in the tutorial, and then load the .SMD animation, it seems to be loaded correctly (see attached gif "3-Animation.gif"). However, as soon as I parent it with automatic weights, the mesh starts to break when I play the animation (see attached gif "4-Animation_broken.gif"). I've got no idea on what the cause of the problem could be.

Do you know a way to solve these two main issues?

Thanks in advice for the help.

the mirroring works because is how GF handles textures and in fact, how we use them in Unity and Blender, but I’m blender noobish so regarding the issue one I don’t see a problem.

Since 2.8 blender always screws my models, so I export the fbx first from 3DS Max before working on blender. Anyway, you should be able to get everything just from 3DS (gen 1 to 7) and gen 8 from swsh.
 

Trial4life

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Dec 29, 2020
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
17
Country
Italy
Since 2.8 blender always screws my models, so I export the fbx first from 3DS Max before working on blender. Anyway, you should be able to get everything just from 3DS (gen 1 to 7) and gen 8 from swsh.

I tried also importing the models from Pokémon Sun (3DS Rom), but I get the exact same problem regarding the animations...
 

Trial4life

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Dec 29, 2020
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
17
Country
Italy
Exporting and working with SMD and DAE works for me for gen 1-7 (usum) out of the box. But Blender being Blender

I tried with a 3DS Rom model and the model is still broken during the animation (se attached gif file). In addition to this, with the 3DS models I can't even get the textures to load properly (the model appears gray..)

Do you think that exporting the .FBX using 3DSMax and then importing it into Blender could fix the problem?

On model-resource website I've found many .FBX models, but they come with the default pose. Could it be possible to extract only the animations I want and load them into those .FBX downloaded from model-resource?
 

Attachments

  • Bulbasaur_broken.gif
    Bulbasaur_broken.gif
    6.7 MB · Views: 157

Manurocker95

Game Developer & Pokémon Master
OP
Member
Joined
May 29, 2016
Messages
1,476
Trophies
0
Age
26
Location
Madrid
Website
manuelrodriguezmatesanz.com
XP
2,165
Country
Spain
I tried with a 3DS Rom model and the model is still broken during the animation (se attached gif file). In addition to this, with the 3DS models I can't even get the textures to load properly (the model appears gray..)

Do you think that exporting the .FBX using 3DSMax and then importing it into Blender could fix the problem?

On model-resource website I've found many .FBX models, but they come with the default pose. Could it be possible to extract only the animations I want and load them into those .FBX downloaded from model-resource?

I got all 3ds pokemon models work perfectly fine on Unity only using blender
 

Trial4life

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Dec 29, 2020
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
17
Country
Italy
I got all 3ds pokemon models work perfectly fine on Unity only using blender

Finally I was able to properly load the animation into the model. The only way I could get it work was to import the model in .SMD format itself, and then importing the .SMD animations into the model, making sure to select "Validate against target" at the "Bone append" option during the .SMD import (see attached screenshot).

However, when I import the model in the .SMD format, it comes with no textures (as you can see from the attached .GIF), even though I exported the .PNGs properly from Ohana3DS. I attached another screenshot to show you the texture files: they are renamed as the original texture names, but I can't find a way to automatically load them into the model. This is the last step I'm missing, then everything should be perfect.
 

Attachments

  • SMD-import-settings.png
    SMD-import-settings.png
    35 KB · Views: 157
  • Texture-files.png
    Texture-files.png
    103.6 KB · Views: 154
  • Charizard_animated.gif
    Charizard_animated.gif
    9.3 MB · Views: 170

1B51004

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2020
Messages
304
Trophies
1
XP
884
Country
United States
However, when I import the model in the .SMD format, it comes with no textures (as you can see from the attached .GIF), even though I exported the .PNGs properly from Ohana3DS. I attached another screenshot to show you the texture files: they are renamed as the original texture names, but I can't find a way to automatically load them into the model. This is the last step I'm missing, then everything should be perfect.
Unless if I'm wrong, you can't load in textures automatically in Blender. You could try this however
One thing however, the base textures are going to be one sided, you need to multiply it on the opposite side of the image
pm0828_00_Body1.png
This is what I'm talking about.
(stupid website. cant load timestamps correctly. part you need is about at 2:20)
 
Last edited by 1B51004,

Sichon

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Mar 12, 2021
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
22
Country
Belgium
Hi, thank you very much for this tutorial, it is awesome!
However I have a texture problem when I import my .dae file into 3DSmax.

If I export as in photo 1 I have the result of photo 2 in 3DSmax. I have the right modeling but I don't have the textures.
If I export as in photo 3 I have the result of photo 4 in 3DSmax. I don't have the right modeling but the textures seem to work better.

Does anyone have a solution?

Thank you very much!
 

Attachments

  • 4.jpg
    4.jpg
    208.9 KB · Views: 57
  • 3.jpg
    3.jpg
    120.8 KB · Views: 53
  • 2.jpg
    2.jpg
    223.2 KB · Views: 64
  • 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    119.9 KB · Views: 61

Manurocker95

Game Developer & Pokémon Master
OP
Member
Joined
May 29, 2016
Messages
1,476
Trophies
0
Age
26
Location
Madrid
Website
manuelrodriguezmatesanz.com
XP
2,165
Country
Spain
Hi, thank you very much for this tutorial, it is awesome!
However I have a texture problem when I import my .dae file into 3DSmax.

If I export as in photo 1 I have the result of photo 2 in 3DSmax. I have the right modeling but I don't have the textures.
If I export as in photo 3 I have the result of photo 4 in 3DSmax. I don't have the right modeling but the textures seem to work better.

Does anyone have a solution?

Thank you very much!

assign them to the material x)
 

Sichon

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Mar 12, 2021
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
22
Country
Belgium
Thank you for your answer!
I am new to 3DSmax, can you explain to me in two words how to do it please?

I arrive at this result.
Can you tell me why I have this problem with my eyes and mouth?
 

Attachments

  • 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    209.1 KB · Views: 68
Last edited by Sichon,

NumiChan

New Member
Newbie
Joined
May 3, 2021
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
28
Country
Germany
Hey there,
great work with this tutorial.

I've followed it all the way, but every time i try to do it with the Sun&Moon Machop-model, I get this not-moving Iris-part, that I can't remove.
Anybody and idea how to get rid of it?
Thanks in advance for yout help.
 

Attachments

  • Machop Error.jpg
    Machop Error.jpg
    254.7 KB · Views: 37

Manurocker95

Game Developer & Pokémon Master
OP
Member
Joined
May 29, 2016
Messages
1,476
Trophies
0
Age
26
Location
Madrid
Website
manuelrodriguezmatesanz.com
XP
2,165
Country
Spain
Hey there,
great work with this tutorial.

I've followed it all the way, but every time i try to do it with the Sun&Moon Machop-model, I get this not-moving Iris-part, that I can't remove.
Anybody and idea how to get rid of it?
Thanks in advance for yout help.

It maybe because of the skinned mesh attached to the bone. Anyway, as machop is gen 1, you better directly use USUM model instead of SWSH one, or directly swsh/PLGPE one (as they have same UVs).

This tutorial was only useful before animations could be extracted
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: Mirrors aren't humor