ROM Hack [Tutorial] How to Decrypt, Extract & Rebuild 3DS|CIA|CXI Files

  • Thread starter Asia81
  • Start date
  • Views 1,195,342
  • Replies 1,661
  • Likes 93

How is my english?

  • So bad...

    Votes: 62 7.5%
  • Good, sometimes it's not understandable

    Votes: 127 15.4%
  • Very understandable

    Votes: 503 60.8%
  • Perfect?

    Votes: 135 16.3%

  • Total voters
    827

KryptoBeastYT

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Mar 7, 2021
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
12
Country
United States
My dbz game has spaces in between AND has a .3ds extension.. Also it says that it decrypted successfully in the app but there is absolutely no difference.. Is my file wrong? If not then where is the decrypted file saved?
 

luckyboy66666666

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 6, 2019
Messages
35
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
100
Country
United States
I managed to extract a CIA without issues through this guide. However, when I try to rebuild the CIA (no matter whether I make any changes to the extracted files or leave them untouched) I get an error from the makerom.exe: "Application couldn't be started (0xc000007b). Klick OK to close the application."

Any clues on how to fix that? I only wanted to change the Title ID on a CIA and this is proving to me a much bigger hassle than I expected...
I am having this problem as well.

Reason is its missing the major entry in the build. The exe is just a bat file.

Change the following lines.

Code:
set /p OutputRomCIA="Write your output .CIA filename (without extension) : "
set /p MinorVer="Original minor version (write 0 if you don't know) : "
set /p MicroVer="Original micro version (write 0 if you don't know) : "

to this

set /p OutputRomCIA="Write your output .CIA filename (without extension) : "
set /p MajorVer="Original major version (write 0 if you don't know) : "
set /p MinorVer="Original minor version (write 0 if you don't know) : "
set /p MicroVer="Original micro version (write 0 if you don't know) : "

Code:
"makerom.exe" -target p -ignoresign -f cia %ARG0% %ARG1% %ARG2% -minor %MinorVer% -micro %MicroVer% -o %OutputRomCIA%_Edited.cia >NUL 2>NUL

to this

"makerom.exe" -target p -ignoresign -f cia %ARG0% %ARG1% %ARG2% -major %MajorVer% -minor %MinorVer% -micro %MicroVer% -o %OutputRomCIA%_Edited.cia >NUL 2>NUL

Now when prompted enter the full version number.

This seemed to affect the problem, although the conclusion was ultimately the same.
"makerom.exe: Application couldn't be started (0xc000007b)"

Heck, just running makerom.exe itself causes the error.
 
Last edited by luckyboy66666666,

NeoOracle45

New Member
Newbie
Joined
May 14, 2021
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
44
Country
United States
I'm getting ucrtbased.dll and vcruntime140_1.dll not found when trying to rebuild cia. I have reinstalled and uninstalled visual studio redistributable 2010-2017 but it won't work.
 
Last edited by NeoOracle45,

DuoForce

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2017
Messages
637
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
1,486
Country
United States
I have a decrypted 3ds game that is simply not extracting.
13g81db

https://prnt.sc/13g81db
I don't know what I did wrong or why the RomFS won't extract. Any help or am I shit out of luck?
 

botik

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2017
Messages
104
Trophies
0
XP
1,329
Country
Russia
I have a decrypted 3ds game that is simply not extracting.
13g81db

https://prnt.sc/13g81db
I don't know what I did wrong or why the RomFS won't extract. Any help or am I shit out of luck?

All decrypt games .3ds (for citra) created incorrectly.Game decrypted but the crypto flag(in NCCH) remains the same original. The utility sees the flag and carries out decryption of an already decrypted game, in other words, on the contrary, it encrypts
 

DuoForce

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2017
Messages
637
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
1,486
Country
United States
All decrypt games .3ds (for citra) created incorrectly.Game decrypted but the crypto flag(in NCCH) remains the same original. The utility sees the flag and carries out decryption of an already decrypted game, in other words, on the contrary, it encrypts
Nah, it was decrypted the whole time. I just used Version 9 and it worked perfectly (:
 

ClancyDaEnlightened

GBAtemp Official Psychonaut
Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2008
Messages
1,730
Trophies
1
Location
somewhere within 4 dimensional space-time
XP
2,466
Country
United States
using makerom with elf i can make a .3ds rom, but gateway won't load it, i've done everything i can think of, even using decrypt9 didn't work, shows up fine within gateway loader, however it won't load the rom into the cart


ive tried every makerom version, all the way till 2014


thanks to the flashcard and hardware extension haters now i cant figure out how to write my own home brew and run it using gateway, because of a brick i have yet to encounter.


i know it definitely works, as i ran other .3ds based home brew fine
 
Last edited by ClancyDaEnlightened,

Yggdrasil_Dono

Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 28, 2016
Messages
16
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
408
Country
Gambia, The
I am currently trying to rebuild a cia but running into some issues. During the rebuild, it tells me that two dll files are missing (VCRUNTIME140D.DLL and UCRTBASED.DLL). If I get those two and put them in the right folder, the error message goes away, but then it says that makerom.exe has an error and cannot be started. What could be the issue here?
 

Cakekey

New Member
Newbie
Joined
May 26, 2021
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
18
Country
United States
I've been attempting to rebuild my CIA, but the output files are only 1 to 15kb(compared to the original CIA being 1.7gb). I haven't moved any edited files from their original file paths, and the toolkit itself never indicates any errors with the process. It just keeps spitting out what are essentially empty CIAs.

Has anyone else experienced this?
 

HelpTheWretched

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2010
Messages
257
Trophies
0
XP
992
Country
Canada
"makerom.exe: Application couldn't be started (0xc000007b)"

Heck, just running makerom.exe itself causes the error.
Also having this issue.

I tried taking all the extracted files/folders and rebuilding the .cia with some older HackingToolkit versions. 11 and 10 had the same problem. 9 appeared to work, but no .cia file was created (I'm guessing because of a difference in the encryption process?)
 

FerdinandoPH

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 24, 2017
Messages
19
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
193
Country
Spain
Also having this issue.

I tried taking all the extracted files/folders and rebuilding the .cia with some older HackingToolkit versions. 11 and 10 had the same problem. 9 appeared to work, but no .cia file was created (I'm guessing because of a difference in the encryption process?)

I am having this problem as well.



This seemed to affect the problem, although the conclusion was ultimately the same.
"makerom.exe: Application couldn't be started (0xc000007b)"

Heck, just running makerom.exe itself causes the error.
I also have the same issue. If I try to build a .3ds file, I get a 0kb file, if I try to build a cia, I get DLL problems, and if I add them it will get the 0xc000007b) error.
So, is there ANY way to create a rom? if not, is there another program?
 

HelpTheWretched

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2010
Messages
257
Trophies
0
XP
992
Country
Canada
I also have the same issue. If I try to build a .3ds file, I get a 0kb file, if I try to build a cia, I get DLL problems, and if I add them it will get the 0xc000007b) error.
So, is there ANY way to create a rom? if not, is there another program?
There are older versions available at OP's Github link. Try version 9, which was the last version before it became HackingToolkit9DS. The main difference is you'll need to decrypt any roms yourself, but I've never had any program errors like with versions 10 to 12.
 

alexia99hunter

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Aug 23, 2021
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
2
Country
United States
Okay so- I'm not sure why but I'm not getting the folders extracted at all, it gives me all the .bins files but nothing else. What am I doing wrong/how can I fix it?
 

Lufvave

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 12, 2021
Messages
13
Trophies
0
XP
74
Country
Zimbabwe
Hello, could I request some help?
Whenever I try to extract a banner.bin file, it says that it's succesfully extracted, but it didn't actually do anything
I have tried this for all sorts of banners and by now propably all versions of Hacking Tookit 9/3DS, I tried this on several different computers with different versions of windows 10 and even windows 7 and I just cannot get it to work, no matter what I do
pls help
 

blazer728544

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 27, 2021
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
17
Country
United States
alright so everything worked fine exept i edited exheader and that didnt change anything and when i reconstruct after changing anything it doesent make a cia file any fixes?
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    AncientBoi @ AncientBoi: :rofl2::rofl2::rofl2::rofl2::rofl2: