?
  1. So bad...

    59 vote(s)
    7.5%
  2. Good, sometimes it's not understandable

    121 vote(s)
    15.3%
  3. Very understandable

    480 vote(s)
    60.8%
  4. Perfect?

    130 vote(s)
    16.5%
  5. 790 voter(s)
  1. BigPigeon

    BigPigeon Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2019
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    So I've been messing around with different ways to convert from .3ds to .bin and have given HackingTools a try. I used ctrtools before to extract a romfs.bin and it worked just fine, however since that system doesn't seem to convert back to .3ds I'm experimenting with this too.

    Here's the problem that I'm seeing.

    HackingTools9DS converts from .3ds to .bin, no problem. But when I try to convert back to .3ds, the output file is called "<Filename>-Edited" and it's much smaller than the initial .3ds file that I converted from.

    Is there a step that I'm missing here? I'm literally doing the bare minimum of inputs. Nothing has been edited within the .bin files themselves, all I'm doing is extracting and rebuilding (Using the D and R commands, respectively).

    Screenshot below showing the exact layout of my HackingTools folder

    -AwakeningOriginal.3ds is the .3ds file that I'm working from
    -DecryptedRomFS.bin is the extracted .bin that I'm trying to rebuild. It's file size is identical to the roms.bin that ctrtools created from the same .3ds ROM.
    -Awakening_Edited.3ds is the rebuilt ROM. Note the file-size difference. I also didn't instruct HackingTools to add the "_Edited" part to the filename, it did that by itself. Needless to say it doesn't run.

    EDIT: Figured this one out myself. I was using the V12 release of HackingTools instead of V9, which is the one that is compatible with decrypted ROMs. Tried V9 and it worked like a charm.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by BigPigeon, Jan 3, 2020
  2. jcookie3

    jcookie3 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
     
  3. september796

    september796 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    208
    Country:
    Cote d'Ivoire
    @Asia81 Can you reupload the non-debug build of makerom.exe please? those damn dlls are a pain to install on w7 :gun:
     
    DSwizzy likes this.
  4. Japones

    Japones Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Brazil
    Hi
    I am trying to use this application to be able to apply my translation
    I managed to extract without problems and completely translated the game
    but when I tried to rebuild it didn't work
    could someone help me please.
    (PS: I'm Brazilian
    Sorry for my bad English)
     
    Last edited by Japones, Feb 1, 2020
  5. Jorchking

    Jorchking Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2017
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    Argentina
    nowhere indicates where the .cia should be to be detected by the program. Help!! I put the .cia in the same location of the .exe and it quickly says that was extracted but actually nothing happened.
    EDIT: I guess the program has a limited character length. I did it with 10 now and worked like charm, but now I have problem rebuilding to a .cia. It showed up something klike "Makerom.exe - system error" "ucrtbased.dll was not found". Other error showed too something like VCR....dll . Help!!
     
    Last edited by Jorchking, Feb 11, 2020
  6. LUSI

    LUSI Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Portugal
    hackingtoold3ds does not extract ultra moon succesfully. It extracts nothing while being happy that it extracted succesfully. How do i solve this? I've been trying to edit it with pk3ds for days now...

    Yes it's a decrypted 3ds file, yes im using the right v9 version, yes it has a small name with no spaces, yes i run as administrator, yes i installed setupus beforehand. None of the fixes suggested work. Clap.
     
  7. JaggerLagger

    JaggerLagger Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Edit: Nevermind I figured it out. I'd delete this if I could.
     
    Last edited by JaggerLagger, Mar 3, 2020
  8. Hyoretsu

    Hyoretsu Itosugi Masahiro's Loyal Reader
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    1,594
    Country:
    Brazil
    Me trying to extract MapleStory rom to apply translation
     
  9. LUSI

    LUSI Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Portugal
    I've succesfully managed to extract and rebuild ULTRA MOON (which is something i haven't seen anyone be able to do yet since there are no tutorials or fixes for it anywhere and everyone just accepted it's impossible).

    My rom of ultra moon is labelled as a .3ds file, but that's not what it really is. I noticed, by opening citra, that its true file type is NCCH, not 3ds or other more common types of rom. That might be the case with your MapleStory too. If it is, To Extract and rebuild NCCH files, hackingtools does not work. Search for a program called GabrieloRomTools, it can handle NCCH (this program is present in a thread in this very forum). Don't forget to use the NCCH sectiion of that program even if the rom is labelled as something else.
     
  10. Theone5000

    Theone5000 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    Netherlands
    For those who (still) have problems with the makerom.exe missing/error ucrtbased.dll and VCRUNTIME140D.dll files rebuilding a .cia file with the V11 version
    Solution: I downloaded both dll files (search on Google) and placed both DLL files into the C:\Program Files (x86)\HackingToolkit9DS folder.
    Rebuilding a .cia was no problem anymore.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    This might be a N00b question (but he, i'm learning)...

    I have 2 .cia files 1) PokemonSun.cia & 2) PokemonSunupdate v1.2
    Is it possible to extract and rebuild both into 1 .cia file so that the original PokemonSun.cia has v1.2
     
  11. Pokemonfan1756

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2020
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    Hi, when I try to repack the cia, the application literally slows down my computer a lot and then after a little while it freezes up. can you fix it?
     
  12. EpicLPer

    EpicLPer Nice unless you give me a reason to hate you ;)
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,056
    Country:
    Austria
    Fix is simple: Get a better PC. Your CPU is at fault and too slow.
     
  13. Pokemonfan1756

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2020
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    dude it was Originally Windows 7 it shouldn't be that bad. I don't think cpu has anything to do with this.
     
  14. BillG

    BillG Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 5, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Seriously how about this? The dll's needed all have multiple versions out there, many of which don't work, and also depend on which specific version of Windows you're using.
    I've tried on 7, 8.1 and 10 and cannot find a combo that works on any of them. Either provide them with it, or at least put up a non debug build...
     
  15. AlejandroVVV

    AlejandroVVV Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Argentina
    Hi, guys!
    Plz advise how to edit image.bin files?
    I exported this rom, but i'm unable to view or edit images.
    The Game is True Remembrance (Kioku no Kakera) for 3DS
     
    Last edited by AlejandroVVV, May 18, 2020
  16. universales

    universales Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2020
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Spain
    When trying to create any cia file, the program gives me an error "0xc000007b".
    Seems to be a problem of windows 10 x64
    Anyone else has happened?
    Any solution?
     
  17. YoshiGamerXD

    YoshiGamerXD Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Germany
    How i can Change the Game Icon File icon.bin ?
     
  18. wad11656

    wad11656 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    87
    Country:
    United States
  19. KibouSN

    KibouSN Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    All I get from extracting the .cia is a bunch of bin files. How do I get into those?
     
  20. DSwizzy

    DSwizzy GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2018
    Messages:
    253
    Country:
    United States
    I'd never got HackingToolkit9DS when i used the Setup.exe that came with it. should i copy the folder over from my Desktop to the Program Files directory?
     
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - 3DS|CIA|CXI, [Tutorial], Decrypt