ROM Hack [Tutorial] How to Decrypt, Extract & Rebuild 3DS|CIA|CXI Files

  • Thread starter Asia81
  • Start date
  • Views 1,213,264
  • Replies 1,662
  • Likes 93

How is my english?

  • So bad...

    Votes: 62 7.5%
  • Good, sometimes it's not understandable

    Votes: 128 15.4%
  • Very understandable

    Votes: 503 60.5%
  • Perfect?

    Votes: 138 16.6%

  • Total voters
    831

Asia81

Yuri Lover ~
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2014
Messages
6,253
Trophies
3
Age
27
XP
1,911
Country
France

Next update (V4.5) will can extract all .3ds and .cia in the same folder as my Extractor.
All .3ds and .cia will need to be fully decrypted (with Decrypt9), so no xorpads for now (I'm adding the support)...

Thanks @d0k3 for your help
 

dushbadge

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 23, 2013
Messages
29
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
175
Country
Canada
Yeah, I'm not understanding why when I try to decrypt the code.bin file, CMD beeps like 3 times and doesn't do anything. I am stuck with all these bin files that I wish to extract but it won't let me.
 

pikatsu

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2014
Messages
831
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
934
Country
Argentina
Hello, i made a port with my problem but did not get any answer. I have tried to unpack Medarot 9 rom and took the files below,
after that i have unpacked romfs.bin and made some changes on the text files but as many times i tried to repack them with 3DS Builder the tool does not recognise the games serial. Also it gives no error on the creation of the 3ds file. Now when i try to xorpad the new 3ds rom it gives no manual, partition and update xorpad and the cia game created by them installs ok but loads black screen and always crashes when i am trying to open it on emunand. Any ideas?
 

Attachments

  • 1.PNG
    1.PNG
    5.4 KB · Views: 208

Dark Pulse

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 8, 2016
Messages
43
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
95
Country
United States
Hi, I just tried to use your tool to extract contents from a game, only to find that it failed to extract anything for me. Stuff would flash by and within a third of a second, it was asking for Code.bin... which it also would not extract. And I know my ROM was decrypted by Decrypt9; it even confirms the ROM is decrypted when I try to run it through a second time.

So I kept running it, and quickly tried to smack Printscreen to get a picture of why - and when I finally succeeded, "why" became apparent.

010e9de988.png


My Windows username has a space within it, and your program is (presumably) trying to write or read to the AppData directory within it. But since it does not account for the possibility of spaces in usernames, it just completely craps out and fails to do pretty much anything. No files get extracted, no work gets done - nada.

A fix for this would be most appreciated, as without it, I can't do much with your program. :)

(It not quickly clearing the window without user confirmation - i.e; adding in a "press key to continue" of some sort - would also be a nice bonus.)
 
  • Like
Reactions: lys1030

Ninoh-FOX

Otaku Gamer!!
Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2015
Messages
535
Trophies
0
Age
42
Location
Military base.
Website
colorslive.com
XP
630
Country
Spain
Great tool @Asia8 (I love you hahahahaha) I try rebuild KH3D with spanish patch, but I can not boot the 3ds file created in SK3DS+ (renamed to 3ds.bad), but "beyond the labyrinth" works fine with english patch, then I tried to inject in patch rom the first 0x4000 hex dats from original file, but only show a White icon...
 

Ninoh-FOX

Otaku Gamer!!
Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2015
Messages
535
Trophies
0
Age
42
Location
Military base.
Website
colorslive.com
XP
630
Country
Spain
the most that I can make with the game (Kingdom Hearts esp patch) is boot after putting the parties modified with an editor hexadecimal in a clean rom and decrypted, then went back to encrypt and the sky3ds + has recognized the game, but when it does the logo of Nintendo 3DS me says "there was an error, please reboot the console ..." the problem is I have to remove about 5120 bits of french from the file "menssege.rbit" , otherwise to encrypt rom gives me failure partition because the size exceeds ... If I remove those bits then it generates the rom, but then fails after booting.

And if I used the tool of @Asia81 the code.bin is security Key 0, then sky3ds+ renamer the rom how *.3ds.bad
 
Last edited by Ninoh-FOX,

lys1030

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 8, 2015
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
66
Country
United States
Hi, I just tried to use your tool to extract contents from a game, only to find that it failed to extract anything for me. Stuff would flash by and within a third of a second, it was asking for Code.bin... which it also would not extract. And I know my ROM was decrypted by Decrypt9; it even confirms the ROM is decrypted when I try to run it through a second time.

So I kept running it, and quickly tried to smack Printscreen to get a picture of why - and when I finally succeeded, "why" became apparent.

010e9de988.png


My Windows username has a space within it, and your program is (presumably) trying to write or read to the AppData directory within it. But since it does not account for the possibility of spaces in usernames, it just completely craps out and fails to do pretty much anything. No files get extracted, no work gets done - nada.

A fix for this would be most appreciated, as without it, I can't do much with your program. :)

(It not quickly clearing the window without user confirmation - i.e; adding in a "press key to continue" of some sort - would also be a nice bonus.)
I'm glad you spot that. Same issue here! Thx buddy!
 

lys1030

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 8, 2015
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
66
Country
United States
I used method 2 (decrypt9) to decrypt the MHX.3DS game, but the size of the file didn't change after the decryption. Is it normal?
 

gridatttack

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2009
Messages
475
Trophies
0
XP
257
Country
El Salvador
So I tried to make custom music for smash.

However, the resulting cia gives me an error after its installed and I try to launch it (The black screen which says an error has ocurred)

The file size 300mb bigger than the original smash. Could this be the problem?
 

steve1316

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 24, 2013
Messages
31
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
97
Country
United States
Hi, I just tried to use your tool to extract contents from a game, only to find that it failed to extract anything for me. Stuff would flash by and within a third of a second, it was asking for Code.bin... which it also would not extract. And I know my ROM was decrypted by Decrypt9; it even confirms the ROM is decrypted when I try to run it through a second time.

So I kept running it, and quickly tried to smack Printscreen to get a picture of why - and when I finally succeeded, "why" became apparent.

010e9de988.png


My Windows username has a space within it, and your program is (presumably) trying to write or read to the AppData directory within it. But since it does not account for the possibility of spaces in usernames, it just completely craps out and fails to do pretty much anything. No files get extracted, no work gets done - nada.

A fix for this would be most appreciated, as without it, I can't do much with your program. :)

(It not quickly clearing the window without user confirmation - i.e; adding in a "press key to continue" of some sort - would also be a nice bonus.)

I'm also having the same issue. I tried method 2 to decrypt my Pokemon Omega ruby rom that is is .3ds format. Any solutions? I'm on Windows 10 btw.
 

steve1316

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 24, 2013
Messages
31
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
97
Country
United States
I'm also having the same issue. I tried method 2 to decrypt my Pokemon Omega ruby rom that is is .3ds format. Any solutions? I'm on Windows 10 btw.

Oh wait nvm. I seem to have downloaded an older version of the Rom Hack Starter Pack and it was missing a LOT of stuff. Downloaded the latest version and I was able to extract my decrypted rom. Yay!
 

pikatsu

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2014
Messages
831
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
934
Country
Argentina
I have problem with 3ds bulding. When trying to boot repacked medarot 9 always crashing before it boots. The same happens even if i repack the game without any change. Also 3dsb command always open cmd command promt and not the tool
 
Last edited by pikatsu,

Asia81

Yuri Lover ~
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2014
Messages
6,253
Trophies
3
Age
27
XP
1,911
Country
France
I have problem with 3ds bulding. When trying to boot repacked medarot 9 always crashing before it boots. The same happens even if i repack the game without any change. Also 3dsb command always open cmd command promt and not the tool
Ok, It's fixed, for others FS command too.
Will upload the fix in the day
 

nooby89

A normal member with a stupid alias
Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2015
Messages
1,625
Trophies
0
XP
648
Country
Canada
When I start RFSB
What can I do?
Because I don't know what do on this part...

You can answer me in French, I speak in French!:lol:
 
Last edited by nooby89,
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Veho @ Veho: https://i.imgur.com/8Bj96q1.mp4