[Tutorial]How to break the game limit on red button Sky3DS cartridges

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by Arithmatics, Dec 10, 2014.

  1. warnings

    Member warnings GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    163
    Country:
    Canada
    out of 12 roms...2 or 3 had only one instance that needed to be changed, most had two but some had three.
    Don't know if your allowed to post the rom names...so I won't.
     


  2. dawnbomb

    Member dawnbomb GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    Canada

    its fine that kinda stuff is public anyway. i'm almost done, soon i'll upload a updated template

    http://www.mediafire.com/download/b28duz9vz4x4mve/2TEMPLATE.zip

    here is template 2, made by myself. F8 00 98 is the most common hexes after the edit, with 80% of strings being that. of the other 20%, their default hexes were all over, about 100 diffrent types i would imagine. if same type hexes lead to a same result, this means this new template would make about 80% of games say NO EEPROM by default.

    feel free to test it out and get back to me, i'll make a seperate post about it elsewhere.

    please test it. i'ma take a break, took about two hours.
     
  3. donkeymilk

    Member donkeymilk GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    143
    Country:
    United States
  4. dawnbomb

    Member dawnbomb GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    Canada
    my bad here you go

    http://www.mediafire.com/download/b28duz9vz4x4mve/2TEMPLATE.zip

    mediafire was doing something to it because of its format, so i had to put it in folder.

    if you get a no eeprom, tell me the CTR-P code, i would like to see for myself why it is.

    also, i know for a fact roms larger then 2.1 GB will not work with this template. they use their own hex to replace F8/98. so for now i don't need to hear about those. I would have to know the CTR-P code of every single rom larger then 2.1GB to fix that anyway, so for those you pretty much gotta edit it yourself still. thankfully most 3DS games arn't that big.
     
  5. donkeymilk

    Member donkeymilk GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    143
    Country:
    United States

    Hmmm... First two I tried came up as EEPROM "YES".

    Cooking Mama and New Super Mario 2
    • CTR-P-ACQE
    • CTR-P-ABEE

    When I swapped to my modified file, it worked - came over as "NO".
     
  6. dawnbomb

    Member dawnbomb GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    Canada

    i just tested adding New super mario bros 2 and i got No eeprom from the template i provided.

    is there any chance what you did was, test it by

    1. adding mario to it using my template and got yes
    2. used the program get the CTR-P code and edit your own template
    3. add it using your edited template.

    if thats what you did, i maybe know why it failed. when you use the program to get the CTR-P it is indeed called a 'converter' and it tells you to backup the rom. if all it did was get info, there would be no need to back the rom up. its highly likely then that the converter does actually do something to the rom. and you get yes eeprom because you tried adding it, altho using my template, but before putting it into the converter.

    i did not test cooking mama, (and i'm not going to)

    if you want message me your skype name and we can try and work it out faster then on a forum. this is not only for the person above me, but anyone interested in getting this sorted out. even if you don't think you can help, someone to help test stuff is help enough.
     
    Arithmatics likes this.
  7. donkeymilk

    Member donkeymilk GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    143
    Country:
    United States

    I don't think so. For instance, CTR-P-EGDE, has two entries in the file I downloaded from Sky and your template file - line 334, 50062. The headers are as follows:

    Code:
    ** : CTR-P-EGDE
     
    SHA1: 524E26D6612866710F9AA1B6F78776F017B5D759
    00 00 00 00 AE FA 00 98 00 00 00 00 08 E8 F7 17
    ...
     
    ** : CTR-P-EGDE
     
    SHA1: 524E26D6612866710F9AA1B6F78776F017B5D759
    00 00 00 00 C2 F8 00 90 C2 22 13 00 08 E8 F7 17
    ...

    Your file (Template 1208.txt) :

    Code:
    ** : CTR-P-EGDE
     
    SHA1: 524E26D6612866710F9AA1B6F78776F017B5D759
    00 00 00 00 AE FA 00 98 00 00 00 00 08 E8 F7 17
    ...
     
    ** : CTR-P-EGDE
     
    SHA1: 524E26D6612866710F9AA1B6F78776F017B5D759
    00 00 00 00 C2 F8 00 90 C2 22 13 00 08 E8 F7 17
    ...

    Methinks you uploaded the wrong file by accident...
     
  8. dawnbomb

    Member dawnbomb GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    Canada
    your right, now i did two incorrect links. there goes my internet reputation.

    third time is the charm

    http://www.mediafire.com/download/b28duz9vz4x4mve/2TEMPLATE.zip

    it was easy to tell you were right, my template has a 2 before its name.

    now to edit all my links

    (i swear to many gods that had better be the right link with the right file this time)
     
  9. donkeymilk

    Member donkeymilk GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    143
    Country:
    United States
    More better.

    I opened up a ROM that I had never written to the cart and it came up as NO. Nice.

    I didn't use the "convertor" on that file. Going to see what happens.


    UPDATE: Yeah, it refuses to launch the game. CRC check shows that the convertor does seem to do something to the ROMs - but what?
     
    Arithmatics likes this.
  10. dawnbomb

    Member dawnbomb GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    Canada
    yeah i just tested pokemon X and conception 2, both came up as no.

    in other words, this works. i also went ahead and tested saves, it works fine, no matter what you do.

    i have heard however if you have more then 10 games on your micro sd at one time then you gotta do dumb special stuff involving going to your settings all the time. but you can always backup the saves by backing up the game itself with the writing tool (you must backup the game and not the save, as when eeprom is no, the save is part of the game, they count as one)

    before i make a topic about this, wanna go ahead and test other various games out? again, anything over 2.1 GB won't work. (or atleast is highly unlikly, and the majority will fail with eeprom = yes)

    personally, i just won't keep 10+ games on my microsd at once, thats my simple answer. i'll just remove some to add others. i do have a 32gb micro, so its kinda a waste of space, but better then the hassle of what you gotta do to keep saves working with 10+, and besides, i might hit 32GB anyway when putting games bigger then 2.1 GB on there anyway.
     
  11. donkeymilk

    Member donkeymilk GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    143
    Country:
    United States
    Yep. I'm testing out the "stupid stuff' that needs to be done to commit a save now. My EEPROM is still virgin so all of the ROMs written were "NO" thus far.
     
  12. dawnbomb

    Member dawnbomb GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    Canada
    cool, let me know.

    by the way, i forgot what the dumb stuff is, mind posting what we gotta do if i want 10+ games on it here in your own words?

    also mind testing what happens if you have 10+ then delete some to go back to say 7, does normal saves work or you gotta do the dumb stuff? also make sure to confirm you DO actually gotta do the dumb crap with 10+ on it. (yaknow, just to be sure)

    as yours is virgin, i'll say, when normally 10 and under, it doesn't matter what you do the saves are fine. you can even remove the cartrage while saving and it'll be fine. (altho that example might corrupt that specific games saves in its own obvious way, but the other games saves are fine.) i tested this all myself, nomatter what you do the saves are fine, short of deleteing the game off the card. again when eeprom is no, saves are apart of the game itself, so delete game = nukeing the save. thankfully the writing tool allows us to back up the game. (this keeps the save intact, and on your pc)
     
  13. donkeymilk

    Member donkeymilk GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    143
    Country:
    United States
    So far there doesn't seem to be any fancy things that need to be done to save game progress. I have noticed that if I add more than 10 games to the cart (I had 13) when I press the red button to select the next game it works fine - until I get to the 11 game. Then it shows the ROM, skips to the next, then the next, then back to ROM #1. Can't play 11 - 13.

    Also, I'm having an issue with Mario Kart 7 - "The game card cannot be read. Please remove and reinsert the game card."
     
  14. dawnbomb

    Member dawnbomb GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    Canada
    i get that error with pokemon X, i don't know why. (and that was literally the first game i tested, purpsely adding it with eeprom yes and still no go) i heard its a bug with the current writer, i'm to lazy to use the older writer tho (yet).

    so from your tests, saves don't get corrupt at all, games 11+ can't be selected tho. what happens if you delete games 7-10 so the old 11-13 becomes the new 7-10. can they then be selected? if so, then its pretty much good to go, right?

    if i get a yes, i'll go ahead and make a topic with all this.
     
  15. donkeymilk

    Member donkeymilk GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    143
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, so I basically added 4 more ROMs to make the total 14 - Wrote them out to the microSD. Then I deleted 4 "in the middle". Now when I cycle the cart, games 7, 8, 9, an 10 load, but then it loads the next ROM. This happens until it cycles back to the #1 ROM on the cart.

    Er... that's not what I was expecting. I'm going to have to flush this and rewrite all the ROMs to get it to work correctly now.
     
  16. dawnbomb

    Member dawnbomb GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    Canada
    few more things i'd like you to test.

    1. Have 9 or 10 games, remove 3, then add three different ones. does it still make the scroll bug? (it might, you are still only having 10 or less games as you just did, and you are still having them be different then they previously were.)

    2. Make a save on game 1(ish), 7, and 8. delete game 7. check the save on game 1 and the old game 8, now game 7.

    heard various things readings tons around various forums, alot of them are using other programs as well, so its hard to tell whats because of them, or a card issue with our new ability to delete and add new games. these are things i'd like confirmation on. also i read somewhere about what you just posted. there was indeed a method to activate the games during the scrolling bug, but if you wanted to run say, game 9, when games 7 8 and 9 were affected. you had to run game 6 (yes 6) somehow, go to home, switch and run 7, repeat for 8, and then finally for 9. the process would take forever.

    for me, its something that would be unacceptably annoying, expecially when there is a easy solution alternative. (atleast i hope so, if your results on my tests come out good)
     
  17. donkeymilk

    Member donkeymilk GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    143
    Country:
    United States
    This is the exact scenario I outlined above. Or is it? I had 10 games on the cart - worked fine. Opened dickwriter, added 4 more ROMs. That made the total 14, then I deleted 4 random ones (between 1 and 10). When I ran the cart I experienced the "scroll bug" as you call it.

    I'm in the process of formatting the cart and putting 10 on to see how it responds. I've also dumped the entire ROM off of the cart (hopefully, including the save data) to see if that is restored when I rewrite the ROM.

    It might be tomorrow before I can try scenario #2.


    Update: save data was NOT restored by restoring the copied ROM back to the cart after formatting.
     
  18. dawnbomb

    Member dawnbomb GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    Canada
    it was not the same actually, what you did was go above 10, to like 14, before going back to ten. my test is to never go past 10, go down to like 7, then back up to 10, but still see what happens.

    also, i can 'confirm' save restore is 'bugged'. it only works on some games. it might have something to do with how it saves the data, or the save format the game reads. its basically a loaded gamble. in short, just don't do or rely on it.

    on one hand if you have 10 games, and beaten none, and want more. you're probably not REALLY interested in beating all 10.
     
  19. donkeymilk

    Member donkeymilk GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    143
    Country:
    United States
    It seems like the "scroll bug" is game specific. I formatted the cart and put 4 ROMs on it. 2 were fine, but 2 (tetris and new leaf) skipped right over.

    I'll have to investigate this more tomorrow.
     
  20. dawnbomb

    Member dawnbomb GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    Canada
    alright, more tomorrow then. i'll hold off making a topic with our findings till were all done.

    update: to play the games that auto cycle past themself, press and hold the red button for about 5 seconds. press a twice to run the next game. (when you hold the red button, it won't load the next game till you release, and pressing A will run it for you when it loads instead of cycling past itself)
     

Share This Page