[Tutorial]How to break the game limit on red button Sky3DS cartridges

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by Arithmatics, Dec 10, 2014.

  1. Arithmatics
    OP

    Member Arithmatics I'll be holding on to you. ;}

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,058
    Country:
    Malaysia
    He was talking about method 2 If i'm not mistaken.
     


  2. warnings

    Member warnings GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    168
    Country:
    Canada
    So if you have a never used sky3ds and set all roms to No eprom using the crack tool...The sky3ds can't "remember"?
     
  3. Keylogger

    Member Keylogger GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,665
    Country:
    France
    No I was talking about method 1.

    The crack tool patch the rom so that it saves directly to the game. (like a card2 rom)
    So, if you want to backup your save to your PC, you have to backup the game (with diskwriter) and not the save
     
  4. Arithmatics
    OP

    Member Arithmatics I'll be holding on to you. ;}

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,058
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Theoretically yea.

    This is the first thing i'm going to test when mine arrives.
     
    Keylogger likes this.
  5. warnings

    Member warnings GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    168
    Country:
    Canada
    Me too...reminds me of xb360 and burning e-fuses, once burned you can't go back.
    Thanks for the easy to comprehend thread BTW...I'll be keeping a close eye.
     
  6. Keylogger

    Member Keylogger GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,665
    Country:
    France
    I can't remember how much games I have burned to my sky3ds... I know its not 10 but I don't know how much exactly...
    Too bad there is no way to know which games has been played
     
  7. capostef

    Newcomer capostef Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    Germany
    ok first test today, if the template is edited correctly all games are working :-)
    Sometime you have 2 or 3 entries for a game, so you have to edit all ...
     
  8. Arithmatics
    OP

    Member Arithmatics I'll be holding on to you. ;}

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,058
    Country:
    Malaysia
    What fw is your 3ds on? can you put pokemon x or y and see if you can download the game updates from eshop? I want to test if this works.
     
  9. capostef

    Newcomer capostef Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    Germany
    IDK my daughter is playing :-) more tests later

    Is someone in Germany who wants to buy a Gateway? Arrived today 60€. Or willing to trade with a sky3ds, so let me know ;-)
     
  10. Arithmatics
    OP

    Member Arithmatics I'll be holding on to you. ;}

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,058
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Okay. no worries. :)
     
  11. warnings

    Member warnings GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    168
    Country:
    Canada
    I see the official Sky3ds site has linked this thread as instructions for removing the limit.
     
  12. Arithmatics
    OP

    Member Arithmatics I'll be holding on to you. ;}

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,058
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Yeah. I asked them to.
     
  13. Exeplosion

    Member Exeplosion GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2014
    Messages:
    128
    Country:
    Canada
    Arithmatics When is ETA on your cartridge and where did you purchase it from?
     
  14. capostef

    Newcomer capostef Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    Germany
  15. tibbs

    Newcomer tibbs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    now for this method to work ...we have to do this for ALL roms?...
     
  16. johnbus

    Member johnbus GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014
    Messages:
    225
    Country:
    United States
    Well, all roms after the first ten.

    You could also buy the new blue button model for around $100 when they start shipping, which supposedly does this automatically, so a little less work for a bit more money.
     
  17. Exeplosion

    Member Exeplosion GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2014
    Messages:
    128
    Country:
    Canada
    What do you mean exactly, what does the new blue version do differently?
     
  18. johnbus

    Member johnbus GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014
    Messages:
    225
    Country:
    United States
    This is a topic under much heated discussion, but supposedly the makers of Sky3DS didn't know how to store save games on the MicroSD. So, the saves had to be on the actual cart, and due to the limited space, the cart can only hold a few saves. This means there is a hard limit of ten games that can have saves per each card, which the tool gets around.

    Very soon after this tool was released, Sky3DS said they would release a new cart, with a blue button, that uses something like this mod. The new blue button cart can supposedly have unlimited games with saves, but I have yet to see the final product in any form, so I don't know that it will be substantially better than the old red button version.
     
    Exeplosion likes this.
  19. Exeplosion

    Member Exeplosion GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2014
    Messages:
    128
    Country:
    Canada
    Alright so I contacted a reselller, and this is what they said.

    "There is no issues with the red button cartridge
    Sorry we won't have the blue button ones for a while.

    the official website has released the crack tool for old SKY3DS cards. Players can use that tool get same functions with new card, and play numerous games on it. also support the newest firmware V9.3.0-21. http://sky3ds.com/news.html

    the old cards also have its own advantage, it will auto-save games after you exit the game, but the new card will need a select" Modchipcentral-

    ---------

    I am not sure, what they mean by "will need a select".
     
  20. warnings

    Member warnings GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    168
    Country:
    Canada
    I can't get ssb to show no eeprom. I edit the template, how do I find more instances?
    I wonder if it should be "F0" "F8" since it 2GB+

    Edit: Stupid me, it was down in the bottom.
     

Share This Page