Hacking [Tutorial] For those unlucky to own a Japanese Wii U - How to play in English, problematic games

neph00

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 12, 2021
Messages
34
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
149
Country
Poland
I tried this, the game booted but still in Japanaese. This is using japanese region, Previously I tried Us version but that stuck on splash screen.
Did you try to use Spiik, after language change in any of this versions?

I will try to check today wich version i have.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2022
Messages
14
Trophies
0
Age
23
Location
Indonesia
XP
9
Country
Indonesia
Did you try to use Spiik, after language change in any of this versions?

I will try to check today wich version i have.

Using spiik make the game stuck on spalsh screen

Also, have you tried Wii Sports Club on you JP Wiiu? I can't change the language to english, spiik shows error when opening the game
 

sl3ge

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 30, 2018
Messages
80
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
498
Country
Malaysia
Still didn't get the DLC or Updates to work, but I do have a big list of definitive findings on Tiramisu:

Tested on a 32GB White WiiU NTSC-J Super Mario Maker Bundle unit

WORKS STOCK:

New Super Mario Bros U (USA)
DuckTales Remastered (USA)
Legend of Zelda: Wind Waker HD (USA)
Super Smash Bros For WiiU (USA)
Mario Tennis Ultra Smash (USA)
Nintendo Land (USA)
Xenoblade Chronicles X (USA)
ZombiU (USA)
Fist of the North Star: Ken's Rage 2 (USA)
Fatal Frame: Maiden of Black Water (USA)
Mighty Switch Force 2 (USA)
Angry Video Game Nerd Adventures (USA)
Steamworld Dig (USA)
Epic Mickey 2 (USA)
Deus Ex Human Revolution (USA)
Freedom Planet (USA)
Game and Wario (USA)
Ghost Blade HD (USA)
Guacamelee (USA)
Injustice Gods Among Us (USA)
Lego City Undercover (USA)
Lego Star Wars The Force Awakens (USA)
Rayman Legends (USA)
Splatoon (USA)
Tokyo Mirage Sessions FE (USA)
ZombiU (USA)
Shantae and the Pirate's Curse (USA)
Shakedown Hawaii (USA)
Mass Effect 3 Special Edition (USA)
Call of Duty Ghosts (USA)
Call of Duty Black Ops II (USA)
Assassin's Creed III (USA)
Assassin's Creed IV (USA)
Darksiders II (USA)
Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate (USA)
Shantae Half Genie Hero (USA)
Wheel of Fortune (USA)


CHANGES LANGUAGE:

NES Remix (USA)
Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess HD (USA)
Tekken Tag Tournament 2 (USA)
Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze (USA)
Batman Arkham City Armored Edition (USA)
Kirby and the Rainbow Curse (USA)
Yoshi's Woolly World (USA)
Tank Tank Tank (USA)
Mighty Switch Force Hyper Drive Edition (USA)
Bayonetta (USA)
Hyrule Warriors (USA)
Mario and Sonic Rio 2016 (USA)
Mario and Sonic Sochi 2014 (USA)
Shantae Risky's Revenge (USA)
Shovel Knight (USA)
Darksiders Warmastered Edition (USA)
The Wonderful 101 (USA)
Mighty No. 9 (USA)
Resident Evil Revelations (USA)
Devil's Third (USA)


FREEZES:

NES REMIX 2 (USA)
Super Mario 3D World (USA)
Dr. Luigi (USA)
Animal Crossing Amiibo Festival (USA)



NEED TO CHANGE LANGUAGE IN GAME:

Ninja Gaiden 3: Razor's Edge (USA)
Bayonetta 2 (USA)
Sonic Lost World (USA)
Mighty No. 9 (USA)
Resident Evil Revelations (USA)
Devil's Third (USA)


WORKS WITH SPIIK:

NES Remix (USA)
NES Remix 2 (USA)
Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess HD (USA)
Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze (USA)
Bayonetta (USA)
Tank Tank Tank (USA)
Mighty Switch Force Hyper Drive Edition (USA)
Dr. Luigi (USA)
Hyrule Warriors (USA)
Mario and Sonic Sochi 2014 (USA)
Animal Crossing Amiibo Festival (USA)
Darksiders Warmastered Edition (USA)
The Wonderful 101 (USA)


DOES NOT WORK WITH SPIIK:

Tekken Tag Tournament 2 (USA)
Batman Arkham City Armored Edition (USA)
Kirby and the Rainbow Curse (USA)
Yoshi's Woolly World (USA)
Super Mario 3D World (USA)
Mario and Sonic Rio 2016 (USA)
Shovel Knight (USA)
Mighty No 9 (USA)

Hi,

Can u share how you make it for yoshi usa to run at jap wii u?

I edited title version to 0030 (to prevent update)
and replace all the file from USA demo,font,locale,message to Jap game folder using ftpiuu.

But when run game it still updating the game,
and after that crashed with error 150-3033 wont load into game.

Pls help anyone
 

MK333

New Member
Newbie
Joined
May 13, 2022
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
39
Location
Indonesia
XP
23
Country
Indonesia
Hi guys,

May i know can we play US version of wii game, on jap version of wii u?
Hi, I'm new here. I hope I can contribute something helpful.
I have a Japanese Wii U just like everyone here, and my way to run non-Japanese Wii disc games is to open vWii, run WiiFlow and select to load the disc one.

If failed, try run it on Gecko OS under Homebrew Channel, but before launching any game in Gecko OS, open Config Options and set game language to English and then save config. Then run it again. That is for the disc-based games.

If you mean running games over USB or SD card (Wiiflow), then just install any US/PAL games like you used to in the original Wii. Problem I've found so far is with Donkey Kong Country Returns which eventhough the game itself is working flawlessly including with the Classic Controller ocarina patch, it is always forcing itself to load Japanese text which result in question marks ????? in menus since Japanese fonts are not included in the US/PAL version. Setting the language to English in WiiFlow didn't work.

Game I've tested on WiiFlow and ran perfectly in English were:
All basic Wii games (Wii Sports, Wii Sports Resort, Wii Play, Wii Play Motion)
New Super Mario Bros Wii (including the Classic Controller ocarina patch)
Newer Super Mario Bros Wii
Mario Kart Wii
Rayman Raving Rabbids 2
Wii Party

My problem is with Wii Party U, I can run it with Spiik but Mii charas are not loaded so the players are headless..... anybody knows how to fix it? Tried to modify the EU version of the game and load it via Loadiine first before encrypting but no luck so far, game always result in 150-3034.
 
Last edited by MK333,
  • Like
Reactions: sl3ge

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
30,083
Trophies
2
XP
19,757
Country
United States
Hi,

Can u share how you make it for yoshi usa to run at jap wii u?

I edited title version to 0030 (to prevent update)
and replace all the file from USA demo,font,locale,message to Jap game folder using ftpiuu.

But when run game it still updating the game,
and after that crashed with error 150-3033 wont load into game.

Pls help anyone
If you want to stop updates, modify the versions.bin to FF FF for that game's minimum system version.
 
  • Like
Reactions: sl3ge

sl3ge

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 30, 2018
Messages
80
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
498
Country
Malaysia
If you want to stop updates, modify the versions.bin to FF FF for that game's minimum system version.

Thanks for the reply.

Now i dont know why i try reinstall the yoshi wolly wood, and it pop up error ask me to update the system?

And i go update system it show my system is latest.
I am now using 5.5.3J,
5.5.3J is it the latest?
 

sl3ge

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 30, 2018
Messages
80
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
498
Country
Malaysia
If you want to stop updates, modify the versions.bin to FF FF for that game's minimum system version.
2022-05-13_123150.png


I try this method first,
Yoshi jap version is 0005000010131F00.

I tried edit the red highlighted to 00 00 or FF FF still prompt to update the game.

What is the correct way?
 

sl3ge

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 30, 2018
Messages
80
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
498
Country
Malaysia
Turn off tiramisu. You might be able to by removing the sd card

I removed sd card. and boot into wii u seems no cfw.
But when press update button it still say i am the latest version

For the Japanese woolly world how to see version 64 installed?
i only saw 04, is it version 4?
 

sl3ge

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 30, 2018
Messages
80
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
498
Country
Malaysia
It's 00 40. You convert hex to decimal to see the version.

Can i remove the sd card, and press initialize and start fresh all over again.
(press intialize is it correct step?)

because i want to update to 5.5.5

This jap version of wii u used my tons of time, still cant fix it..
 

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
30,083
Trophies
2
XP
19,757
Country
United States
Can i remove the sd card, and press initialize and start fresh all over again.
(press intialize is it correct step?)

because i want to update to 5.5.5

This jap version of wii u used my tons of time, still cant fix it..
That might work, but I don't know if the versions.bin is reset as well or not.
 
  • Like
Reactions: sl3ge
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Blood Fetish @ Blood Fetish: Ok, check back in 6 months or so