1. Queno138

    OP Queno138 Ravens
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,422
    Country:
    Senegal
    wait what?
    I was told it didn't work.

    you followed my steps and it worked?

    even if you do create a .cia file,
    how are you going to install it onto your 3DS?
     
  2. drwhojan

    drwhojan GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,193
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm more into getting the cia file compiled successfully .

    The rest I will worry about later, Do some asking about see if anyone has an older firmware 3DS 4.X , as for flashcard well one will be found sooner are later .
     
  3. 1timeuser

    1timeuser Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, I installed Super Mario Bros. 3,Sonic The Hedgehog 2 GG, and Zelda - Link`s Awakening with your tutorial and all worked
     
  4. Queno138

    OP Queno138 Ravens
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,422
    Country:
    Senegal
    Whatever the case,
    pass/fail is not tied to SDK, apparently:
    Code:
    dragons         sdk 5-2-1     pass
    pokemon         sdk 5-2-0     pass
    mario golf     sdk 5-2-3     pass
    pokemon art     sdk 7-1-1     fail
    ssb         sdk 9-11-0    pass
     
  5. Quincy

    Quincy Your own personal guitarist :3
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,438
    Country:
    Netherlands
    [​IMG]

    Getting this error on building :S
     
  6. Queno138

    OP Queno138 Ravens
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,422
    Country:
    Senegal
    Possibly your computer doesn't have enough ram.

    I got around that by compiling in safe mode.

    1. initiate safe mode with command prompt
    2. use task manager > run >explorer.exe to open desktop (if it ain't there)
    3. use the make desc app4.bat (or whichever one you prefer.

    If you still can't compile in safe mode,
    I suggest trimming the rom first.
     
  7. Quincy

    Quincy Your own personal guitarist :3
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,438
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I have 8GB of ram, of which 45% is in use. I don't think that 4GB free is "not enough ram" XD

    I'll still try it tho.
     
  8. Relys

    Relys ^(Software | Hardware) Exploit? Development.$
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    874
    Country:
    United States

    You need to compile x64 makerom. :P Else the mallocs will fail because they can't access >4GB of RAM due to address space restrictions of x86.
     
  9. Queno138

    OP Queno138 Ravens
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,422
    Country:
    Senegal
    if its a big game,

    I read that it can take up to twice the size of the game.

    well it could be, not too sureXD

    where can I find one? ><
     
  10. drwhojan

    drwhojan GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,193
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  11. Quincy

    Quincy Your own personal guitarist :3
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,438
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Would you happen to have a version of x64 makerom handy? I am not on a development/compiling machine atm, and I am not sure I am able to compile the executable on windows XD
     
  12. Queno138

    OP Queno138 Ravens
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,422
    Country:
    Senegal
  13. Quincy

    Quincy Your own personal guitarist :3
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,438
    Country:
    Netherlands
  14. Queno138

    OP Queno138 Ravens
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,422
    Country:
    Senegal
  15. jimmsu66

    jimmsu66 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Start of the guide :

    First off, these are the requirements:
    1. Using a 3DS that is FW 4.1-4.5 (also known as FW 4.X)
     
    Queno138 likes this.
  16. Quincy

    Quincy Your own personal guitarist :3
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,438
    Country:
    Netherlands
    [RSF ERROR] Unrecognised key 'UseExtSaveData'
    [RSF ERROR] Error Proccessing RSF file

    Safe mode ain't gonna fix this
     
  17. kamo

    kamo GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    Italy
    Did someone with a EU 3DS managed to get SMTIV to run? I got it converted, edited icon.bin to be region free and all but as soon as it starts I get the error where the system needs to restart.
     
  18. Queno138

    OP Queno138 Ravens
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,422
    Country:
    Senegal
    are you not using my rsf file?

    I'll test that once I'm done.

    If it compiles, it's the game problem.
    (or special changes need to be made in the .rsf)

    what region rom was the SMTIV?

    --------

    I'm done compiling a list of games that might not work.
     
  19. OrangeFlavored

    OrangeFlavored Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Country:
    United States
    Got the .xorpad for my DLC but not really sure where to go from there. I can xor each file but can't figure any way to get the rest of the information I'd need to make a .cia, thought I might be able to get it from the .tmd file but 3DS Explorer doesn't want to touch it even after xor with the xorpad. Kind of at a dead end for now.
     
  20. Quincy

    Quincy Your own personal guitarist :3
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,438
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yes I am. I am using the exact same RSF file you used in the guide, edited to my dump ofcourse.

    The RSF errors are with the 64bit version. I'll see if I can compile a more recent version myself
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - [Tutorial], Converting, Dummies